Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Paying in a restaurant - is it optional?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

I don't think it's actually legally enforceable. There was a woman in Cambridge who kept doing it to the point she was barred from everywhere in town. Pure scummy behaviour really.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

8.—(1) Subject to subsection (2), a person who, knowing that payment on the spot for any goods obtained or any service done is required or expected, dishonestly makes off without having paid as required or expected and with the intention of avoiding payment on the spot is guilty of an offence.

(2) Subsection (1) shall not apply where the supply of the goods or the doing of the service is contrary to law or where the service done is such that payment is not legally enforceable.

(3) Subject to subsections (5) and (6), any person may arrest without warrant anyone who is or whom he or she, with reasonable cause, suspects to be in the act of committing an offence under this section.

(4) Where a member of the Garda Síochána, with reasonable cause, suspects that an offence under this section has been committed, he or she may arrest without warrant any person whom the member, with reasonable cause, suspects to be guilty of the offence.

(5) An arrest other than by a member of the Garda Síochána may be effected by a person under subsection (3) only where the person, with reasonable cause, suspects that the person to be arrested by him or her would otherwise attempt to avoid, or is avoiding, arrest by a member of the Garda Síochána.

(6) A person who is arrested pursuant to this section by a person other than a member of the Garda Síochána shall be transferred by that person into the custody of the Garda Síochána as soon as practicable.

(7) A person guilty of an offence under this section is liable on conviction on indictment to a fine not exceeding £3,000 or imprisonment for a term not exceeding 2 years or both.

Note the power of arrest is anyone, including the owner/manager.

That's here of course. English law may be different...

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

It seems it is not optional to pay.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

biko wrote: »
    It seems it is not optional to pay.

It kind of is. He knows it'd probably bankrupt the restaurant to take him to court. Hopefully he pulls his stunt somewhere with a rich owner.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,431 ✭✭✭Markcheese

I'm assuming that while you can "arrest" someone, you'd probably get into hot water for forcefully detaining someone if they tried to leave...

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭TallGlass

Markcheese wrote: »
    I'm assuming that while you can "arrest" someone, you'd probably get into hot water for forcefully detaining someone if they tried to leave...

Technically, they have the product literally in them but haven't paid for it. Shoplifting in a sense. :pac:

Markcheese wrote: »

You can use reasonable force to keep them there. Criminal damage is another one that isn't a typical 'arrestable offence' (which anyone has the power of arrest) where power of arrest is granted assuming you've a reasonable ground to think they will avoid the guards.

Note the dishonesty requirement though - should have said that in my first post, if someone is leaving their name and address they're probably not being dishonest, but that, and indeed the false imprisonment claim would be for the lawyers to make a few quid on.

So short answer, yes probably.

It kind of is. He knows it'd probably bankrupt the restaurant to take him to court. Hopefully he pulls his stunt somewhere with a rich owner.

I'd argue FWIW that knowing that and using words like 'sue me if you can afford to' could be taken to be trying to dishonestly avoid payment as he knows they won't sue.

Just musing - I like these :)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

He sounds like an a**hat.

jamesbere wrote: »
    He sounds like an a**hat.

Was probably expecting a happier ending...

... I'll get my coat.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

he would appear to be a loon

although £5 for 3 chicken wings is outrageous

• Registered Users Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

The last few lines sum up what a piece of **** the guy is.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,809 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

Thought the whole point of them coming over and asking "Is everything ok here/with your meal?" whilst you're eating it was to cover their ass, if you told them at the end you aren't paying..

That's what I was always told the question was about, anyway..

• Registered Users Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

Prior to 2001 it wasn't a criminal offense in this country. There was only maybe the Debtors Ireland Act at a stretch. Some lads were known to specialise in this and would enjoy top class food and not pay a penny.

The Theft Act, 2001 changed this and now it is a criminal offense.
    An astute diner could still make a preemptive exit if they were that way inclined.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

he would appear to be a loon

although £5 for 3 chicken wings is outrageous

Presumably he got a menu beforehand and was able to count to 3 before he ate them......

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Presumably he got a menu beforehand and was able to count to 3 before he ate them......

ah yeah no argument here, as i said the guy is a loo laa but 3 wings for a Lady Godiva is shocking all the same

Yorkshireman in "Too tight to put his hand in his pocket" shocker....:D