Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Neglected dog

• 28-02-2018 10:05pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭

Hi I have two male dogs, they have a little friend who’s practically moved in with me since 2016. She’s outside when I get up and she’s outside when I go to bed. I have no issue with her spending her day with my boys but it’s not fair that she’s clearly hungry and has nowhere of her own to sleep at night.

The past two years a huge problem I’ve had with them is she’s not neutered and when she’s in heat she spends her time at my house. She has every day in the area down on top of her. My dogs are very placid but they get territorial and rowdy with strange dogs on the property and this has cost me money bringing my dog to the vet.

My vet is aware of the dogs situation and says she can’t neuter her because she’s not mine.

Only on Thursday last week I told her owner I wasn’t having this chat with her again, come and get her she’s distressed, and if I see her in distress I’ll be contacting the pound. They read it but ignored it.

It’s heavy snow outside, I can just about open my door as the snow is about 5 inches high. This tiny dogs sitting outside my door howling to get in. Like I said, I’ve two dogs and keeping the third is not an option. I relented and let her in because I fear she wouldn’t make it through the night.

I’m at the end of my rope. I love the dog but can’t keep her. I am afraid that the pound will put her to sleep. My boys love her. Her owners don’t care and I can’t have her on my floor she’s probably pregnant too after last week as well.

Please advise

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,790 Mod ✭✭✭✭DBB

Jeez op... That's awful. The poor little thing. I'm glad to hear you've brought her in tonight.
    What part of the country are you in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Offaly, update.
    Guards ended up being called tonight. Told the owners I had her tonight and would be surrendering her to the pound in the am. Ended up with a confrontational scene at my door whereby her her sister and her husband arrived at my door demanding her dog back and kicking and banging my door. Person I live with handed the dog back. The dog didn’t want to leave my house. Her owners were calling her and she wouldn’t move from my dogs bed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,230 ✭✭✭jaxxx

Offaly, update.
    Guards ended up being called tonight. Told the owners I had her tonight and would be surrendering her to the pound in the am. Ended up with a confrontational scene at my door whereby her her sister and her husband arrived at my door demanding her dog back and kicking and banging my door. Person I live with handed the dog back. The dog didn’t want to leave my house. Her owners were calling her and she wouldn’t move from my dogs bed

That's nothing short of abuse. Our dogs usually sleep in a heated shed, but given how bad the weather's supposed to get we have them sleeping in the house for the next few days. Garda useless as per usual, have you contacted the ISPCA? Leaving a dog out with the weather we're supposed to get is disgusting. Fair play for taking her in, but with everything you've described, that's nothing short of neglect on their part. No dog deserves a home where they're treated with such little care, or practically none as far as this case goes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 849 ✭✭✭Tenigate

Op, the dog's not your property. You had no right to do what you did. Too late to call the dog warden now so you'll likely have to wait til Monday.

Tenigate wrote: »
    Op, the dog's not your property. You had no right to do what you did. Too late to call the dog warden now so you'll likely have to wait til Monday.

Not my property but has been on my property for two years bringing stray males into my property for two years eating food that I buy for two years scratching and whining at my door for two years sitting outside my door tonight in the snow crying with the cold since yesterday, a full 24 hours without being removed. I’ve made numerous requests to the owner of the property to remove their property which have fallen on deaf ears until tonight when the dog was to be handed into pound in morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 849 ✭✭✭Tenigate

Not my property but has been on my property for two years

This was your own doing.

Tenigate, please stop trying to cause an argument.
    Thanks,
    DBB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,581 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

A dog isn't anyone's f*****g property. It's a living breathing thing with feelings and like OP said it's freezing outside. Have a f*****g heart ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,230 ✭✭✭jaxxx

This was your own doing.

What the hell is wrong with you? The owners leave the poor thing outside when a severe weather warning is in effect, op brings the dog inside to stop the poor creature from freezing to death and yet you're blaming op? The owners have no right to have a dog if they cannot care for it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭One_Of_Shanks

Op, the dog's not your property.

The OP is well aware of that.

Sure if it was then there wouldnt be an issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭PucaMama

A dog isn't anyone's f*****g property. It's a living breathing thing with feelings and like OP said it's freezing outside. Have a f*****g heart ffs.

My 4 dogs are happy healthy well loved dogs but they are still my property. It’s the law and I’m glad they are seen as my property by law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭Hoboo

Id have no problem repossessing someones 'property' in this instance, if and when they produce a dog license and microchip registration they can have them back. Otherwise, Id be keeping her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,581 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

PucaMama wrote: »
    My 4 dogs are happy healthy well loved dogs but they are still my property. It’s the law and I’m glad they are seen as my property by law.

