Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cattle in a Van?

• 09-02-2018 10:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭

Hi

Are you allowed to carry a few small weanlings (250kg) in the back of a large transit van . . I mean like actually in the Van?

Is there anything to say it's illegal???

Badly stuck to go to the Mart and my cowbox is laid up!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭kay 9

If this isn't a joke; can't see why not if there's a bulkhead for your own safety. Be in some mess afterwards though.
    Any chance of borrowing a neighbours livestock box?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Farmer

Bulkhead or not, I'd be hopiing it's uphill all the way :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,287 ✭✭✭mikeecho

There might be something about having an unsecured load.. I'm not sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭abnormalnorman

No joke. Ya, a big van with full partition between back and front. I could nail a few lats of timber to floor for grip for them.

Wonder is it legal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭Centrepassage

Should be fine but about 6 weeks early . Would look the part heading off to the Mart on April 1 . Heard major crackdown on farm safety over the next month. You would need a ramp on the van or is it wheelchair accessible 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,182 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Clue is in the OP's username, me thinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,511 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Hi

Are you allowed to carry a few small weanlings (250kg) in the back of a large transit van . . I mean like actually in the Van?

Is there anything to say it's illegal???

Badly stuck to go to the Mart and my cowbox is laid up!.
    There is legislation in place regarding the transport of animals for commercial purposes but it excludes farmers transporting their own animals within 65km from their base. However there is additional legislation that covers the general transportation of livestock/animals be it farm to farm, farm to mart etc. It clearly states that the vehicle used is designed, constructed, maintained and operated in a way to avoid injury, suffering and ensure the safety of the animals. See attached links
    Commercial type transport - https://www.agriculture.gov.ie/animaltransport/
    General conditions for the transport of animals - https://www.agriculture.gov.ie/media/migration/animalhealthwelfare/transportofliveanimals/GeneralConditionsforthetransportofanimals.pdf
    I use the van to bring sick calves to our Vet. The payload area would be well bedded with straw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭White Clover

Nail a few lats to the floor.........good idea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,775 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

We had an estate car years ago, often saw a few sucks in the back from the mart.
    We had a square of canvas for the bottom and then some straw in on that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,775 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭boardsuser1

I write this with zero knowledge of the area, purely my 2c worth.

A few months ago here in the city I spotted a Citroen Berlingo with 3 young calves in the back, all were tagged and looking out the back window.

The back arches were close to rubbing the tyres.

For a short distance we were both heading in the same direction (N20) and the vehicle had a CE reg.

Not impossible that it was making a journey of that distance.

It was a Sunday and lashing out of the heavens which was a tad dangerous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Op, bear with me as I'm just spit balling here.
    Would it be a crazy idea to ask a neighbour or friend borrow their trailer for the day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,126 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

Op , make sure to wedge a good thick plank of timber between the back doors and the bumper, just in case like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭einn32

I did hear of a transit backing into the unloading pens in a mart and a bullock jumped out. No partition, just a piece of wavin if he tried to get into the front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭Hoboo

einn32 wrote: »
    just a piece of wavin if he tried to get into the front.

Few boys in Dublin could use a few lengths of Wavin up their jackets.........seen as its bullock proof.

*Ill get me coat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,328 ✭✭✭tanko

No borher OP pack them in. I have a transit here. Ive often put eight weanlings in the back, tied another six on the roof rack and put the three quietest ones on the passanger seat strapoed in with the seat belts. I feed them a few nuts and let them pick whatever music they like on the radio to keep them sweet on the way to the mart. Ive been doing this for years and never had a problem.

