Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Phones in traffic causing further delays

• 24-03-2018 7:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,061 ✭✭✭✭

Quick question, has anyone noticed this phenomena? I see this a lot on the bike filtering by motorists stuck in traffic.

Motorists stopped in traffic, handbrake applied, seemingly harmlessly texting, browsing or watching something on the phone, the traffic moves or the lights go green. Driver doesn't notice and eventually the car behind gives a little beep. The phone driver cops on what's going on and takes off.

If you're not cycling you won't really see it and it's happening all the time. This surely is furthering tailbacks, there's lights being missed, and in some cases only half the amount of cars making it through green lights than should be getting through. I think it's another phantom tailback cause.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭doolox

A lot of the slow and weaving traffic is people on phones or otherwise distracted and the right lane hoggers are the biggest offenders in this aspect.

The M50 regularly slows down to 70 or even 60 kph while the inner lanes go faster because of inattentive drivers and phone users blocking other traffic behind them instead of paying attention to the road. People should check their rear view mirrors and neighbouring lanes every 10 seconds or so to ensure they are not going slower than the cars beside them, there is no pile up behind them. Many people don't bother. There is even a small coterie of control freaks playing amateur cops by gaming the system and matching speed with neighbouring cars in adjacent lanes in order to create a rolling road block, often significantly less than the posted speed limit.

Many people do not realise that a 120 kph limit exists from jct 14 to jct 17 on the M50 and get annoyed when overtaken doing 100kph by cars actually legally doing 120kph.

Phone usage should be policed more but isn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,061 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

I hear you Doolox, but my case is less of a motorway problem, more of city/urban driving issue and a sort of hidden one at that due to the fact that the only person that can see it happening is the driver behind the phone user, hence (I think) it hasn't been brought up here before.

If it happens say three times on four sets of lights on every two kilometre stretch it's going to have a serious impact on traffic a few kilometres back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Go to a '50 bridge at rush hour Rambo, you'll find its just as much an issue there, amazingly.

ED E wrote: »
    Go to a '50 bridge at rush hour Rambo, you'll find its just as much an issue there, amazingly.

I've no doubt at all Ed E... You're dead right, phone usage is a problem everywhere on the road, I'm just wondering if I'm right regarding phantom traffic jams further snarling up urban commutes because of late take offs at green lights and traffic beginning to move off.

I'd say 60% of drivers I pass in stopped or slow moving traffic have a phone in their hand (including driving instructors, gardai, speed van drivers and other professional drivers). It's very obvious in the dark winter evenings with the phone glow! I've also seen e-readers, laptops with netflix on and even porn!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

A laptop on the knee is the worst I've seen yet.

Knocking on car windows to tell drivers the light has gone green is one of my favourite hobbies on my motorbike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭doolox

Yes very common and also slow people approaching green lights holding up a line of people behind them. People who cannot interpret filter arrows and the difference between a right arrow and a circular green light. They either attempt to cross the straight road not yielding to traffic going straight ahead ( green circle) or fail to go on right arrow, when you can go unconditionally. These filter arrows are usually very short duration and you need to be on your toes and go pretty smartish to get the maximum throughput. Other demons are slow U-turners at junctions where this is forbidden, slowing down genuine right turners and delaying people.

You also get dopes going straight ahead on a left only arrow because they are following the left turning traffic like sheep, not realising they are prohibited from going straight ahead......until they crash into cars rightly proceeding on their green light.

Basil3 wrote: »
    Knocking on car windows to tell drivers the light has gone green is one of my favourite hobbies on my motorbike.

It's a no no for cyclists to knock on drivers windows. They go nuts. Even if it's to say "nice car"!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

Now if there were only some gardai to be seen enforcing the law. Or will we just keep making the penalty worse and still not enforce it ? That seems to be the government's approach at the moment .

Some of the lads going through templemore at the moment are bottom of the barrel , it's not the career anymore it once was unfortunately .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

It's like anything in the country, the enforcement isn't there and the penalties not harsh enough so the consequences of getting caught/punished is low. Until that changes then introducing new laws won't make one bit of difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭NickNickleby

I often used to see drivers behind me navel-gazing, until I realised they must be texting! The light changes and I'm off, only to see them suddenly accelerating after me after about 5 or 6 seconds when they looked up as though the road around them is secondary to their life in the bubble.

Or watching the traffic in front pulling away, and suddenly nothing. Obviously another texter hasn't noticed everyone else has pulled off.

