Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Judges

• 17-03-2018 10:37am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭

They seem to be a totally unaccountable lot whitout a firm grasp of logic and with a seemingly sneaking regard and empathy for scroundrels.
    I just after reading another story, while a minor charge, shows them up. Some millionaire old lad up for a driving offence was flatered by the judge and let off on his word alone despite a Garda giving a contradictory statement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,540 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Thought you were talking about Conor McGregor there...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Judge not lest ye be judged

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,415 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

The judge listened to both sides, weighed it up and decided that one side was more true than the other.

That's how it works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Anyone from the outside of Ireland looking in would imagine that for such a small country and with such a big problem with drugs, petty crime etc that the judges would be reasonable and decide each case on its merit and not hand down the same soft sentences over and over again.

They would be wrong. The judges, despite Ireland being a dot on the map, live in a fantasy land where all criminals are just decent people who hit hard times and sure everyone deserves a second chance. Look at the statistics- so many scumbags who rob, assault and kill just walk free over and over again. Its not the Guards whos at fault most of the time, its the wolly brained judges who come down from fantasy land now and then and hand down laughable sentences.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭Creative83

A garda's evidence should never be given any greater credibility simply because they are a garda. I certainly hope this doesn't go on in our courts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

I feel your pain OP. Just seen this article today and my god the judge came across as too sympathetic to these scumbags. Fair enough they got jailed but still!

Two men jailed for punching and kicking a female wheelchair user outside her home http://jrnl.ie/3908946

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭GhostyMcGhost

everlast75 wrote: »
    Thought you were talking about Conor McGregor there...

The legal system funnily enough reminds me of McGregeor

i.e. "you'll do nothin' "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

The judge listened to both sides, weighed it up and decided that one side was more true than the other while the Gard is spot on, Mr McCabe is a respectable and well heeled member of the community who might have had a senior moment and sure we should cut the poor aul divil some slack.

That's how it works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Anyone from the outside of Ireland looking in would imagine that for such a small country and with such a big problem with drugs, petty crime etc that the judges would be reasonable and decide each case on its merit and not hand down the same soft sentences over and over again.

They would be wrong. The judges, despite Ireland being a dot on the map, live in a fantasy land where all criminals are just decent people who hit hard times and sure everyone deserves a second chance. Look at the statistics- so many scumbags who rob, assault and kill just walk free over and over again. Its not the Guards whos at fault most of the time, its the wolly brained judges who come down from fantasy land now and then and hand down laughable sentences.

Give us an example of scumbag killing over and over and then walking free ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

before taking their position judges should have to live for a year in areas with high levels of crime and anti social behaviour

After they come out judge school ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

It's next door to clown college

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

There are guys up here in Northern Ireland who rack up many tens of driving convictions and yet never seem to do time. There was one low life who killed some lad in Donegal who had a list of convictions as long as your arm.

In the US the guy would have been living in a cell years ago.

The justice system often seems to add insult to injury to victims whilst the low life criminals laugh at its leniency.

It's next door to clown college

I don't you're a judge , so how'd you know where clown college is ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

When I was a Garda, the judge was very soft. It would annoy me to work so hard to bring a dirty scumbag to court only for the judge to let them walk away. Then someone threw something at him on his way home one day, and next thing everyone was being sent to prison! Not sure how he changed his mind so quick...

Judges do have to take into account the overcrowding in prisons, but I don't think that should be up to the Judge. Sentence the person if they deserve it, let the prisoner system sort out the rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭Carlos Orange

Apparently after 60 convictions they are at a crossroad in their lifes according to the judge. Myself I'm not really sure what convictions 61 and 62 are going to teach them that the first 60 didn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

The poster is correctly implying that the judges are detatched from reality... and is correct.

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    The poster is correctly implying that the judges are detatched from reality... and is correct.

Or is unaware how judges are appointed in Ireland.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

Creative83 wrote: »
    A garda's evidence should never be given any greater credibility simply because they are a garda. I certainly hope this doesn't go on in our courts

And you should never assume that a solicitor is telling the truth , after all they invested in their clients case where as the garda is a conduit for the facts.

Also yes jedges in ireland are horrific as is our justice system.
    #to remedy this I suggest any one committing more than 5 arrest able offences (carrying more than 5 years in jail) be jailed mandatory for 10 years.
    And that mandatory sentencing rules be enforced by judges not ignored with reckless abandon

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 29 Rerto

Judges are bound by sentencing norms. That’s common law.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    I feel your pain OP. Just seen this article today and my god the judge came across as too sympathetic to these scumbags. Fair enough they got jailed but still!

Two men jailed for punching and kicking a female wheelchair user outside her home http://jrnl.ie/3908946

The court heard Rowe has 26 previous convictions, while Greene has 34 convictions.

Judge O’Connor said...“You are at such a young stage of your lives, you have a choice as to what happens next."

Seems they've made that particular choice

Drink Driver on road to cork few years ago, drunk up to the eyeballs after being on a session all day, gets behind the wheel of a car, drives on wrong side and ends up killing 2 people on their way to Cork Airport. He walked free. Not only that but he had dozens of traffic convictions before he even got into the car.

If you want examples of people in this country who kill, assault and rob and walk free open up any court pages in any local newspaper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,922 ✭✭✭GM228

Drink Driver on road to cork few years ago, drunk up to the eyeballs after being on a session all day, gets behind the wheel of a car, drives on wrong side and ends up killing 2 people on their way to Cork Airport. He walked free. Not only that but he had dozens of traffic convictions before he even got into the car.

That was the Anthony Long case, he got 5 years prison (released after 3.5). Hardly walking free is it.

If you want examples of people in this country who kill, assault and rob and walk free open up any court pages in any local newspaper.

Local newspaper reporting is not always an accurate description of what has happened. Many people "walk free" due to legal issues and thanks to this, that and the other availible legal loophole or technicality.

It is often outside the control of the judges, but people often just read the glorified newspaper report and assume the judge is to fault.

That's not what you described in your first post , you talked about someone killing more than once being free to keep killing and then give a half arsed example of some clown killing two people while drunk driving in a single event.

Wow, can you see the wood for the trees here or are you actually a judge? The fact that he was out free to kill means the whole justice system is rotten. He had a charge sheet as long as his arm when it came to drink driving, no tax etc. He was never jailed for it. Tell me, do you think the justice system in Ireland is fair?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,922 ✭✭✭GM228

Wow, can you see the wood for the trees here or are you actually a judge? The fact that he was out free to kill means the whole justice system is rotten. He had a charge sheet as long as his arm when it came to drink driving, no tax etc. He was never jailed for it. Tell me, do you think the justice system in Ireland is fair?

He had previous convictions for drink driving and speeding, but it was never established in the media if he had served time previously or not, and even if he had that's not to say it would not have happened anyway.

Many people are incarcerated and still fall foul of the law again.