Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

calf "Quiet in himself"

• 16-03-2018 7:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,985 ✭✭✭

Sorry but i dont mean to go looking for problems but i have a calf about 1 month old. he seems ok but just very quiet in himself like slow to get up noticed he dosent stretch really either when hes put up. bit of watery discharge from eyes. breathing seems well regulated and when i checked his temp last week it was 39 celscius. i got a shot of draxin and some other shot from the vet who said it be a chill. he was shivering a bit last week but improved from that. nothing really to report only like the title says "quiet " to quiet for my liking. no scour and vaccinated with rotavec corona and i gave hime the first feed of beastings. very warm dry creep area well beded and good ventilation but without draughts at thier head height. anything it could be? or any shot to give him to cover like alamycin la or anything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭Donnielighto

What breed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,985 ✭✭✭Dickie10

limousion out of a black whitehead bucket reared cow, second calver

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

I had a calf "not herself" the last few days. You'd see her lying down straight away after drinking the cow. Had a scour but not that bad. The cow is bulling tonight. Hormones for ya!!!

grand hopefullybnothing to worry about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

If you could give access to a heat lamp for the next few cold nights it might be a good idea. They use huge reserves keeping warm which can be hard on a poorly calf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭memorystick

Is he constipated?

problem was he was actually not getting enough milk. there were other calves and cow drinking her and she wasnt a huge milker anyway. have her and calf on their own now in a pen and giving her 2 kg of dairy nuts a day