Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you go to a male massage therapist?

• 16-03-2018 12:48am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭

I go for massages all the time.
    Love them.

But always with a female masseuse.
    I did have massages with males in the past - but only with blind dudes in thailand.
    To be honest - dudes, stronger and what not - they give better massages than feeble handed women, no doubt.

But this side of the globe?
    Never had a male masseuse.
    I enquired one time, but once I met the dude, I backed away slowly and cautiously.
    He was like an, "alternative" therapist.
    Definitely creeped me out.

Then, I was going to attend a male physical therapist just for some maintainence work, but - he just wasn't a cool dude, so ended up, you know - not going.

I think what I'm saying is - I would have no issues going to a male massage therapist, if I thought he was cool and unquestionably heterosexual.

You know how females are just - easier to deal with in customer service postions?

Well, dudes seem to have difficulty replicating that.

But - I think if there were a male masseuse that embodied that level of easy-going-ness or, what is it - female empathy?
    I really don't know - but I would have no difficulty attending him.

But alas - I have yet to meet one.

How about you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭FakePie

I am male BTW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,230 ✭✭✭jaxxx

Hell no. I don't even like going to male doctors/dentists. I just have this thing about being touched by other guys... Creeps me out. I know that sounds completely beyond weird and stupid but we all have our quirks I suppose. Maybe it's cos I've always preferred female company. Nothing at all sexual btw, even just chatting and having a laugh I much prefer chatting to the opposite sex. Then again i've always been the '1 in 1 million' kinda person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

Dudes? Really?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

Only if they have diddies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,596 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

FakePie wrote:
    But always with a female masseuse. I did have massages with males in the past - but only with blind dudes in thailand. To be honest - dudes, stronger and what not - they give better massages than feeble handed women, no doubt.

I get the feeling someone is so far in the closet, they're in Narnia. Well that's my take on this.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,308 ✭✭✭dinorebel

FakePie wrote: »
    I go for massages all the time.
    Love them.

But always with a female masseuse.
    I did have massages with males in the past - but only with blind dudes in thailand.
    To be honest - dudes, stronger and what not - they give better massages than feeble handed women, no doubt.

But this side of the globe?
    Never had a male masseuse.
    I enquired one time, but once I met the dude, I backed away slowly and cautiously.
    He was like an, "alternative" therapist.
    Definitely creeped me out.

Then, I was going to attend a male physical therapist just for some maintainence work, but - he just wasn't a cool dude, so ended up, you know - not going.

I think what I'm saying is - I would have no issues going to a male massage therapist, if I thought he was cool and unquestionably heterosexual.

You know how females are just - easier to deal with in customer service postions?

Well, dudes seem to have difficulty replicating that.

But - I think if there were a male masseuse that embodied that level of easy-going-ness or, what is it - female empathy?
    I really don't know - but I would have no difficulty attending him.

But alas - I have yet to meet one.

How about you?
    So only blind Thai's may apply?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

Doctor, Dentist no problem
    But nah no way not a male masseuse
    Funk dat sheeeeeet.
    I'd go to a female mechanic before I'd do that(emmm well I think)
    :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,558 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

As a heterosexual male, if I need relief from a sporting injury, then I don't care what sex the physiotherapist it.

If I was seeking sexual gratification, then it would be a different matter, but I have never been in that situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,675 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

iv never ben for a relaxing massage but have been to a pysio
    twice with a woman and loads with a man. i found the woman too timid and too weak to pull and maniputate me. she was too gentle. i had to do a lot of the work positioning myself
    the man was much better . mostly due to size and strength.

if i was to go for a relaxing massage i would start with a woman mainely because i would think she would be more gentle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

Chiropractor yes, but an oily hand 'massage artist' dude, hell no.

And if getting the chakras or medians done, that's a definite preference for a lady also.
    - Ideally she's chanting native Indian folk songs at 528hz base frequencies, waving incense and fancy quartz, along with one of those aul Tibetan singing bowls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

blanch152 wrote: »
    As a heterosexual male, if I need relief from a sporting injury, then I don't care what sex the physiotherapist it.

If I was seeking sexual gratification, then it would be a different matter, but I have never been in that situation.

Wow wow wow
    The op didn't specifically say anything about sports injuries.
    None of us would have a problem with any male caring for fixing/manipulating a sports injury..
    But going to a male for relaxing massage
    NO NO NO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,327 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

FakePie wrote: »

Because the blind ones were likely to grab your gear-stick "by mistake"????......... Plausible deniability???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,360 ✭✭✭Lorelli!

Whatever you're comfortable with op.

But think of it this way, would you give a guy a foot massage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,436 ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Have done in the past. My brother in law does sports massage. You get over it in a minute or 2.

Had one or two massages done by males. I don't see the issue unless you think there's something inherently sexual or romantic about a massage, and if you think that, you're a bit of a fool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

I find the idea of a relaxing massage weird.

For physio that's different, and in that case I don't care which gender does it as large parts involve pain loosening tight muscles. Men tend to be better at that.

professore wrote: »

For physio that's different, and in that case I don't care which gender does it as large parts involve pain loosening tight muscles. Men tend to be better at that.
    When people say relaxing, it can either be a treat or for a stiff / sore back that doesn't require a physio.

I hurt my back a few days ago and it's feeling mostly ok now. I'll be getting a "relaxing" massage next week to help it along.

professore wrote: »

I agree - when it comes to a physio - male/female - I'd actually prefer a male.

As for a relaxing massage being "weird" - I find it weird that you find that weird.

To the poster earlier that commented - yes, for whatever reason, blind thai dudes - they're exempt from my no-male-massage-therapist rule.

