Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Loading Shovel Recommendations

• 08-03-2018 12:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8

Hello All,

The aul lad is looking for a replacement smallish loading shovel after the old one finally gave up for a Dairy farm. Currently feeding 120ac pit and 1000 bales per year with the 6630 and don't know how much longer it can put up with that. Plus only have a 5'6" grab so would like to get something bigger and the fact that there's no longer any backup if any problems arise.

Was thinking something like a Volvo L35, L45 or Volvo l50B/C etc. Anyone have any opinions on them pros/ cons. They seem to be very scarce for sale in Ireland. Any I've found are models circa 1990 with big hours. Looking to put a 7ft grab on it for feeding silage to take the grunt work off the 6630.

Probably have a budget of somewhere in the region of 20K but could go to 30K for the right machine. In that price range I'd imagine the Volvos will be mid/ late 90s. Don't really have the need for an arctic telescopic and they're probably well out of the price range

Any help or alternate recommendations would also be appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭TheFarrier

Jcb tm series. Arctic steer loader with a telescopic boom. Have one and I love it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Butcher Boy

I have 10 jcb 412s a good yoke ,had a Volvo l 30 before that so sorry for selling it very handy around the yard it was agreat loader.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

http://www.podlasly.de/epages/es706725.sf/en_GB/?ViewAction=View&ObjectID=19166057&PageSize=50&OrderBy=ListPrice&OrderDesc=0

I was helping a neighbour find one and came across this crowd, no problems with english on the phone, they'll ship it etc. L70 there for 30K

He didn't deal with them, bought a new one here instead, mainly for the warranty. Problem with a lot of loaders these days is engines are chipped for extra hp then the transmission can't take it and fux up.

Would you be interested in a cat IT 18B at the right money? Needs a tidy up though. Leaks oil like a sieve but the engine has been re conditioned.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 aidanhw

Thanks for the replies lads.

@ The Farrier we've talked about the arctic telescpics but don't have the need for one really. The aul lad would much prefer a standard loading shovel in comparison. A bit wary of the older models due to issues and it seems like the loading shovels are able to last a bit longer. What do you have at the moment? TM300/ 310?

@ ButcherBoy An older (early 2000s) 412 or 411 could be a decent alternatives to the Volvos. A 10 one is way too fresh to be considered for us as we wouldn't have the budget. The l30s are getting long in the tooth now if it was one of the first ones you had but could be a decent and slightly cheaper option. They never came with the fingertip servo controls though did they? Only the bigger models?

@ Blue5000, thanks for the recommendations but I don't think we'd be looking abroad. The aul lad would like to see the loader, go for a spin and get a mechanic to take a look at it. An l70 would be too big for our yard. So an l50 would be the biggest we'd consider. Don't really know anything about the CAT IT 18B but it's not likely we'll look to pick up anything with existing issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

The jcbs in the noughties can be a bit finicky mainly with electrics I think, very comfortable when going right. Volvos seem to be more reliable from what I've heard but they are big lumps, jcb has better power to weight. Have an 86 jcb but will prob be looking in the next year or two to replace her. Neighbour bought a 00 412 lovely machine but wiring has let her down a few times

Mooooo wrote: »
    The jcbs in the noughties can be a bit finicky mainly with electrics I think, very comfortable when going right. Volvos seem to be more reliable from what I've heard but they are big lumps, jcb has better power to weight. Have an 86 jcb but will prob be looking in the next year or two to replace her. Neighbour bought a 00 412 lovely machine but wiring has let her down a few times

Have my 412s here a few years now and thank god no bother and she gets a fair horseing from time to time.

Dermot Clancy plant sales listowel co Kerry, I bought my loader off him found him very good to deal with and has a lot of stuff there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,386 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

Volvo are the only make. The rest are only imitations.
    The original L50 would be good for 35/40k hours or more.
    The L50B/C etc are crap as they have a troublesome hydrostatic transmission.

The L70C/D are also an excellent machine and good for huge hours.
    I sent an L70D to Ireland a fortnight ago. New michelins, quick attach, high tip bucket and 11.5k hours. Was tempted to keep it for myself.

