Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wicklow Hospice half marathon

• 22-02-2018 10:17am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29

i'm doing the Wicklow Hospice half marathon this weekend.
    I've done DCM and a half marathon before but this will be my first time doing any kind of trail race (i think it's 50% road, 50% trail). Anyone done it?
    Hopefully the weather won't be as bad as is forecast!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,537 ✭✭✭The Davestator

i'm doing the Wicklow Hospice half marathon this weekend.
    I've done DCM and a half marathon before but this will be my first time doing any kind of trail race (i think it's 50% road, 50% trail). Anyone done it?
    Hopefully the weather won't be as bad as is forecast!

I was staying in the area last year and headed down to avondale for a run - more and more people started to run 'with' me before i realised i was in the middle of an event!

Lovely route and I am strongly considering doing the event on Sat. Weather looks ok at the moment - dry and cold. Few little hills, but nothing too bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 backofthepack

Thanks Davestator, i was afraid i'd inadvertently signed up for a mountain run

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭and still ricky villa

I found this after a lot of digging. It's 2 laps. Not PB material but it should be good
    http://www.mapmyrun.com/routes/fullscreen/1316395003/

Drove down and did the half marathon on Sat. Lovely day for it once we were moving as it was very cold.

Tough enough course with about half on trails and half on the road. Lots of hills so a really good training run.
    Think there was about 100 in the half with more in the 5k and 10k.

Nice event with a big spread after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭and still ricky villa

I enjoyed it too
    I'd a very respectable time considering some of the cruel hills. The 2nd lap up through the forest was especially 'fun'

Nicest cup of tea I've had post race too!

I enjoyed it too
    I'd a very respectable time considering some of the cruel hills. The 2nd lap up through the forest was especially 'fun'

Nicest cup of tea I've had post race too!

Fair play. Was happy with my time too due to the course. Loved the trail part, but the hill out of the park and to the left on the second lap was brutal! Clung on to some lads from Tinahealy Tri club.

Didnt hang around for anything as i wanted to get home for the rugby!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 backofthepack

I really enjoyed the run on Saturday although it was probably the hardest course I've ever run!
    The hills were tough but beautiful scenery and a nice change from my normal training routes.
    I got a pb but i think that says more about my previous half marathon time!
    Gorgeous medal too, they should increase the price a little and add in a t-shirt and i'd say numbers would increase.
    I'd definitely go back next year, although maybe only for the 10k!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭py

For anyone that has done this, are the trails technical or just a gravel path?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,433 ✭✭✭sideswipe

py wrote: »
    For anyone that has done this, are the trails technical or just a gravel path?

Not technical at all. Some of it is on the road, the parts in the forrest are decent underfoot. Theres a park run on that section every week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭The Noble Nudge

Looks interesting..
    Avondale park is a lovely spot from memory Parnells museum place?

sideswipe wrote: »
    Not technical at all. Some of it is on the road, the parts in the forrest are decent underfoot. Theres a park run on that section every week.

Thanks for that. Do you think road shoes would be sufficient or trail shoes would be better?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,433 ✭✭✭sideswipe

py wrote: »
    Thanks for that. Do you think road shoes would be sufficient or trail shoes would be better?

Yeah road shoes all the way, best of luck with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 kukkanen

I run in Avondale all the time, couldn't find a better place to be. Road shoes absolutely fine, the trail part of the run is nice and as someone said, is part of the parkrun route too. No technical sections, all suitable for all levels of runners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭Sheep1978

Signed up for this today and jumped on to ask the same questions as above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭6run28

Anyone got an idea how is the course holding up with all the bad weather? Im 50/50 on wearing trail runners

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Working class heroes

6run28 wrote: »
    Anyone got an idea how is the course holding up with all the bad weather? Im 50/50 on wearing trail runners

‘Tis grand.

Racism is now hiding behind the cloak of Community activism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭6run28

‘Tis grand.

Twas grand.

Twas tough!!

Twas an enjoyable course with the exception of the main road. Spread at the end was great. Will definitely consider going back if it fits in to next year's schedule.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭R.F.

Really enjoyed it. Lovely spot

Shame it wasnt chip timed though

I did a 10 miler there last summer and I think that was?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 987 ✭✭✭oinkely

Great event as always. Less hills than i seem to remember from the last few times i did it. Possibly a side effect of more mountain running in recent years!

Didn't miss the chip timing personally, started my watch when we started and it corresponded pretty closely to the clock time. From a charity point of view I'm happy to see more of my money going to the Hospice and not have chip timing, just personal preference.

Big well done and thanks to the organisers of the event, great the cake, sandwiches and biscuits went down a treat afterwards.