Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Masters or Postgrad in educational Leadership???

Options
  • 14-02-2018 1:02am
    Registered Users Posts: 166 ✭✭

Hi Guys

I am a secondary teacher and I will be doing a course next year in educational Leadership with the aim of one day moving into school management.

My question is whether I should do the postgrad course available in Maynooth or go straight for a masters. Both are level 9 qualifications so my understanding is that they are both worth the same when it comes to getting points towards getting an interview.

My wonder is whether a masters has any advantages at the interview stage or then does it just comes down to other criteria.

From my research, after doing the post grad, it's only 20 credits off when carrying on to do a full masters so I don't know if I would do this route.

It seems like one or the other for me at the minute. I know the masters is better but is it 5000 and an extra year better.

Interested in all opinions and particularly people already in management roles.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭SligoBrewer

I hope you change your username.

• Registered Users Posts: 166 ✭✭paulisagayboy

I hope you change your username.

That's my actual name

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

If you have a feeling that the school want you in that career path then they mightn't be too picky about a postgrad vs' masters. You could just be blatant about it and ask your principal/deputy what they would advise!! at least it'll show them you're keen to help out.