I’ve had nothing but Volvos all my life and wouldn’t have anything else. Family have 5 larger ones and are as good as troublefree.

If you could find an original L50 buy it and you’ll have a loader for life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Eci cork are close to taking in a 08 414 from a farmer. Auto greaser, never contracting, one owner from new. Don't say I told you.

Thanks for all the replies lads.

It seems from reading a few different threads here and other forums that Volvo are the way to go for longevity.

I wasn't aware of the transmission issues with the L50B/C Gawddawggonnit. Dealbreaker if one comes available?

There seems to be a few original L50s for sale on Donedeal but looks like all approx 20K hours and ~1990 age. An L70 would probably take half the sheds with it if we had one. Silage crew have one and you'd want to have eyes on the back of your head by the looks of it. Something more compact if definitely more desirable.

The problems with electrics and transmissions etc is definitely why we'd want a mechanic to take a look prior to buying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

what about a Kramer?

aidanhw wrote: »
    Thanks for all the replies lads.

It seems from reading a few different threads here and other forums that Volvo are the way to go for longevity.

I wasn't aware of the transmission issues with the L50B/C Gawddawggonnit. Dealbreaker if one comes available?

There seems to be a few original L50s for sale on Donedeal but looks like all approx 20K hours and ~1990 age. An L70 would probably take half the sheds with it if we had one. Silage crew have one and you'd want to have eyes on the back of your head by the looks of it. Something more compact if definitely more desirable.

The problems with electrics and transmissions etc is definitely why we'd want a mechanic to take a look prior to buying.

Don’t touch an L50B/C etc. The transmission goes after 6k plus hours and it costs between €8/10k to repair.

I wouldn’t be one bit afraid of an L50 with 20k hours on it. No electrics whatsoever and totally bulletproof.
    If an L50 gets engine oil and filter every 250hrs, and transmission oil and filter every 1000hrs they’ll easily do 40k hours. Regular greasing also. That’s it.

When going to see one check...that it starts quickly from cold...very little play in the two steering rams...then put it up against an immovable object like a large tree, and it should spin the wheels in first gear...drive on the road and see that she goes up and down automatically through the four gears. If all that checks out write a chèque. You’ll have a loader for years, and years, and years...:)
    If only all other machines were like them...

what about a Kramer?

I’ve a Kramer in Claas colors and it’s fine. It’s a telescopic and is much better than Manipoo etc. The joystick is giving up after every 500hrs and is €900 to replace. If Claas don’t stand over the joystick when warranty is out it’ll be for the road.
    Wouldn’t be a patch on a Volvo...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭3 the square

I’ve a Kramer in Claas colors and it’s fine. It’s a telescopic and is much better than Manipoo etc. The joystick is giving up after every 500hrs and is €900 to replace. If Claas don’t stand over the joystick when warranty is out it’ll be for the road.
    Wouldn’t be a patch on a Volvo...

Are class telehandlers really that bad ??

Ah no. They’re fine as telescopics go but they’re not a loading shovel.
    Telescopics offer reach and no more. A shovel kicks the crap out of them in every other way.
    The Class puts up about a thousand hours a year, and the Volvo puts up way more even though the Class is only a couple of years old and the Volvo is ancient. Says it all really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭st1979

Have an l30. 1987. Small hours 8k but was bit rusty as was in concrete plant. Got parts from voltac in the north. Very knowledgeable about older volvos. They always have an l50 or similar in workshop being done up. Won't be cheap but honestly will be like new looking in everyway apart from the hour clock. Local contractor has one with 25k hrs and reckons it's only run in.
    My old yoke amazes me on how well built everything is. but it's got old style 3 big levers for loader. Voltac are reasonable with parts and lots of secondhand parts available. The parts in pat o Donnell are saucy.

That's great info Gawddawggonnit. Probably would have been tempted by an L50B/C other than that. The original L50 looks to be a frontrunner at the moment anyways. Few on donedeal for €14 -20K. We're in no massive rush to buy atm as most of this years feeding is already done (fingers crossed) so we can bide our time a little for the right machine.