Allowing the cattle to pick the music on the radio is just a step too far for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,441 ✭✭✭have2flushtwice

Back around 2010 there was a bit of rough land accrss from me in a housing estate. There were horses in it. Two young lads turned up a liteace or similar, caught a small horse and tried to.load him up.. this was father Ted stuff watching it. One lad beating the arse off the horse one minute, then trying to coax him.with a bucket the next. Back and forth, all the time the other Mod edit ' Very dignified gentleman' in the front seat trying to pull him in with a rope!! In the end one lad went walking with the horse and the other lad drove. I enjoyed having my lunch at home that day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Could be the way to go to beat the trailer regs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,726 ✭✭✭maidhc

Allowing the cattle to pick the music on the radio is just a step too far for me.

Hay Wrap by the Saw Doctors would be on repeat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,163 ✭✭✭Who2

I know a lad that put 22 Whitehead heifers in the back of a Hiace one day. I put 16 Calves in an iveco daily and never again. The stink of them for weeks after, I reckon they scoured into every bit of the back of it even though I’d thrown an old carpet across the floor and up the sides.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Brought 3 calves to the mart 3 weeks ago in the trooper, there's mesh between the seats and the back. They done well afterwards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,106 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

When is this being released?

Samuel L Jackson was good in "Snakes on a Plane" but I reckon this will be better.

When is this being released?

Samuel L Jackson was good in "Snakes on a Plane" but I reckon this will be better.

Ha . . . . Very good!

einn32 wrote: »
    I did hear of a transit backing into the unloading pens in a mart and a bullock jumped out. No partition, just a piece of wavin if he tried to get into the front.

Electric fence maybe . . . .two strands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Electric fence maybe . . . .two strands.

Going to play havoc with the radio reception.

Tic
    Tic
    Tic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,126 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

A pal of mine has some great childhood memories of buying calves with his Dad and a neighbour and bringing them back to Kildare in a VW van with him sitting over the engine in the back surrounded by calves.
    One story he has of them on the way home from Kilmallock stopping in Tipp town for dinner and the mandatory few pints on a very frosty evening, when they came out from the grub the van was very noticeable on the street with a fog of steam from the dozen calves coming out of the two front windows which were left half open, and a Garda trying to look in through the fogged up back window, when the Garda drove off they did likewise only to be stopped by the same lad up the street, all he wanted to know was what the calf trade was like and wished them safe home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 685 ✭✭✭keepalive213

This is the best thread I've seen in ages, I'm killed laughing here. During the summer I myself saw a miniature pony emerging from an old Audi A4. In my youth I also witnessed a very small woman doing bull calls with the bull in the back of a van, she would also often have her special needs son with her.

Muckit wrote: »
    Could be the way to go to beat the trailer regs!

. . .That's a fact !

Should be fine but about 6 weeks early . Would look the part heading off to the Mart on April 1 . Heard major crackdown on farm safety over the next month. You would need a ramp on the van or is it wheelchair accessible 😂

I'll hunt them out the back. As long as they wudnt hit there knees off the towbar . .. . . A sore thing .

This is the best thread I've seen in ages, I'm killed laughing here. In my youth I also witnessed a very small woman doing bull calls with the bull in the back of a van, she would also often have her special needs son with her.

Was it a Citroen Bull n Go by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

• Closed Accounts Posts: 685 ✭✭✭keepalive213

Good one 😠it was bright yellow van, the make of which I do not know, ah the mists of time....!

Good name for her business too:)

Pallet
    bit a plastic
    sop of straw
    Be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 cashcow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 607 ✭✭✭larthehar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭coolshannagh28

Puts me in mind of an old smuggler in our country who drew pigs in an old bedford van till one night a boar started hoking in the rusty floor , eventually hit the driveshaft with unfortunate consequences for boar , driver and van.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭kerry cow

I was driving down a road one day and a fiat uno approached with a single bale handler on the bonnet and tied onto both wiper linkages , thought I'd seen it all !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,726 ✭✭✭maidhc

Seat INCAlf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

Guilty of it here too, sure it's handy to save C/O charge for the vets. Was getting groceries in the shop one time with the wee calf in the back and chatting to someone in the next car when the calf let out a baa. His face was priceless :D

pTkPYVDl.jpg