Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Did An Post get their money back?

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,658 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

You'd need to pay me more than whatever they got to read any of that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,529 ✭✭✭✭Alun

That takes tl;dr to a whole new level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭eamonnq

I have a funny feeling someone can copy and paste.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Don't know, did they?

Jaysus, that's make you miss chore sex guy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭dharma200

font pain

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

So a dump from the Independent? What's the point?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭del roy

maybe C.A.B could look into it with it been stolen money en all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,316 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

I like this bit.

I read the account of Tony O'Reilly's wedding with one eye closed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

If I were ever to buy a newspaper (which i'm not) I would get whichever Lynch writes in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,792 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

del roy wrote: »
    maybe C.A.B could look into it with it been stolen money en all that.

He has no proceeds from his crime. He gambled the lot years ago. Nothing for CAB to go after.

BattleCorp wrote: »
    He has no proceeds from his crime. He gambled the lot years ago. Nothing for CAB to go after.

Paddy has €1.7m of An Posts money, they did not give it to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

I'm surprised they took his bets but its their job to spot mug punters.

Try walking into any paddy power shop on grand national day and try to get €100 on the nose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

Paddy power didnt take t from them either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,930 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

If I robbed my local AIB branch and bought a car off you with the proceeds would you give AIB the money back?

Btw I don’t agree with bookmakers and online gambling but it was Tony who stole the money and gambled it. He’s liable for it.

If I robbed my local AIB branch and bought a car off you with the proceeds would you give AIB the money back?

Btw I don’t agree with bookmakers and online gambling but it was Tony who stole the money and gambled it. He’s liable for it.

No but its stolen money, if TONY had given it to four of his friends to hold and got a piece of paper from each friend stating I did Tony a favour so I am keeping this money,

do you think the police would leave it with them,

silly of An Post to not chase up getting the money back.

Paddy isn't responsible for paying it back.

If I spent €1000 of stolen money on food in Tesco, Tesco aren't responsible for paying it back.

Same in this case.

No but its stolen money, if TONY had given it to four of his friends to hold and got a piece of paper from each friend stating I did Tony a favour so I am keeping this money,

do you think the police would leave it with them,

silly of An Post to not chase up getting the money back.

Paddy Power Didn't take the money from An Post.

If the money Tony took was still around, of course the Gardai would go after it. But it isn't around. It's spent.

If I robbed you and spent the money in the pub, are the pub expected to pay it back?

If the money Tony took was still around, of course the Gardai would go after it. But it isn't around. It's spent.

If I robbed you and spent the money in the pub, are the pub expected to pay it back?

eh, tell me again how much paddy bought betfair for again,

No idea but that's not relevant.

Have a think about my pub analogy. A really good think.

BC
    this argument can go on forever but a few things

1. the traders (may) have known this guy was punting way above his means,
    2. why didn't the judge during the trial haul someone from paddys to question them about their KnowYourCustomer policy,
    3. An post did not want joe public to find out how shabby their security systems were.

loads of other strange things about this case,

but we will have to agree to disagree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,974 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

BC
    this argument can go on forever but a few things

1. the traders (may) have known this guy was punting way above his means,
    2. why didn't the judge during the trial haul someone from paddys to question them about their KnowYourCustomer policy,
    3. An post did not want joe public to find out how shabby their security systems were.

loads of other strange things about this case,

but we will have to agree to disagree.

The likes of Paddy Power will do the bare minimum with regards to the Know Your Customer policy but will do the maximum to convince you that he is your mate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 cloud9876

[font=Helmet, Freesans, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif]Betting firm William Hill has been hit with a £6.2m penalty package for breaching anti-money-laundering and social responsibility regulations.[/font]
    [font=Helmet, Freesans, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif]The Gambling Commission said the company did not do enough to ensure prevention measures were effective.[/font]
    [font=Helmet, Freesans, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif]As a result, 10 customers were able to deposit money linked to criminal offences and William Hill gained £1.2m.[/font]

[font=Helmet, Freesans, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif]Surely PP should be fined a similar amount?[/font]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,316 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

They could be if there are similar regulations in this country?

Was the £6.2 million given to the employers of gamblers?

The likes of Paddy Power will do the bare minimum with regards to the Know Your Customer policy but will do the maximum to convince you that he is your mate.

Fr
    if one of your first five bets with paddy happens to be a win where you are collecting more than €1k, have no doubt they will want to know who you are. the fact paddy knew already with feedback/word from behind the counter in the shop that Tony was not a "lucky punter" would have voided the KYC policy for him.

The KYC is only for winners and people who can see a rick in the odds compliers mistakes.

Retail revenue up 13% to £334m, with UK shops up 11% and Irish shops up 8%. In 2017 we launched Paddy Power TV channels across UK&I, enabling us to showcase our leading content and promotions.

Ireland and UK only,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 cloud9876

He stated on a KCLR podcast that he believes Paddy Power paid An Post back, insurance covered it.