Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boundary fence.

• 22-03-2018 5:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭

Well I have been doing some fencing recently along a road. Old fence was on the outside of hedge so I just put new fence on same line. It's roughly 4-5 foot off the road.
    Anyways a blow in townie has started complaining to the other neighbours. He reckons the fence should be inside the hedge. Another neighbour called to the house yesterday to let me know that the townie is complaining.
    Was I right to put the fence there? The old fence line was there even before my father's time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭TalkingBull

jimini0 wrote: »
    Well I have been doing some fencing recently along a road. Old fence was on the outside of hedge so I just put new fence on same line. It's roughly 4-5 foot off the road.
    Anyways a blow in townie has started complaining to the other neighbours. He reckons the fence should be inside the hedge. Another neighbour called to the house yesterday to let me know that the townie is complaining.
    Was I right to put the fence there? The old fence line was there even before my father's time.

Pay no heed to your new neighbour, keep the fence along the same boundary line. If you start moving the fence inside the hedge the council wouldnt be long widening the road a few foot and youd be losing again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,046 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

If there was a fence there beforehand then I don't see a problem.

Just for the curiosity why did your father or whoever, put the fence on the roadside of the hedge?
    I presume there's another fence on the fieldside to keep your own stock off the ditch/hedge?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Next time ya see that neighbor try fishing for a compliment about the new fence.

Just out of divilment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭jimini0

If there was a fence there beforehand then I don't see a problem.

Just for the curiosity why did your father or whoever, put the fence on the roadside of the hedge?
    I presume there's another fence on the fieldside to keep your own stock off the ditch/hedge?
    The field in question is lower than the road so there is a bank/ditch mostly hedge but a few stretches with no hedge. There is a drain inside of the hedge. So probably back in the day 73+ years ago they must have dug the drain then planted hedge on the bank then fence outside.
    Dad said he just repaired the fence over the years never moved it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭Aravo

Roads act 1993. That hedge is yours to maintain. Don't see anything wrong with what you have done. Alright someone saying it's not right, it's another thing to prove it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Sounds like a clown with to much time on their hands, and no sense to go along with it. Pay no heed to the gob****e. There's a no nothing know it all busy body in every parish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭Donegalforever

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    Sounds like a clown with to much time on their hands, and no sense to go along with it. Pay no heed to the gob****e. There's a no nothing know it all busy body in every parish.

That type of person is what might be regarded as "a know all".
    A person who "knows all" has a lot to learn !:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

One of those lads bought a house on a site bordering my brothers land. That field has now become the first choice for slurry spreading. Think it's gotten more slurry in the past 2 years than it got in the previous 20. And always when the clothes are on the line by pure coincidence.

To be honest he was not the worst. Has often came over to shed for a chat. I have helped him with a few bits of gardening and stuff but never again. He is very much into nature so was worried about his supply of black berries that I cut away. Next time he is looking for help I will tell him I'm busy fencing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Tbh, sounds like something over nothing. Other neighbour probably had a passing conversation and thats about it.

Why make this a thing ? whats to be gained. People talk sh*te all the time just in passing for something to say.

Is it worth making it something out of nothing as youve said hes grand.....

This is exactly how feuds start over nothing more than, well nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,919 ✭✭✭Odelay

listermint wrote: »
    Tbh, sounds like something over nothing. Other neighbour probably had a passing conversation and thats about it.

Why make this a thing ? whats to be gained. People talk sh*te all the time just in passing for something to say.

Is it worth making it something out of nothing as youve said hes grand.....

This is exactly how feuds start over nothing more than, well nothing.

^This. You're getting the story second hand so may not be getting the full story, maybe the guy was just asking a question. Ask him if he what his concern is and set him straight that you were reinstating an existing fence. No point in falling out with a neighbour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Is there any bits of the original fence remaining? If so take some photos to show original line of fence just in case complaint goes into council or somewhere. Leave some original posts there if possible. Yer man complaining sounds like a shyte stirrer if the story is to be believed ...

gozunda wrote: »
    Is there any bits of the original fence remaining? If so take some photos to show original line of fence just in case complaint goes into council or somewhere. Leave done original posts there if possible. Yet man soundslike a shyte stirrer if the story is to be believed ...

There was plenty of the old fence there. It's gone now but the next section has still some of the old fence still on ditch. That's my next fencing job next month.

Ok having read over some replies i think wires have got crossed. I didnt explain it properly i guess.
    My problem is definently not with the neighbour. I was just looking for clarification on the fence position. Should I have moved it inside hedge etc. I just put in the same position as it was without thinking until the neighbour mentioned it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,458 ✭✭✭✭Base price

jimini0 wrote: »
    Ok having read over some replies i think wires have got crossed. I didnt explain it properly i guess.
    My problem is definently not with the neighbour. I was just looking for clarification on the fence position. Should I have moved it inside hedge etc. I just put in the same position as it was without thinking until the neighbour mentioned it.
    Reinstate your new fence along the same line as the original one without changing the height or materials used i.e. posts with barbed wire etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭TwoOldBoots

Gravelly wrote: »
    One of those lads bought a house on a site bordering my brothers land. That field has now become the first choice for slurry spreading. Think it's gotten more slurry in the past 2 years than it got in the previous 20. And always when the clothes are on the line by pure coincidence.

Don't see why everyone is thanking this post; It must be bad for the family in question to be subjected to this behavour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

Don't see why everyone is thanking this post; It must be bad for the family in question to be subjected to this behavour.

Terrible I'm sure. My heart breaks for them.