I don't quite know why that is.
    Alls I know is - I had awesome massages from blind thai dudes.

I just don't fully trust the heterosexual adherence of many non-blind, non-thai dudes.

If a dude presented himself as being, totally cool and totally professional, and reasonably priced - I would absolutely avail of a good male masseur.

However - when I've google searched, male masseurs appear largely to be including "additional" services, "for men".

That is a situation I just cannot end up in.

Maybe if there was a male masseur in a legit spa treatment center of something - but again - they are priced through the roof.

Wtf. Is this a joke?

As a woman I can't say I've ever had an issue with getting a massage from someone that is the same gender as me. Wouldn't bother me having a massage from a man either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,449 ✭✭✭✭pwurple

Do they blind them on request for you?

This thread is messed up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭traveller0101

Because the blind ones were likely to grab your gear-stick "by mistake"????......... Plausible deniability???

I doubt he brought his car to thailand mate :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

My massage sports Physio is a guy and I love him
    He beats me up he gets right into the knot he doesn’t tease over knots just going through the movements he’s so thorough
    First time I went I was a bit awkward but we have the chats and banter for an hour and he’s married with kids so there’s no real reason to feel weird with him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,131 ✭✭✭✭anewme

We all went off on a work junket and part of it was a spa trip with a massage.

The women were assigned a woman to massage them and the guys got a guy.

Well the woman damn nearly killed me and the lads were all giving out yards (one of whom said “I thought We was getting a nice rub”) got a eastern European military fella. They were nearly dead after it.

I’m still laughing when I think of it.

I’ve had the blind massage in Vietnam and it was amazing(guy)

I did go for a massage in a seemingly respectable massage parlour in Cambodia - the wife said it looks respectable so in we went - and talk about fulfilling stereotypes. A really disturbing experience, to put it mildly. Human dignity is a luxury in so many parts of our planet.

And, yes, I did go for a massage with a male physical therapist, somebody registered with www.iapt.ie. In the recession I was buying those massage vouchers from Groupon, Boards and the like regularly. It never occurred to me that there'd be something unusual about a man getting a massage from a professional physical therapist - my Dad had a male physical therapist visit him once a week for some 30 years. Given that there's a whole profession of physical therapists who help ease physical pain, it's a bit crappy to be implying that the male ones are all sex workers of some form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,996 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

I did go for a massage in a seemingly respectable massage parlour in Cambodia - the wife said it looks respectable so in we went - and talk about fulfilling stereotypes. A really disturbing experience, to put it mildly. Human dignity is a luxury in so many parts of our planet.

And, yes, I did go for a massage with a male physical therapist, somebody registered with www.iapt.ie. In the recession I was buying those massage vouchers from Groupon, Boards and the like regularly. It never occurred to me that there'd be something unusual about a man getting a massage from a professional physical therapist - my Dad had a male physical therapist visit him once a week for some 30 years. Given that there's a whole profession of physical therapists who help ease physical pain, it's a bit crappy to be implying that the male ones are all sex workers of some form.

Tell us more about the Cambodia trip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 479 ✭✭rgace

Had one or two massages done by males. I don't see the issue unless you think there's something inherently sexual or romantic about a massage, and if you think that, you're a bit of a fool.

There are lots of fools who find it sexually arousing to have their naked bodies massaged I'd suspect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,230 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

I wouldn't care if a guy was the one giving me a massage.

It's a massage. Even if it were some 6ft tall blonde who is amazing looking. It still doesn't matter.
    Either is not going to be grabbing your balls and if they do its a different type of massage lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭somefeen

I'm a straight guy and I have no problem going to see a male massage therapist. I actually prefer it. Especially if he's got nice big strong hands and shapely sinewy muscles in his arms to really work on you. Even better when he uses his strength to manipulate you into position without even saying a word, he just uses his big masculine body to pull you around the bed to wherever he needs you. When he puts all his weight on you he's so heavy you couldn't get up and stop him, even if you wanted to.

I'm not sure why but I always looked forward to seeing the male massage therapists more than female ones even though they've been just as brawny. I guess I'm just more comfortable around other men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭Vincent Vega

rgace wrote: »

There are lots of fools who find it sexually arousing to have their naked bodies massaged I'd suspect.
    lol - those idiots!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Just keep saying "no homo" during the massage.

rgace wrote: »

I'd also imagine that there are plenty of ladies who wouldn't want to be massaged by an old fat 65 year old man for example? Doesn't mean that their preference for a nice 20-something female masseuse means that they want to engage in some hot lesbo action.

Or actually maybe it does....I think I remember seeing a documentary on that.....I think it was one of those undercover jobs as they never acknowledged the cameraman even though he was clearly moving around the room to get the best shots....I only saw a 30 second preview though as you had to join the site to see the video plus thousands more in HD quality

Lia_lia wrote: »
    Wtf. Is this a joke?

As a woman I can't say I've ever had an issue with getting a massage from someone that is the same gender as me. Wouldn't bother me having a massage from a man either.

PM Sent.

I have a special technique. Part of the session will be using only one hand (on you..... Other hand is needed for taking care of meself)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 300 ✭✭garbo speaks

Whenever I get a massage, towards the conclusion of the massage, I am always very pleased. I wish there was some succint term for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 873 ✭✭✭Captain Red Beard

It wouldn't bother me. I've been to male physios a few times.

What was the reputable establishment?
    Hotel spa or such?

And what was the groupon outlet?
    I'm genuinely curious.
    Some back street dump with flashing neon lights?

Why did you act like you thought he was coming on to you?

What did he do?