Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Public Drinking

• 09-02-2018 6:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭

Settle an argument... A long time ago I was led to believe that the rules on public drinking meant that you could drink alcohol within a foot of a pavement. Thinking about it that might be limited to immediately outside a public house. My mates all insist it's codswallop.

Who's right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

I think that is also bollocks. I don't actually know mind, but it sounds like some rubbish someone makes ups to justify drinking in public or to think they're hilariously weird cos they know such odd facts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

pajopearl wrote: »
    you could drink alcohol within a foot of a pavement. ..... outside a public house.

If you're within a foot of the pavement...but not on the pavement

Well...then you'd be on the road no?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 415 ✭✭falinn merking

wexie wrote: »
    If you're within a foot of the pavement...but not on the pavement

Well...then you'd be on the road no?

Or the ditch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

Pretty crap drinking conversation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,516 ✭✭✭Wheety

You can do what you want, when you want. If a member of the organisation known as Garda Síochána say anything to you, all you have to say is that the laws of the land don't apply to you as you never agreed to them.

Ain't nothing they can do. Apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,841 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Jaysus. That'd be fierce awkward altogether.

Having to lie down on the footpath to have a drink. Wouldn't even be able to kneel or sit down and still be within a foot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,841 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Wheety wrote: »
    You can do what you want, when you want. If a member of the organisation known as Garda Síochána say anything to you, all you have to say is that the laws of the land don't apply to you as you never agreed to them.

Tell them all about your oaths

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Wheety wrote: »

Reminds me of yer one who had herself convinced that being an "Article Four Free Inhabitant" (whatever tf that is) exempt you from laws :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

Bush drinking with buckfast, no one could see you! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,763 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Noveight wrote: »
    Reminds me of yer one who had herself convinced that being an "Article Four Free Inhabitant" (whatever tf that is) exempt you from laws :pac:

Gotta love the way she went from being an article four free inhabitant and not subject to State laws to suddenly claiming to be under the protection of said State laws in under two minutes.

Would be interested to know how this turned out.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭Panjandrums

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭Klinkhammer

As far as I know there is no law against drinking in public but if a Garda asks you to stop you have to stop. I think different councils have their own rules though.

Either way it's certainly not something the Gards enforce in Dublin City centre unless you're acting the bollix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,998 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

Funny video, but why is it captioned "crazy feminist arrested"? No evidence of, or mention of, feminism at all. The woman is quite obviously part of the Sovereign Citizen movement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭ollaetta

As far as I know there is no law against drinking in public but if a Garda asks you to stop you have to stop. I think different councils have their own rules though.

Either way it's certainly not something the Gards enforce in Dublin City centre unless you're acting the bollix.

Clearly they're not enforced but there are Intoxicating Liquor Bye-Laws in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Given there are next to no gardai on the beat you can do pretty much whatever you want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,998 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

ollaetta wrote: »
    Clearly they're not enforced but there are Intoxicating Liquor Bye-Laws in Dublin.
    They're, um, selectively enforced. If your behaviour or even presence in the street is causing a problem or giving rise to offence or concern, the guards can use the fact that you are drinking as a trigger for moving you on. But if there's no problem, there's no problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭Klinkhammer

ollaetta wrote: »

Set by the council. Its not the law everywhere. As I said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Peregrinus wrote: »
    They're, um, selectively enforced. If your behaviour or even presence in the street is causing a problem or giving rise to offence or concern, the guards can use the fact that you are drinking as a trigger for moving you on. But if there's no problem, there's no problem.

That's my experience of the Garda. If you're not being a nuisance or flaunting it, they're ok. I remember one Stephens Day myself and my friends were walking down the road to Leopardstown Races with cans in hand. A Garda stopped us and said "I seen you a mile away. If you pretended to hide the cans, I wouldn't have bothered stopping. Pour them out".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

Just let people drink on the street if they want ffs

But have it against the law to be dangerously drunk or a public nuisance.

Enforce that. Not drinking in public.

Numerous times I've seen guards make people pour out their drink for drinking in a park

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Chrongen

Police can be funny like that. Myself, the gf and 2 mates were in Edinburgh once for the day visiting. Went to several pubs, castle etc. Six nations was on that day too. Anyway, time came to take the train back to friend's gaff about 10pm and we got some cans in the station and the girls got some little bottles of wine. Headed to the barriers to get on the train.

It should be noted that this train was a "dry train", i.e. no booze allowed. A police officer approached us and noting the plastic bags with our beverages inside said "Ye cannae take that on the train. Nay alcohol allowed". So I said to the girlfriend, "ok, take it back to the shop and see if we can return it". At this point the cop points to my girlfriend's rucksack and said "See, if yer cans were in there, ah would nae be able tae see them, would I?".
    "I see your point officer" says I. GF goes back to the shop, stuffs the bag of booze in her rucky and then comes back. Policeman nods and wishes us a goodnight and we board the train. Train takes off and we crack open a tinny like all the other punters and have a sing-song on the way back to Glassgee :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Chrongen

That's my experience of the Garda. If you're not being a nuisance or flaunting it, they're ok. I remember one Stephens Day myself and my friends were walking down the road to Leopardstown Races with cans in hand. A Garda stopped us and said "I seen you a mile away. If you pretended to hide the cans, I wouldn't have bothered stopping. Pour them out".

Double-edged sword though. If you attempt to hide the cans that's announcing that you know that what you're doing is illegal and the cop has you by the balls. If you make no attempt to hide it then this can be construed as you thinking what you are doing is perfectly alright. Cops in Amsterdam saw me trying to conceal a beer that I was drinking while sitting on a wall waiting for a friend one hot afternoon. Came over and said "we saw that. you know you can't do that" I apologised and said I was aware and asked if they needed to see my ID in order to issue a fine. They said, no it was ok and one cop said that the next cop on patrol was a strict bastard and would have ticketed me so it was my lucky day...just throw it in the bin.
    On other occasions I've walked along with a can and a cop has seen me and ignored it.

It's a weird one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Chrongen wrote: »
    Police can be funny like that. Myself, the gf and 2 mates were in Edinburgh once for the day visiting. Went to several pubs, castle etc. Six nations was on that day too. Anyway, time came to take the train back to friend's gaff about 10pm and we got some cans in the station and the girls got some little bottles of wine. Headed to the barriers to get on the train.

It should be noted that this train was a "dry train", i.e. no booze allowed. A police officer approached us and noting the plastic bags with our beverages inside said "Ye cannae take that on the train. Nay alcohol allowed". So I said to the girlfriend, "ok, take it back to the shop and see if we can return it". At this point the cop points to my girlfriend's rucksack and said "See, if yer cans were in there, ah would nae be able tae see them, would I?".
    "I see your point officer" says I. GF goes back to the shop, stuffs the bag of booze in her rucky and then comes back. Policeman nods and wishes us a goodnight and we board the train. Train takes off and we crack open a tinny like all the other punters and have a sing-song on the way back to Glassgee :p

Irvine Welsh has nothing on you.