Good job on taking my comments out of context :rolleyes:

Folks,
    Can I remind everyone at this point that it is a requirement of this forum that people post in a manner respectful of other posters.
    It's fine to disagree, but mind how you do so. It's all in the delivery.
    Thanks,
    DBB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,902 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Good job on taking my comments out of context :rolleyes:

I don't think he did tbh. You said that "a dog isn't anyone's f*****g property".
    He disagreed because, well respectfully, that's completely incorrect.

OP did a good thing by taking the poor thing in from the cold. But as soon as the owner turns up and asked for the dog back. They simply don't have the authority to do that, or to decide to hand somebody else dog to the pound.

Mellor wrote: »
    I don't think he did tbh. You said that "a dog isn't anyone's f*****g property".
    He disagreed because, well respectfully, that's completely incorrect.

OP did a good thing by taking the poor thing in from the cold. But as soon as the owner turns up and asked for the dog back. They simply don't have the authority to do that, or to decide to hand somebody else dog to the pound.
    Where does it stop though? The dog is a living being. I have a string of messages going back to 2016 asking them to come get their dog informing them their dog is distressed hungry or in last nights instance freezing to death. Had the threat of the pound not been an issue last night they wouldn’t even know or care I had her. Remember she was sitting on my property all day long, not once did they look for her. I feed the dog and lock her up on the regular when she’s in heat but she’s not allowed in my house and has never before been inside my house but that didn’t stop her from pawing scratching and howling my door yesterday to get in.
    I made contact with a local rescue at ten past six yesterday to see if they could find her somewhere to stay last night and I don’t live by myself and wasn’t allowed bring her in. I have time stamped photos of her on my property throughout the night as well as repeated requests in messages dating back years which mostly went ignored asking them and informing them of why I wanted the dog removed.

Last week I had enough with trying to negotiate with them. I told her last Wednesday night in a message that was ignored that this was the last time I was going to have this conversation the dogs distressed the dogs hungry the dogs on my property for days at this stage. I took the dog and locked her in shed because the male dogs wouldn’t leave her alone. I told them to come and get her. The message was read but they never did.

Last night enough was enough. The snow was high enough to engulf the dog, she’d been left out all the night before and was in distress all day on my property. I make no apology for the fact I’ve taken the dog they’ve had two years of me being more than fair and doing more than my responsibility to ensure the safety and well-being of the dog. If I see her today - and to be honest I’m only waiting for her to come to my door, I’ll do the exact same as I did last night. I will take her in and contact the pound. I’ll be making a statement with the Gardai too, and lodging a complaint with the ispca. I’m at the end of my rope with them mistreating and abusing/neglecting a defenseless animal.

Where does it stop though? The dog is a living being.
    Where does what stop? I'm pointing out you don't have the power to seize somebody's dog. I'm not defending the owners.

The time to call somebody with the power to do something was months or years ago if things are as you say. The dog warden or the ISPCA or some other official line. You don't have the authority and guards at obviously going to side with the owners when called out.

Where does what stop? I'm pointing out you don't have the power to seize somebody's dog. I'm not defending the owners.

The time to call somebody with the power to do something was months or years ago if things are as you say. The dog warden or the ISPCA or some other official line. You don't have the authority and guards at obviously going to side with the owners when called out.

In normal weather Id contact the ISPCA, but in this weather, not a hope. Too late to follow protocol and desperate times require desperate measures. Unless they produce a dog license and microchip cert, as required by law, they don't own the dog, its a stray. Highly unlikely they have either by the sounds of it. Best of luck getting the gardai out before Saturday. Hopefully if and when the ISPCA call a fine and repossession happen.

Hoboo wrote: »
    In normal weather Id contact the ISPCA, but in this weather, not a hope. Too late to follow protocol and desperate times require desperate measures. Unless they produce a dog license and microchip cert, as required by law, they don't own the dog, its a stray. Highly unlikely they have either by the sounds of it. Best of luck getting the gardai out before Saturday.
    The OP knows they are the owners, contacted them to let them know about the dog. Not sure that they could plausibly deny that after texting during the week. The guards were out on the night according to the post above.
    If the goal was to get the dog to a shelter, would have been better off not letting the owners know what was happening. As soon as they were there along with the guards, there's little to stand on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,293 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Is it neglect to leave a large dog outdoors in a kennel in this weather?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭cocker5

Is it neglect to leave a large dog outdoors in a kennel in this weather?

If you need to ask .. you already know the answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,293 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

cocker5 wrote: »
    If you need to ask .. you already know the answer.

So would the DSPCA take action?

The OP knows they are the owners, contacted them to let them know about the dog. Not sure that they could plausibly deny that after texting during the week. The guards were out on the night according to the post above.
    If the goal was to get the dog to a shelter, would have been better off not letting the owners know what was happening. As soon as they were there along with the guards, there's little to stand on.

Too late for would haves. You wouldn't get a Garda last night. Or tonight. Or tomorrow night. And they still wouldn't produce the papers. Dog is warm and safe till Saturday at least, deal with it then. Just my opinion, not literal advice :)