Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Advice on after sale

• 27-03-2018 8:19am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭

Hi. Title could be better..apologies.
    Just writing this as my dad was pretty upset after phonecall he got last night. He sold a few cows last week at mart, the last of his stock. All in calf.
    One of cows had a calf yesterday whos legs arent working properly. Dad got call off farmer who bought it accusing dad of being a conman and that he owed him money to buy a new calf. How could he have known calf had problems..cow had 2 healthy calves previously. It sounds ridiculous and dad knows it is but its really bothering him. The other farmer was horrible to him on the phone.
    I assume yer man hasnt a case?or has he..i wouldnt have a clue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,216 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Ring the mart and ask them. I wouldn't answer anymore calls from the buyer if he is being an abusive prick

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,357 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

Dont dream of ringing the mart.those legs will probaly straighten out and anyways he bought the cow in calf thats thats.would he be able to get compo if the calf was born dead ir she threw a calf-no.this guy has no case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭annubis

Chickus wrote: »
    Hi. Title could be better..apologies.
    Just writing this as my dad was pretty upset after phonecall he got last night. He sold a few cows last week at mart, the last of his stock. All in calf.
    One of cows had a calf yesterday whos legs arent working properly. Dad got call off farmer who bought it accusing dad of being a conman and that he owed him money to buy a new calf. How could he have known calf had problems..cow had 2 healthy calves previously. It sounds ridiculous and dad knows it is but its really bothering him. The other farmer was horrible to him on the phone.
    I assume yer man hasnt a case?or has he..i wouldnt have a clue.
    if he had a genuine case the call should nearly have come from the mart and not directly from him i would have thought, she was sold in calf and calved after she was sold so not much your dad can do about it

K.G. wrote: »
    Dont dream of ringing the mart.those legs will probaly straighten out and anyways he bought the cow in calf thats thats.would he be able to get compo if the calf was born dead ir she threw a calf-no.this guy has no case.

Effectively though didn't the buyer buy her from the mart not the farmer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,919 ✭✭✭Odelay

Did the mart give out his phone number??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Odelay wrote: »
    Did the mart give out his phone number??

If they did they should get an earful . I think the mart should make the call first to sort the problem .
    I don't think the seller has any responsibility here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

Seller has no responsibility here, he sold the animal in good faith and wasn't to know. That's the chance you take when buying an animal you haven't seen (versus a cow with calf at foot), you buy her and take the chance she'll calve ok.
    There'd be some comeback for the buyer if she was sold as being incalf to an AA bull and ended up having a ginormous ch or blue calf that needed a section as it would have been sold with false info , but in this case it's just bad luck for the buyer.
    For all you know Chickus, he could have made a dogs dinner of the calving & strained all the muscles with the jack! Calf could have been twisted in the cow and will come right in time either.
    Ignore his calls & ring the mart, ask if they gave out your number (Which they shouldn't!!) and tell them they can deal with him if so as the animal was sold in good faith. Sounds like a cantankerous fooker to deal with so no point having your father upsetting himself where possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,123 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

This is the kind of guy I would politely tell to fook off. He has no case whatsoever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭jimmy G M

Seller has no responsibility here, he sold the animal in good faith and wasn't to know. That's the chance you take when buying an animal you haven't seen (versus a cow with calf at foot), you buy her and take the chance she'll calve ok.
    There'd be some comeback for the buyer if she was sold as being incalf to an AA bull and ended up having a ginormous ch or blue calf that needed a section as it would have been sold with false info , but in this case it's just bad luck for the buyer.
    For all you know Chickus, he could have made a dogs dinner of the calving & strained all the muscles with the jack! Calf could have been twisted in the cow and will come right in time either.
    Ignore his calls & ring the mart, ask if they gave out your number (Which they shouldn't!!) and tell them they can deal with him if so as the animal was sold in good faith. Sounds like a cantankerous fooker to deal with so no point having your father upsetting himself where possible.

The Lady is correct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭jimmy G M

jimmy G M wrote: »
    The Lady is correct.

