Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Diesel cars - Prime Time tonight

• 22-02-2018 9:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭
    M

Diesel cars tonight on Prime Time, was described as the great diesel swindle in the intro, might be of interest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭Cannon_fodder

Will watch with interest, now that we have a diesel free household.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,395 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

What will they do bring the price down of petrol to same as diesel to encourage sales of petrol cars?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

SCOOP 64 wrote: »
    What will they do bring the price down of petrol to same as diesel to encourage sales of petrol cars?

Apparently from todays news the view was best to raise the duty on diesel up to the price of petrol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Apparently from todays news the view was best to raise the duty on diesel up to the price of petrol.

Plus the tax???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

When ye need subtitles for Mattie McGrath....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,395 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

Yeah i know just abit of Sarcasm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Yet there are piss poor tax breaks/exemptions on EV's as it stands

It's just a massive tax grab.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,987 ✭✭✭mikeym

Drive up inflation by hiking up the price of Diesel smart move.

Dont forget the delivery trucks dont run on fresh air and the public transport is a joke as it is.

Those crustys who support the increase in the taxation of Diesel fuel are away with the fairies.

M

The Gormley fecker, no sign of him lately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,987 ✭✭✭mikeym

Wasnt it the Fianna Fail/Green Party coalition that made Diesel cars more attractive to buy?

M

One step would be to check DPF's have not been removed when cars are NCT'd.

M

Eh all cars are imported.

M

No mention of VW, probably because they sponsor lots of RTE shows.

M

Well that was a complete load of sheite.

mikeym wrote: »

Dont forget the delivery trucks dont run on fresh air and the public transport is a joke as it is.

This argument is flawed.
    They already keep records of the fuel they buy so they "could" be given a tax break or rebate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,908 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Trucks need diesel, they won't allow more tax on fuel.
    They could increase the length of truck and trailers though,60ft , same weights. It would get a lot of trucks off the road. Two trucks can then deliver those 3 truck loads of Cornflakes. Way too many trucks on Irish roads delivering light material, those with light loads need longer trailers, would eliminate 1000's of trucks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

This argument is flawed. They already keep records of the fuel they buy so they "could" be given a tax break or rebate.

I can't see the government doing this. They are no longer allowed to charge VAT on the M50. They did not change the price so commercial vehicles are now paying 23 percent more. Price stayed the same but they no longer claim 23 percent back. I drive a van & it costs me around 30 euro per month extra in tolls. Not the end of the world but haulage companies are being hit for 1000s per month. I can't see this government giving a tax break

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,323 ✭✭✭MarkN

Pretty sure I heard today that if they did increase diesel to match petrol the total cost would be up 22% pretty much overnight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

MarkN wrote:
    Pretty sure I heard today that if they did increase diesel to match petrol the total cost would be up 22% pretty much overnight.

Petrol is about 10 percent more than diesel. Making them the same has to be 10 percent not 22 percent. Or maybe I'm missing something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    Petrol is about 10 percent more than diesel. Making them the same has to be 10 percent not 22 percent. Or maybe I'm missing something

Diesel has a higher base cost before taxes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭firstlight

Scrap car tax and il pay extra 10 cent on diesel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,470 ✭✭✭JoeA3

It was a load of absolute sh1t... dumbed down crap for the masses. And to cap it all, they brought in the motoring “expert” from the Indo. :rolleyes: Conor Faughnan must be otherwise indisposed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,292 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Trucks need diesel, they won't allow more tax on fuel.
    They could increase the length of truck and trailers though,60ft , same weights. It would get a lot of trucks off the road. Two trucks can then deliver those 3 truck loads of Cornflakes. Way too many trucks on Irish roads delivering light material, those with light loads need longer trailers, would eliminate 1000's of trucks.