I suppose the lack of electrics on the L50 would be a major benefit for maintenance but how are they for comfort? The brother does most of the feeding in our 10 JD 6630 so going back to a loading shovel 20 years older will take a little convincing.

This is similar to what we're coming from loading shovel wise so our familiarity with more recent loading shovels is limited. Hough H30, no brakes, no electrics and pretty sure it was made in the 60s but paid her dues time and time again until she finally gave up. (Edit looks like I cant post URLs but feel free to google if interested)

@st1979 yeah I was aware of voltac alright but wasn't too sure how often they were rebuilding machines. How do you find the L30? The aul lad looked at an L45B up there a few years back before we went with the JD. JD won as we had no tractor with a loader ad a clusterfxck of a New holland that we were dying to get rid of. Definitely would be worth a shout though.

He seems to have a preference for the Volvos anyways after talking to a few local lads that have had them at various points.

Have any of ye had any experience with an L45B etc? Are they more prone to probs than the L50s.

Thanks for all the replies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭TheFarrier

Thanks for the replies lads.

@ The Farrier we've talked about the arctic telescpics but don't have the need for one really. The aul lad would much prefer a standard loading shovel in comparison. A bit wary of the older models due to issues and it seems like the loading shovels are able to last a bit longer. What do you have at the moment? TM300/ 310?

Not sure what one we have as it's rebadged as a class 945 so not sure where it fits in the job range.
    We didn't know we needed a telescopic either till we bought this. Couldn't do without it now.

That's great info Gawddawggonnit. Probably would have been tempted by an L50B/C other than that. The original L50 looks to be a frontrunner at the moment anyways. Few on donedeal for €14 -20K. We're in no massive rush to buy atm as most of this years feeding is already done (fingers crossed) so we can bide our time a little for the right machine.

I suppose the lack of electrics on the L50 would be a major benefit for maintenance but how are they for comfort? The brother does most of the feeding in our 10 JD 6630 so going back to a loading shovel 20 years older will take a little convincing.

This is similar to what we're coming from loading shovel wise so our familiarity with more recent loading shovels is limited. Hough H30, no brakes, no electrics and pretty sure it was made in the 60s but paid her dues time and time again until she finally gave up. (Edit looks like I cant post URLs but feel free to google if interested)

@st1979 yeah I was aware of voltac alright but wasn't too sure how often they were rebuilding machines. How do you find the L30? The aul lad looked at an L45B up there a few years back before we went with the JD. JD won as we had no tractor with a loader ad a clusterfxck of a New holland that we were dying to get rid of. Definitely would be worth a shout though.

He seems to have a preference for the Volvos anyways after talking to a few local lads that have had them at various points.

Have any of ye had any experience with an L45B etc? Are they more prone to probs than the L50s.

Thanks for all the replies

Comfort.
    They generally have a good seat but won’t compare to a 6630 for comfort.
    A Volvo L50 is a very small loader but it still comes in at 10 tons unladen...a 7930 might be able to compete with it, but I doubt it.
    Stay away from the L45. Not the same machine as an L50 and it think they also have a hydrostatic transmission.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭st1979

My l30 is the go to machine for any loader work. Have a decent 140hp tractor with vario transmission suspension axle and can with q65 loader and would use the Volvo first even though it's 20yrs older

st1979 wrote: »
    My l30 is the go to machine for any loader work. Have a decent 140hp tractor with vario transmission suspension axle and can with q65 loader and would use the Volvo first even though it's 20yrs older

Likewise. Always a queue for the Volvo and nobody really bothers with the telescopic.

Sounds like the older volvos are the way to go so. There's been a couple of L30s pop up in the last while as well as L50s. Might have a preference for the L50 but the L30 is definitely an option as the l50 is a big step up in size compared to the old loading shovel.

St1979 sounds like you're in a similar situation with the tractor to us so good to hear that you'd choose it for any loader work. Do you have a grab on it? What size and does it ever struggle for power? I think a double height grab is what the intention was if we go back to a loading shovel.

It'll definitely be a step down in comfort from the 6630 but the added capacity of a much bigger grab would be a huge benefit. Plus we've a few tight spots so the artic would be very welcome.