I drive a silver motorbike, wear hi-viz and a white helmet. I'll sometimes pull up alongside a texter and stop right beside their window. The momentary look of horror is mildly rewarding, but seeing them throw the phone onto the passenger seat moreso.
    I'm not brave enough to knock on the window though, you just never know who it is..... might be on the way to a hit:eek: :pac::pac::pac:

doolox wrote: »
    Yes very common and also slow people approaching green lights holding up a line of people behind them. People who cannot interpret filter arrows and the difference between a right arrow and a circular green light. They either attempt to cross the straight road not yielding to traffic going straight ahead ( green circle) or fail to go on right arrow, when you can go unconditionally. These filter arrows are usually very short duration and you need to be on your toes and go pretty smartish to get the maximum throughput. Other demons are slow U-turners at junctions where this is forbidden, slowing down genuine right turners and delaying people.

You also get dopes going straight ahead on a left only arrow because they are following the left turning traffic like sheep, not realising they are prohibited from going straight ahead......until they crash into cars rightly proceeding on their green light.

Yeah, bang on there. Very common to see two or three cars dawdle through the filter when eight smartly driven drivers paying attention, in first gear, prepared to launch could have gone through.

Interesting to see the motorbikers along with me (cycling) noticing this more than the drivers which further cements my theory that drivers are unaware of the seemingly innocuous problem that could be causing unnecessary tailbacks and traffic jams.

Bikers and cyclist have a better view, can't really be texting and riding, are usually more aware of their surroundings and are filtering, so see a lot more of what's going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Cumulative behaviour really matters when you’re stuck in traffic. If one person is 10-15s slow off the mark at lights, and the next person is 10s slows, that translates to 3-5 cars not making it through the lights. It somewhat annoys me that people don’t realise that but will complain about the delays they experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 Cute hoor 2017

It used to be phones up to the ears while driving, but with the innovation of the smart phone a few years ago its browsing and swiping making it more dangerous as your eyes are taken off the road. Yes this is very common and as big a hindrance to the build up of traffic as anything. It seems people cant travel to and from work without checking their phones in case they miss something in the world of interactive social media and technology.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 63 ✭✭LoMismo

I see this all the time while cycling. Saw a woman yesterday turn onto the malahide road from fairview while texting using her knees!
    It wrecks my head because cyclists get so much bad press as if we are the only ones who break the rules. Yes I break red lights when it’s safe to do so and won’t affect traffic but either way, I’m not the one in the 2 tonne giant piece of metal that’ll kill anyone in it’s way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 Cute hoor 2017

Phone users and cyclists who break rules and behave as a danger to the public and themselves should be punished accordingly.
    Not enough enforcement on both, hence it will continue to be a problem accumulating in more accidents and traffic jams

LoMismo wrote: »
    I see this all the time while cycling. Saw a woman yesterday turn onto the malahide road from fairview while texting using her knees!
    It wrecks my head because cyclists get so much bad press as if we are the only ones who break the rules. Yes I break red lights when it’s safe to do so and won’t affect traffic but either way, I’m not the one in the 2 tonne giant piece of metal that’ll kill anyone in it’s way!

I'm posting as a frustrated motorist on the motoring forum's experience while cycling!

I genuinely feel a good bit of gridlock is caused by lack of attention due to phone usage. As a cyclist, I do feel your pain, it's very very annoying. I'm not a moderator and can't control the thread but I was hoping we won't get in to a cycling/motoring debate!

John_Rambo wrote: »
    I'm posting as a frustrated motorist on the motoring forum's experience while cycling!

I genuinely feel a good bit of gridlock is caused by lack of attention due to phone usage. As a cyclist, I do feel your pain, it's very very annoying. I'm not a moderator and can't control the thread but I was hoping we won't get in to a cycling/motoring debate!

I am just sick and f***ing tired of the abuse cyclists get on the likes of the Journal every day because we break a few red lights, when motorists are far, far, worse. Bikes will never adhere to the same rules cars do and that's the end of it, you'd be mad to think otherwise.

I know, it's insane, and you're right. You're best off avoiding the journal.ie and the pond life comments. I started the thread to see if motorists were aware of the impact phone usage has on traffic aside from the obvious dangerous consequences. I was hoping (maybe in vain) that this topic would be discussed and it doesn't descend in to a cycling debate purely because I was on the bike when I made my observations!

I guess what I'm saying is, as a cyclists, you may see a lot of wrongdoings by motorists than motorists see. Every day I see cars and buses break red lights. That's fine. So can we just accept everyone does instead of singling out cyclists?

Anyway about the phones. It's impossible to enforce stopping this, so it's just something that is going to keep happening. Hopefully it doesn't lend it self to accidents happening, as people only do it mostly when stopped in traffic. Although in saying that I often see people texting while driving...

I guess what I'm saying is, as a cyclists, you may see a lot of wrongdoings by motorists than motorists see. Every day I see cars and buses break red lights. That's fine. So can we just accept everyone does instead of singling out cyclists?

