Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What is open? Thursday 1st & Friday 2nd

• 01-03-2018 11:08am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭

Thought a thread for businesses that are open/closed today and tomorrow would be handy for people.

Pubs , shops etc.

Tesco open until 2pm according to Facebook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭Krieg

jenno86 wrote: »

Tesco open until 2pm according to Facebook.

Its messy

PdqOexp.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,295 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

City centre: most cafes and convenience stores are open, some with signs up saying they're closing at 1pm-ish. A few other shops (Butlers chocolate, Vision Express. Tribes gift shop) are open, most aren't.

Garavans is open. All Woodquay pubs except the Lough Inn are open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,398 ✭✭✭inisboffin

Saw a post from Neachtains that they are open but that was two hours ago.

The fire looks lovely! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,929 ✭✭✭beardybrewer

Jopyce's Knocknacarra is open but mobbed. Dunnes is shut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

A lot of places (pubs/restaurants) including the Spar? in Salthill open. Normal amount of people in it.

Almost all shops in town are now closed. Reopening between 10am and 2pm tomorrow depending on the weather.

Pubs almost all open. Murphys have a sign up saying they're closing at 6.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 833 ✭✭✭westgolf

All dunnes stores staying closed all day tomorrow Friday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 676 ✭✭✭turnikett1

Centra in Salthill closed. Is there anywhere in town to get some shopping? Feck it even a takeaway!? Was far too drunk yesterday to even consider stocking up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭wily minx

Eyre Square shopping centre is closed today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭Cheshire Cat

Anthony Ryan's and M&S are closed, too according to Galway Bay FM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭jenno86

Spar on Mainguard St and McGuires on Raven Terrace are open

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭Krieg

Headford rd shopping center closed today, only things open are the veg market and fish monger, there is a sign on the newsagent saying they are open at noon today.

Newsagent on woodquay open until 3

Centra near eyre square open

cafe across from debenhams open

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 oi softlad

Joyce's in ballybane supposed to open at 1, anyone know if it's still opening!

Several corner shops open
    Boojum closed as most restaurants in town

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭Tuesday_Girl

oi softlad wrote: »
    Joyce's in ballybane supposed to open at 1, anyone know if it's still opening!

Opening at 1 according to their FB page, updated 20 minutes ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭irisheddie85

Joyce's in knocknacarra and coffee shop next door open now. Shop already very busy.

Supervalu by Salthill open, just on the phone to them there heading in now closes at 10pm!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭jenno86

turnikett1 wrote: »
    Supervalu by Salthill open, just on the phone to them there heading in now closes at 10pm!

Do you mean Joyces on Fr Griffin Road?

Sorry yeah, Joyces. Just back, good few people there, shelves not totally emptied

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 766 ✭✭✭ger vallely

Bell, Book and Candle, Secret Garden, Mortons, small newsagents on corner in Woodquay, Centra opposite the hospital, Mixed Greens, O'Briens wines, Father Griffin Rd garage, Kellehers, all Charcoal Grills, Coco in Salthill, Wildes, GBC all open an hour ago.

biko wrote: »
    Several corner shops open
    Boojum closed as most restaurants in town

Zappis, McDonaghs, Pascal in Abbeygate St, Cafe Express, Martines open. Rouge say they're opening at six.

Most forster st / shop / high / quay street pubs are open. Most Woodquay pubs closed, except Barr an Challadgh is open.

Sound, cause I'm heading out tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,399 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

Zappis, McDonaghs, Pascal in Abbeygate St, Cafe Express, Martines open. Rouge say they're opening at six.

Most forster st / shop / high / quay street pubs are open. Most Woodquay pubs closed, except Barr an Challadgh is open.

Caribou open at 3 according to their own FB.

Woodquay stores open

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭joeKel73

G&L Centra and Londis in Newcastle have both remained open.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭0byme75341jo28

Is everywhere open as normal today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,276 ✭✭✭bobbyss

Dunnes Terryland opens today Sat 03 March at 1pm.

I have to imagine shops will be unpleasantly mobbed as we all come to an end of our bread stockpile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭dilallio

Are the Bus Eireann City buses running today? Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,416 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

dilallio wrote: »
    Are the Bus Eireann City buses running today? Thanks

I saw a 403 in service earlier this morning, so I presume so yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭smurf492

Absolute insanity in knocknacarra dunnes and aldi... And not a Collerans sausage to be had in Joyce's :)

After being cooped up while the rest of the family had time off I had to venture out today. Roads were grand including the estate, went to Knocknacarra Aldi and it wasn't as bad as Joyce's on thurs but well busy and not much in stock:

u1CvnD3m.jpg
    produce

zHtYsV5m.jpg
    bread

Yer man there said it would get stocked with produce and meats in the morning but it was likely to sell out quickly.

I'm guessing it will take to Tues/Wed before we get back to normal. At least now its warm enough my cooker works w/o having to tip the kettle over the gas bottle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭Cheshire Cat

Wow :eek:

Haven't been to the shops since Wednesday, only thing we have run out of is coffee but we have plenty of tea.
    Think I will wait until Monday before I chance it.

No cabin fever yet, the dogs were walked every single day :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭MenloPete

Any daily papers delivered yet? Need my Irish Times Weekend :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭Accountsplus

From Irish Times
    “The Irish Times is giving readers free mobile and tablet access to both the Friday and Saturday ePaper, which is a complete digital replica of the print edition.

This is because the severe weather means The Irish Times had been unable to complete deliveries of its print edition to retail outlets nationwide.

Readers can access the ePaper by downloading The Irish Times ePaper app at the App Store for IOS and Google play for Android.

On first use, readers will be prompted to enter the voucher code irishtimesemma to read the paper as printed. (The code should be entered in the relevant space after clicking the “sign in” tab in the dropdown menu.)”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,276 ✭✭✭bobbyss

Was in Dunnes Knocknacarra yesterday and was surprised to hear from an employee there that they probably would have salmon there today. And fresh bread too. I though there would be no fresh supplies of anything until Monday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,961 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

How well are the City supermarkets stocked now ?

Aldi in Knocknacarra was nearly back to normal. I went around 11 as they guy mentioned stock may run low by the end of the day. Plenty of produce and bread back in stock. However they didn't have any 2l or 3l milk but that could have changed by now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,399 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

Discodog wrote: »
    How well are the City supermarkets stocked now ?

Tesco was empty of almost all fresh food.