Pity they ran the rail freight network into the ground. I remember a time when there used to be a crane loading and unloading freight trains in Mallow. Now that's all gone with the bows and arrows because road transport is apparently more modern

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,838 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Pity they ran the rail freight network into the ground. I remember a time when there used to be a crane loading and unloading freight trains in Mallow. Now that's all gone with the bows and arrows because road transport is apparently more modern

In a small country with a smallish population, and no shortage of ports next to the main population centres trains just can't compete with road transport...

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭vandriver

Sleeper12 wrote: »

You are missing something!
    The ESRI called for a 22% rise on the duty,currently at 47c.
    22% of 47c is 10c.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭testicles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

They do this and it might be another final straw like the water taxes, so many sold a pup and then to be punished for it, again. No appetite for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

testicles wrote: »

5 grand off an already inflated price !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭maidhc

MarkN wrote: »

Wait until they need to replace the funds into the exchequer from fuel duty.

I assume we will be looking at a gps pay per play system in each car.

M

I suppose from a government point of view the importation of used diesel cars gives them nice VRT money to offset the cheap tax so they don't want it to stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

vicwatson wrote: »
    They do this and it might be another final straw

?? There cannot be "yet another final straw" - the final straw is the last, by definition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 544 ✭✭✭SBPhoto

I suppose from a government point of view the importation of used diesel cars gives them nice VRT money to offset the cheap tax so they don't want it to stop.
    There is no such thing as a cheap tax, a tax is a tax, not much difference between tax on new petrol and diesels cars now anyhow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,292 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Markcheese wrote: »
    In a small country with a smallish population, and no shortage of ports next to the main population centres trains just can't compete with road transport...

Yet there's loads of lorries making their way up and down the M8 every day.
    Those lorries aren't paying the true cost of the wear they put on the road network either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

firstlight wrote: »
    Scrap car tax and il pay extra 10 cent on diesel

Even scrapping motor tax and upping the price by 20 cent is a better solution in my opinion.

It's fairer in the sense that those causing the most 'pollution', pay the most.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭BillyBobBS

Caliden wrote: »
    Even scrapping motor tax and upping the price by 20 cent is a better solution in my opinion.

It's fairer in the sense that those causing the most 'pollution', pay the most.

It's the sensible solution, so it will never happen here.

The more you drive the more you pay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 591 ✭✭✭NBar

But are diesel owners/drivers still not getting a great deal if fuel is the same price as the get more miles per km and road tax is not being affected. So what’s the issue

Look no matter what someone will always have a moan anyway
    I drive a diesel because it makes sence,I drive alot of miles
    800 miles for 70 litres of diesel
    Most people pay enough for fuel,road tax,insurance,ncts as it is and with insurance companies pulling random astronomical figures out of the sky and refusing perfectly roadworthy cars where does the circus end

Their squeezing every last penny out of people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,127 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

just listened to that bull**** there, Miriam asking "will diesel owners be compensated" LOL compensated? they have been paying a hell of a lot less than they should have been for years, its like asking, will the government charge them for undercharging for years of cheaper than it should be fuel and motor tax! Compensated! do they give a **** about the damage they are doing to our health? Im sure they couldnt have educated themselves on that though before worrying about a few euro in motor tax a year, when the rubbish tractor engined car they have bough is losing thousands a year!

firstlight wrote: »
    800 miles for 70 litres of diesel

Its over 13 years since we changed to km

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,029 ✭✭✭Sabre Man

vicwatson wrote: »
    5 grand off an already inflated price !

You also need to consider the vastly lower running costs.

Its over 13 years since we changed to km

1288 Kilometres
    My Clock is in miles

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

NBar wrote: »
    But are diesel owners/drivers still not getting a great deal if fuel is the same price as the get more miles per km and road tax is not being affected. So what’s the issue

More miles per kilometre?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,367 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

testicles wrote: »

Not having to pay 14% VRT, which when compared to 14% of a small petrol, is a joke? Cars are stupidly expensive in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭FR85

BillyBobBS wrote: »
    It's the sensible solution, so it will never happen here.

The more you drive the more you pay.

I can see taxi drivers (who own the roads by the way) getting up in arms if that came in. And to be fair they should be paying a lot more then they are!