Anyway about the phones. It's impossible to enforce stopping this, so it's just something that is going to keep happening. Hopefully it doesn't lend it self to accidents happening, as people only do it mostly when stopped in traffic. Although in saying that I often see people texting while driving...

Very true, a cyclist you're going to see a lot more motorist wrongdoing than drivers do. It's hard to swallow the bad press cyclists get when you see the reality of bad driving, it's just a fact of life on the road.

We're on a motors forum here with enthusiasts that tend to be good drivers. So, there's a fair chance that people on this thread are not the drivers that endanger cyclists and other road users. In fact 100% of the posts on this thread alone don't condone phone usage whilst driving!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,632 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

Quick question, has anyone noticed this phenomena? I see this a lot on the bike filtering by motorists stuck in traffic.

Motorists stopped in traffic, handbrake applied, seemingly harmlessly texting, browsing or watching something on the phone, the traffic moves or the lights go green. Driver doesn't notice and eventually the car behind gives a little beep. The phone driver cops on what's going on and takes off.

If you're not cycling you won't really see it and it's happening all the time. This surely is furthering tailbacks, there's lights being missed, and in some cases only half the amount of cars making it through green lights than should be getting through. I think it's another phantom tailback cause.

Anyone using or being distracted by a phone is a twat, whether in car, bus truck or bike but it’s the last one I don’t get.

Have regularly encoubtered middle aged people weaving on their bikes as one hand being used for the phone. On Friday was the worst with a guy holding phone in right hand to his left ear, ie across body affecting balanceZ no one should be using a phone but if I was on a bike I think i’d See that I was the one going to come off the worst from any problem and act defensively.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,907 ✭✭✭Comhrá

UK penalties for mobile phone/driving offences have recently been sharply increased.

Seems they take the offence seriously there, unlike Ireland with it's lenient €60 fine + 3 penalty points.

I think I heard Shane Ross saying on radio the other day, that they don't intend changing the penalty in the foreseeable future. Still, they're constantly harping on with "Speed Kills" and " Never drink and drive".

Mobile phone/driving offences here aren't taken seriously - I have regularly seen Gardai talking on their phones while driving.

https://www.gov.uk/using-mobile-phones-when-driving-the-law

Using a phone or a sat nav when driving

It’s illegal to hold a phone or sat nav while driving or riding a motorcycle. You must have hands-free access, such as:

a bluetooth headset
    voice command
    a dashboard holder or mat
    a windscreen mount
    a built-in sat nav

The device must not block your view of the road and traffic ahead.

You must stay in full control of your vehicle at all times. The police can stop you if they think you’re not in control because you’re distracted and you can be prosecuted.

The law still applies to you if you’re:

stopped at traffic lights
    queuing in traffic
    supervising a learner driver

When you can use a hand-held phone

You can use a hand-held phone if either of these apply:

you’re safely parked
    you need to call 999 or 112 in an emergency and it’s unsafe or impractical to stop

Penalties

You can get 6 penalty points and a £200 fine if you use a hand-held phone when driving. You’ll also lose your licence if you passed your driving test in the last 2 years.

You can get 3 penalty points if you don’t have a full view of the road and traffic ahead or proper control of the vehicle.

You can also be taken to court where you can:

be banned from driving or riding
    get a maximum fine of £1,000 (£2,500 if you’re driving a lorry or bus)

Marcusm wrote: »
    Anyone using or being distracted by a phone is a twat, whether in car, bus truck or bike but it’s the last one I don’t get.

Have regularly encoubtered middle aged people weaving on their bikes as one hand being used for the phone. On Friday was the worst with a guy holding phone in right hand to his left ear, ie across body affecting balanceZ no one should be using a phone but if I was on a bike I think i’d See that I was the one going to come off the worst from any problem and act defensively.

I don't see cyclists using their phones often tbh, motorists though pretty much every day.

Marcusm wrote: »

That's a great anecdote, interestingly, you're more annoyed at the road user that's using a vehicle that's least likely to cause injury. Do you feel the phone usage in traffic could be the cause of phantom tailbacks where people are zoned in on the phone are slow to react and therefore further cause gridlock?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,813 ✭✭✭Wesser

Very common and if you observe driver behaviour closely enough from behind you can nearly pick out those who are texting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,632 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

That's a great anecdote, interestingly, you're more annoyed at the road user that's using a vehicle that's least likely to cause injury. Do you feel the phone usage in traffic could be the cause of phantom tailbacks where people are zoned in on the phone are slow to react and therefore further cause gridlock?

