Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

School trips abroad and alcohol!

• 03-03-2018 5:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,328 ✭✭✭✭

I am in my mid twenties now but when I was in secondary school when they were trips abroad it was accepted that the students would go to bars/clubs/etc for a few drinks often with the teachers.
    I said this to people over the years and some said it happened and others were shocked.
    So, was drinking alcohol on school trips accepted when you went to secondary school?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,498 ✭✭✭harr

I am in my mid twenties now but when I was in secondary school when they were trips abroad it was accepted that the students would go to bars/clubs/etc for a few drinks often with the teachers.
    I said this to people over the years and some said it happened and others were shocked.
    So, was drinking alcohol on school trips accepted when you went to secondary school?
    Happened in ours anyway not quite with the teachers but they turned a blind eye to it.
    Great novelty at the time being able to get served in the bars in France and Germany.
    We were amazed to see beers available in vending machines.
    The teachers used the trips for a piss up as well..
    While we did get drunk we never acted the bolix and made sure we did it discreetly enough and anybody who had a bit much was always looked after..
    I remember a group of about 20 15 year olds nearly emptying the stock from a small local German pub.. the owner was delighted and I don’t think he had experienced binge drinking before.
    This was over 20 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭EPAndlee

If your Irish, its always acceptable to drink. Well that's the mentality this country has anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

School trips abroad??

Oh yeah, I forgot. I'm old.

Carry on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,946 ✭✭✭buried

We went on the ferry over to Europe. It was some fecking scene. Everyone was totally hammered that first night. Then the next morning the teachers went around to the people that they knew were'nt drinking asking them for urine samples because they wanted to know who was drinking the night before and who wasn't. Of course the hoors knew anyways because they were at the bar getting hammered with us. The innocent lads came back to the bar with their urine samples in empty coke cans to the teachers laughing their holes off at them, still hammered. Ahh was great craic, fair play to them teachers, they were alright. There was no drinking after that though, was a great trip though I'll always membaaa it

Make America Get Out of Here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 727 ✭✭✭Sixtoes

We went to Amsterdam. Hotel had vending machines with cigs and beer. We got caught drinking and smoking in the room but nothing ever came of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,907 ✭✭✭Stephen15

Only went on one to England when I was 14 and it wasn't allowed but maybe it would have been if I went on one when I was 16 or 17 it would have been.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,355 ✭✭✭Jim Gazebo

There was mayhem on a skiing trip in my school. Teachers never seemed impressed but nothing ever happened. Last night, the whole lot were plastered, teachers & students and then the bar had to start serving cans of flavoured beer of which they only had 50, as they had ran out of beer on tap.
    We did a trip to Eastern Europe as well. A euro a pint, we woke up and the room was decorated with every local sign and banner we could of possibly taken ������

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,158 ✭✭✭kirving

Had a Ski trip in school, we were all 16-17 which would have meant we could buy drink over there.

To stop us drinking, we all had to pay a €300 deposit that would be given to charity if we were caught drinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Motivator

We went to Paris when we were in 6th year. One of our teachers had it in for a guy in my class since 3rd year and the feeling was mutual. One night we went for dinner and a few drinks after going to Versailles and amongst ourselves decided to start stirring the pot between the teacher and the chap in the class.

“Mr. Moore, Tommy said you’re X/Y/Z”

“Tommy, Mr. Moore is after saying you’re going to fail your leaving cert because you’re a thick cuñt”

After a while everyone left it because neither were biting. Towards the end of the night and after a lot of beer, Tommy decided to call out Mr. Moore. Holy jesus they beat the shït out of each other. It was scary and for a couple of minutes nobody jumped in to break it up. Everyone was in so much shock.

The night ended with both of them being picked up by the local police after someone in the bar called it in. Funny not but at the time it was serious stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,328 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

There was always talks about a teacher going off with a student years ago on a trip.