Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Suzuki Vitaras

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

They’d be much much more capable than the likes of a RAV4 or a Qashqai or whatever, but it’s generally accepted that they’re a ball of a yoke, especially the diesel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭selectamatic

The 1.9 Renault engine is awful unreliable and that model of vitara is fierce soft compared to the older ones. A petrol one wouldn't be too bad really but you'd want to be getting one very cheap cos they'd be hard sell on.

The pre 2003 Mazda td engine ones are tough little machines and the post 2003 2.0hdi engine ones aren't bad either.

As a matter of interest what sorta driving are you planning on doing?
    Off road? Heavy towing? Etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,391 ✭✭✭5500

Thanks lads. Id planned on using just occasional use to get about if conditions are crap/snow ect not as a daily so wouldn't have minded if it could have been modded or taken off road for a bit of fun hence looking at the older model, no specific towing need but handy if it could take a trailer and car the odd time.

When the other half got wind though she decided she wouldn't mind one as a daily driver hence looking at the newer 06 on one as "it looks nicer" but shes already motoring so open to something still that would do the trick just for what id want

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭freddieot

I had a brand new 06petrol 2.0 for one year. Far better than you might expect off-road but drank petrol ! Few niggling problems too, driver's window sticking, leak in rear window

Did not like it really hence got rid after the first year. Bought an 07 Sorento after that and kept that for 5 years. much better machine, not one fault in 95,000k / 5 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I have an 06 Vitara 2L petrol and found it great in the snow we had. Have had minor issues with it but nothing to put me off it, yet...
    The mpg is usually around 25mpg but if that's not a problem then I think it's a worthwhile car. Herself drives mine sometimes and wants one too now.

A friend had an 07 petrol from new for 10 years. Never caused him bother. Petrol suited him but he didn't expect the 08 motor tax changes when he bought it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,391 ✭✭✭5500

biko wrote: »
    I have an 06 Vitara 2L petrol and found it great in the snow we had. Have had minor issues with it but nothing to put me off it, yet...
    The mpg is usually around 25mpg but if that's not a problem then I think it's a worthwhile car. Herself drives mine sometimes and wants one too now.

Have you ever had it off road? Are the petrol all 4x4 with the high and low gearbox or AWD? The mpg wouldn't be a concern not being a daily as such, they just look like a nicer place to be in than the jimny in comparison

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭freddieot

I had mine off road a few times (bog/ floods/ gradients/ ditches etc.) as I do a bit of shooting. Very capable with the low ratio 4WD setting. However, I only managed 21 /22 mpg in general, part of the reason I got rid of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 buttonsjunior

https://youtu.be/k5-4kmENQTQ

Wonder if anyone has a clue what this is was thinking turbo but why when stop it’s quiet and you hear clicking spinning two with stops when I turn off. Can also hear when I start