I fear i’ve Been misunderstood; I think they are all idiots. Both my cars have Bluetooth sets and I wouldn’t Hold a phone while driving. Those who do show a r ckless disregard for the safety of others. My issue with the minority of cyclists who do is the reckless disregard for their own safety - self preservation instinct should generally be more powerful than selfish instinct. Not a criticism of cyclists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Driver doesn't notice and eventually the car behind gives a little beep. .
    is this use of a horn itself illegal? it is certainly against the rules of the road.
    Using a horn
    Only use a horn to:
    warn other road users of on-coming danger; or
    make them aware of your presence for safety reasons when reasonably
    necessary.
    Remember, the horn does not give you the right of way.
    Do not use a horn in a built-up area between 23.30hrs and 07.00hrs unless
    there is a traffic emergency.

seems it is only permitted, if following the rules of the road, to warn about danger/safety and not to tell people to get a move on. The most frequent use I see horn usage of is certainly not safety related.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

just look at the heads of drivers

looking down. why? phone probably

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

rubadub wrote: »
    is this use of a horn itself illegal? it is certainly against the rules of the road.

seems it is only permitted, if following the rules of the road, to warn about danger/safety and not to tell people to get a move on. The most frequent use I see horn usage of is certainly not safety related.

If I'm at the lights and the twat in front has his head in his lap texting, he's getting blasted out of it if he doesn't move off when the light goes green.

Fcukin idiots. Get the bus if texting is more important than driving a car.

It used to be phones up to the ears while driving, but with the innovation of the smart phone a few years ago its browsing and swiping making it more dangerous as your eyes are taken off the road. Yes this is very common and as big a hindrance to the build up of traffic as anything. It seems people cant travel to and from work without checking their phones in case they miss something in the world of interactive social media and technology.

It's more to do with alleviating the boredom of sitting in traffic than anyone's fear of missing something online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,831 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Cameras...
    At traffic lights, and motorway bridges, you can usually spot them a mile off, it's more often messaging and looking at the Web than talking on the phone these days... So proving it could be an issue ( unless you see the phone in someone's hand)

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 466 ✭✭gmacww

I can beat the phone one. I saw this last summer and it still hasn't been beat yet. All the time cycling (or driving) through the city it's women doing makeup, men shaving etc...

Red micra driving rather erratically in front of me coming up via bushy park one day. Did the (right turn only lane) skip all the way up that and pull in in front of the full lane going straight. More erratic driving and eventually on tempelogue bride I get up beside her. She was stearing with her knees and the odd hand correction, had a phone held to her face with her shoulder and in her hands she was knitting! The pattern was taped to the steering wheel!

She stopped at the light and I pulled up along side her and just looked at her. She casually put the kitting on the passenger seat, tore off the pattern and put the phone down. I stayed there looking and she reached back over and threw the kintting into the passenger footwell.

That's the worst/funniest/most terrifying thing I've seen a driver do while in control of a car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,907 ✭✭✭Comhrá

You can't beat the UK cops for ingenuity with catching the phone/drivers. I can't see the Gardai bothering to be honest.

https://www.unilad.co.uk/news/the-police-have-a-very-sneaky-plan-to-catch-people-texting-and-driving/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

gmacww wrote: »
    I can beat the phone one. I saw this last summer and it still hasn't been beat yet.
    Many years ago in stop start traffic on a German autobahn I saw someone in the lane next to me with no hands on the wheel, presumably steering with his knees, banging away at the steering wheel with a pair of drumsticks (real ones, not chicken legs!) with some heavy rock banging out from the speakers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Alun wrote: »
    banging away at the steering wheel with a pair of drumsticks (real ones, not chicken legs!)

https://www.dublinlive.ie/news/dublin-news/gardai-issue-warning-after-woman-12556831
    Gardai have issued a stark warning to motorists after a woman was caught eating a plate of chicken curry while driving.

The offence was just one of a spate of bizarre and dangerous practices observed by road traffic Gardai in the last week.

Garda Ronan Mannion said the woman had a full plate of chicken curry in front of her when stopped.

He added: “She had her knife and fork on the steering wheel.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 466 ✭✭gmacww

Alun wrote: »
    Many years ago in stop start traffic on a German autobahn I saw someone in the lane next to me with no hands on the wheel, presumably steering with his knees, banging away at the steering wheel with a pair of drumsticks (real ones, not chicken legs!) with some heavy rock banging out from the speakers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

gmacww wrote: »
    I can beat the phone one

Many years ago at this stage I was almost sideswiped on the M3 by someone in a Suzuki Cultus. What was their excuse?

They were reading a kindle at the wheel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,367 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

pablo128 wrote: »
    If I'm at the lights and the twat in front has his head in his lap texting, he's getting blasted out of it if he doesn't move off when the light goes green.

Fcukin idiots. Get the bus if texting is more important than driving a car.

Unfortunately a few people on Boards get upset when you use your horn illegally. Using the term illegally very lightly.