Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Firebird won't fire

• 21-03-2018 4:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭

Outside Firebird won't fire. Will start to hum for 10-15 seconds, but it won't fire, or even attempt to. Just carries on humming.

There's a load of oil, no air lock. The rdb doesn't lock out, red light doesn't come on. Just hums and carries on humming.

Took photocell and put it on a known working Firebird (parents) and it worked fine. So photocell is grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,991 ✭✭✭jimf

disconnect the p cell from the control box see if the boiler fires and goes to lock out if it does its the p cell if it doesn't it could be control box or coil

just be careful when doing above make sure you have power isolated first

just because the p cell worked on another burner doesn't mean its ok it could be throwing you off track

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 6,471 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wearb

Could be capacitor, seized pump, motor bearings or something stuck in the fan. All that along with what Jimf said.

if its humming boolavogue call the vet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,590 ✭✭✭agusta

househero wrote: »
    Outside Firebird won't fire. Will start to hum for 10-15 seconds, but it won't fire, or even attempt to. Just carries on humming.

There's a load of oil, no air lock. The rdb doesn't lock out, red light doesn't come on. Just hums and carries on humming.

Took photocell and put it on a known working Firebird (parents) and it worked fine. So photocell is grand.[/QUOTE
    Ok,how im reading this,what you have is the motor and fan running continous...,
    It can be only one of four things,
    1/ photocell
    2.coil [open curcuit or not reading 100 ohms resistance]
    3/motor [ not giving 53v to white wire]
    4/control box
    Follow Jimf advice on the photocell first

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭househero

jimf wrote: »
    if its humming boolavogue call the vet

No mate but it is in boolavogue hahahahaha

your joking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,590 ✭✭✭agusta

your joking
    jimt,you cant be right all the time

agusta wrote: »
    jimt,you cant be right all the time

theres 4 letters in my name and you cant spell it:p

or wer you golfing today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Tom44

Jimcangooe it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭JamesM

your joking
    I can't help anymore than the lads with the burner, but I do know why Jimf said Boolavogue :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭househero

your joking

No joke, my aunty lives in boolavogue and is burning thru sum sthicks to keep warm right now.

Had two boiler engineers look at it. One electrical, who changed the controller. Still didn't work. Eejit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭JamesM

No joke, my aunty lives in boolavogue and is burning thru sum sthicks to keep warm right now.

Had two boiler engineers look at it. One electrical, who changed the controller. Still didn't work. Eejit
    Is the hum just a hum or is it the sound of the fan whirring. If it's a light electrical hum, the motor is not turning. First establish if the motor is actually turning.

pm wearb on here he cant be worse than the rest :p:p