Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mondeo

• 16-02-2018 7:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭

some advice please,brother is looking at buying a ford mondeo around 152 reg,was looking at some uk cars,seems good value,high spec,mileage around 70-80 thousand,would he be better off buying here,or importing,he wants to keep this car for a good few years,so reliability is important,thanks all,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Definitely look in the UK. If the buyer is any way used to a bit of power, then overlook the 1.5 TDCI. it’s adequate but very slow off the mark, it’s grand when it’s up to speed.
    I’d aim for the 2.0 TDCI. There should be loads of ex lease cars in the UK. Over here it’s 70:30 between 1.5 and 2.0 but I’d assume in the uk there are more 2.0. Get one with parking sensors as they’re quite a bulky yoke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

You will have to compare prices here with what you can import one from the UK for plus VRT but there will definately be a saving and there will be a wider choice over there especially in higher spec models. 2.0 TDCi Titanium is what you should be aiming for.

You’d get low mileage 15 reg ones from around €14.5 landed including travel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,719 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

We bought from this guy a few years ago and would buy again without hesitation.

http://www.kccarsales.ie/vehicles/ford/mondeo/meath/1953027

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭sniperman

thanks lads for posts,was looking at a few 141 reg with around 80,000 miles,seems good value,was wondering should we be concrened with things going wrong such as clutch going,bushings,engine parts etc,brother wants to invest in one that wont give trouble for a while,so is 80,000 miles etc mean there's a lot of ware and tear,on above mentioned site,(thanks,brian)thare is a nice 141 white mondeo 89,500 odd miles on it,would this be a good buy for reliability etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

A 2014 model will be the old model that was launched back in 2007. The new model from 2015 is a much better car.

OmegaGene wrote: »
    Bill griffin is another importer I was contemplating
    He sells loads of cars, don’t know much about the dealership itself but the cars seem okay and decently priced

I wouldn’t