Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

F2000 in bridge mode to ASUS router - Wifi calling drop outs

• 26-03-2018 12:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12

I recently used the excellent and very useful info from this thread to recently setup my F2000 as a bridge to the new ASUS router.
    "Change Eir F2000 router for a ?"

Everything is working fine except Wifi calling on my mobile. I can see that Wifi calling is enabled and am able to make/receive calls in the house (old cottage, thick walls) but they cut-out after about 20 seconds.

I tried disabling the Trend Micro stuff on the router to see if might have been that, but I still get the drop outs.

Can't find anything online to help sort the root cause, so any help would be appreciated as I really would like to have this working again?
    Thanks in advance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭babelfish1990

MrWilbert wrote: »
    I recently used the excellent and very useful info from this thread to recently setup my F2000 as a bridge to the new ASUS router.
    "Change Eir F2000 router for a ?"

Everything is working fine except Wifi calling on my mobile. I can see that Wifi calling is enabled and am able to make/receive calls in the house (old cottage, thick walls) but they cut-out after about 20 seconds.

I tried disabling the Trend Micro stuff on the router to see if might have been that, but I still get the drop outs.

Can't find anything online to help sort the root cause, so any help would be appreciated as I really would like to have this working again?
    Thanks in advance

Do you have more than one WiFi access point in your home? Homeplugs, or other routers? If so, are you sure that the phone is connected to the strongest WiFi access point when you are inside the house? Phones don't tend to switch automatically to the strongest signal, like laptops do. They favour clinging on to the weaker signal to preserve continuity of connection - even if the bandwidth of the connection falls below a threshold that prevents your WiFi calling working. Phones only switch if the signal falls away completely, unless you are using WiFi access points with 802.11R capability (Roaming).

If you don't have roaming on your access points, then you will probably need to manually reset your WiFi on the phone to pick up the strongest access point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 MrWilbert

Hi Babelfish, thanks for the response.

No other routers, powerline adaptors etc.

Simple setup - Eir F2000 in bridge mode with a cat7 ethernet cable connecting it to the new Asus RT-AC87U.

The Asus is the only wifi access using the Eir routers standard SSIDs and on the phone I only use the 2.4G SSID as it has the better range (works outside in the garden).

I get the wifi calling dropouts while standing a few feet away from the router in the same room with no obstructions.

When I say drop-out I mean that the call I'm on dies, and the icon/notification for the Wifi calling vanishes, but my phone is still connected to the router/SSID and has internet access. Some seconds/minutes later then wifi calling symbol appears again.

Before (when I used the F2000 as the Wifi access point) my phone never had any problems with calls (using the same SSIDs etc) on a 300mbs connection.

I'll completely wipe the SSIDs from the phone and setup from scratch to see if that helps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Sounds very much like NAT trouble - AKA you're not really bridged but ghetto bridged.

What is the first octet of your WAN ip according to the asus? (numbers before the first period).

Hi Eddie, I'm afraid I am a total noob, where would I find the WAN IP?

When I look under Advanced Settings - WAN I cannot see any IP addresses

Side question Currently the WAN setting for "WAN Connection Type" is set to 'Automatic IP' though is this ok or should it be PPPoE?

zbu3tlq.png

D'oh! Now I really feel like a dope.

The IP is 86.40.XXX.XX

Thats all correct so.

There are a few places this could trip up but as a start try
    WAN - Nat Passthrough - SIP Passthrough (toggle it to the opposite of what it currently is).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 700 ✭✭✭Theanswers

If possible why don't you remove the F2000 altogether and connect the Asuz directly.

I believe the only setting you need to set is the the VLAN to 9 or 10.

Theanswers wrote: »
    If possible why don't you remove the F2000 altogether and connect the Asuz directly.

I believe the only setting you need to set is the the VLAN to 9 or 10.

That would only apply to FTTH, he may be FTTC.

Just toggled it to disable it and the result of two outbound test calls is first one cut-out after 25 seconds and the WiFi calling icon vanished prompting a reboot of the phone. Second one the line connected but I was muted and the call dropped again after around 20 seconds

I have FTTH.

When I tried bypassing the F2000 yesterday I wasn't able to get it working so I switched back to the F2000 as a bridge

I'll go find the settings etc that I need in one of the threads I used to get this far, or is there a simpler way?

Set your Internet Port (WAN) to DHCP and VLAN 10.

That should be you in business.

I had the same problem when I bridged the F2000 to my Edge Router.

It kept dropping out at random.

I then removed the F2000 and had no problems since and that was over three months ago.

Lads thanks for the help but I'm afraid I have hit a wall of my own ignorance.

Bypassed the F2000 and tried to set the WAN to DHCP and have no idea how to do so via this panel?

Automatic IP is fine (IPoE), just set the VLAN in IPTV settings to 10.

Lads,

Thanks a million for the help, all sorted out now and just finished a long rambling chat with my auld man.

Legends. I salute you.

All working fine since earlier except for some reason I cannot see/connect to the 2.4G SSID despite a full factory reset.

Default/Auto channel is 5

Any ideas gents?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭The high horse brigade

All working fine since earlier except for some reason I cannot see/connect to the 2.4G SSID despite a full factory reset.

Default/Auto channel is 5

Any ideas gents?

Get a WiFi analyser app for your smartphone, see what channels are in use nearby and manually set one with least interference

I've been trying to do that as well as used the wifi analyzer on the laptop but neither can see/connect to the 2.4G band.

Sometimes the phone 'sees' it but when I enter the password it goes away again, I can then forget the network etc but for the last few hours I simply can't get the fecker to work

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭The high horse brigade

I've been trying to do that as well as used the wifi analyzer on the laptop but neither can see/connect to the 2.4G band.

Sometimes the phone 'sees' it but when I enter the password it goes away again, I can then forget the network etc but for the last few hours I simply can't get the fecker to work

Did you take it off auto and set a channel?

Yes I tried quite a few and given how long it takes to reboot after each attempted change that explains why I lost most of the afternoon playing about.

Played around setting from channel 13 down to one. By the time I got to three 2.4G mysteriously appeared. Kept going all the way to 1 and then set it for auto.

Lo and behold it has righted itself again. Boom