Jez I've opened a right can of worms there now :o :eek::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

Send on the worms, my robin is a right horse for food!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,545 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

She ain't no lady.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭Chickus

Brilliant,Thanks everyone :)
    3 missed calls this evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

If I was you I would take the fathers phone (if he isn't up to hard words ) and give ur man a mother of a bollicking . He sounds like a bully and needs to be stood up to . If you want to give me his number I would actually enjoy being as thick as him :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,344 ✭✭✭Grueller

Bullocks wrote: »
    If I was you I would take the fathers phone (if he isn't up to hard words ) and give ur man a mother of a bollicking . He sounds like a bully and needs to be stood up to . If you want to give me his number I would actually enjoy being as thick as him :D

Ha, thats a job I would love too. Best thing is probably to block the number too.

Does he know where you live?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,018 ✭✭✭squinn2912

This boy is at it. Your dad sounds like a quiet man and this yoke wants to take full advantage. I bet he snatched a luckpenny out of his hand too. Look at the calving advice thread and you’ll see a pile of us getting it hard to get certain calves going, particularly those that were a hard pull. It happens anyone calving cows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭jimini0

Ring the Mart first thing in the morning. It should be them talking not that man. If the man has a case (which he doesnt) the mart manager should be sorting it. Give them the details. I would put money on it that this man has a bad history. It sounds like he has pulled strokes like this before.
    He must see your father as a soft touch and after a quick pound.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,531 ✭✭✭High bike

that lad is a chancer ring him back tell him to fook off and block his no.The end:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭Aravo

Maybe buyer got phone no. from phonebook. One is taking a chance buying in calf and not at foot. Never mind him. He liked what he was buying when he bought the cow. It's either let phone ring out or tell him to cop himself on.

Its his mobile he rang so mart def gave it out. Dad is a bit of a softie and wouldnt want to be thought of as being dishonest. He has bad luck himself with calves down through the years.shur how could you know. He had cheek to ask dad to come up to his farm and see the calf for himself ��

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,146 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

This animal was sold in the mart and the mart took commission to do this and changed the animal from your herd to the buyers herd and should be coming back to your father, the best thing is make two phone calls one to the mart manager and tell him he sold the animal end of and the second to chairman of the mart and ask him who runs the mart, the buyer or the mart manager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭Dunedin

This animal was sold in the mart and the mart took commission to do this and changed the animal from your herd to the buyers herd and should be coming back to your father, the best thing is make two phone calls one to the mart manager and tell him he sold the animal end of and the second to chairman of the mart and ask him who runs the mart, the buyer or the mart manager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,123 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

I bought a PB cow in the mart a while back. I wanted to register the calf so got the no of the seller from the mart when I payed for the cow. So Ya, marts do hand out numbers freely. Yer man did ask me when I phoned him how I got his number.

We rang mart there..manager was annoyed with other guy but woyldnt take responsibility for giving out mobile number..said he couldv gotten it from a few sources like bovine office etc. Hes going to ring him to inform him of his rights as a purchaser!

I hope your father is not too effected by it. Nobody needs stress like that
    Was it a mayo mart by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭croot

jimini0 wrote: »
    I hope your father is not too effected by it. Nobody needs stress like that
    Was it a mayo mart by any chance?

Not just in Mayo. I've had my number given out by two different marts without contacting me first. First caller was genuine and a nice guy but the second was a chancer like the OP's.

OP I had a calf last week and had a good pull with the jack and his front legs arent right yet either. That type of problem can be caused by the farmer as well.

Yep in Mayo. Dad himself has had calves with stiff egs for few days after birth but it wasnt getting through to other lad. He is bothered about it but relieved that he did nothing wrong. He knew he didnt but still stressful to be accused.

Might be just a co coincidence but there is a man in balla and ballinrobe who has a reputation of complaining after sale of cows. Bought a in calf heifer off a man, calf died and rang looking for compensation. Mart manager sorted it out