Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Freddie C. - 'The Immigrant Smuggler'

• 07-02-2018 7:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4

Was 4 years 'time', really worth it for some easy notes??

Source: RTE News.

An Aer Lingus worker who helped to smuggle illegal immigrants through Dublin Airport has been sentenced to four years in jail.

Frederick Cham, 63, from Hazelhatch in Co Kildare, pleaded guilty at Dublin Circuit Criminal Court to nine charges relating to the illegal entry of seven people into the country.

Following sentence, Mr Gillane said his client would like to publicly apologise for his crimes.

Mod Note: Please don't quote full articles, just quote a section pertaining to your post.

Thanks in advance,

Buford T. Justice.

Link to article below.

https://www.rte.ie/news/courts/2018/0207/938992-frederick-cham-court/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,596 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

Treelog80 wrote:
    Was 4 years 'time', really worth it for some easy notes??

He didn't expect to get caught.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Treelog80

I suppose he thought that, yeh.

A natural 'gambler' so...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,965 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

From: http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/moving_country/irish_citizenship/becoming_an_irish_citizen_through_naturalisation.html
    The Minister for Justice and Equality can revoke your certificate of naturalisation if:
    You have, through an overt act, failed in your duty of fidelity to the nation and loyalty to the State ....

Any chance that this could be used to revoke his citizenship?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,932 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

It should be. How did her get to become a citizen here in the first place? He just moved to Ireland. From China. No problem.
    Who knows how many people he smuggled in over the years.
    4 years is very light

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭stuff.hunter

7 people my a$$, 77 more likely...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭screamer

I think it's a long time for a crime that's not too serious. Compared to the jokes of sentences for murder, rape and child abuse it is harsh for the crime.

screamer wrote: »
    I think it's a long time for a crime that's not too serious. Compared to the jokes of sentences for murder, rape and child abuse it is harsh for the crime.

Not too serious? We don't know how many people he smuggled in over the years or what became of them. They could have been sold in to prostitution, forced labour in grow houses, anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I wonder was he the fall guy for a bigger scam operating out of there

Only a wet week in the job and he is running the scam unknown to anyone else

I doubt it

I wonder was he the fall guy for a bigger scam operating out of there

Only a wet week in the job and he is running the scam unknown to anyone else

I doubt it

well said, guess triads doing well in here laundering cash in all these shops and casinos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

well said, guess triads doing well in here laundering cash in all these shops and casinos

I wasn't talking about any of his fellow countrymen

thanks for clarifying :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭screamer

Not too serious? We don't know how many people he smuggled in over the years or what became of them. They could have been sold in to prostitution, forced labour in grow houses, anything

I still don't think in the grand scheme of things it's a serious crime.....

what about hypothetical jihadjohnny smuggled in and blowing himself on O'Connell street? just my thoughts

screamer wrote:

He got 4 years, the lad that smuggled in garlic before appeal got 6 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Hitman3000 wrote: »
    He got 4 years, the lad that smuggled in garlic before appeal got 6 years.

Same judge too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Treelog80

('Frederick's Thought Of The Day')...

"What's this compared to what they do in The Mile High Club?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

This should be used a lot more, in my opinion.

• Site Banned Posts: 21 jeffy jefferies

Hopefully his citizenship will be revoked and he will be deported back to where ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,792 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Ah it is a serious crime though. He could have been smuggling anybody into the country. Great way for terrorists etc. to be smuggled into the country.

You might think differently if one of the people he smuggled into the country raped or killed your wife/husband/child etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Mutant z

really you dont regard people smuggling as that serious a crime.

Mutant z wrote: »
    really you dont regard people smuggling as that serious a crime.

I suspect he'd have a problem if they were Israeli / Jewish.

Is that you Peter Sutherland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,327 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Ah leave them alone yiz bastards

tt-the-chinese-bk_1.jpg

You either don't fully understand the implications of people smuggling or you don't care.
    Both positions are unforgivable in this day and age. No excuse for wilful ignorance.

You either don't fully understand the implications of people smuggling or you don't care.
    Both positions are unforgivable in this day and age. No excuse for wilful ignorance.

There is a push from certain quarters for 'open borders' so I think he does understand the implications and is happy for them to happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Calling himself a micky mouse operator that did it for pints was funny and possibly worth a sentence reduction to be fair.

Having the neck to assume a judge should believe that b.s. calls for an increased sentence to be fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Hitman3000 wrote: »
    Having the neck to assume a judge should believe that b.s. calls for an increased sentence to be fair.

I'd have given him a year off for it, to be fair.

It's probably for the best that I never considered a judicial career.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Chrongen

I initially thought that 4 years was extremely harsh a sentence for facilitating people getting into the country illegally as I'm guessing they would just pay him and then go work in some kitchen in a chinese restaurant peeling carrots and onions and washing pots. It's hardly a violent crime or a danger to the public considering you have fuckers with 70+ previous convictions getting 6 month suspended sentences for assault and battery and shit like that.
    If, however, he was part of a human trafficking ring where the people he granted entry to were held against their will then that changes the complexion of the case significantly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Chrongen wrote: »
    I initially thought that 4 years was extremely harsh a sentence for facilitating people getting into the country illegally as I'm guessing they would just pay him and then go work in some kitchen in a chinese restaurant peeling carrots and onions and washing pots. It's hardly a violent crime or a danger to the public considering you have fuckers with 70+ previous convictions getting 6 month suspended sentences for assault and battery and shit like that.
    If, however, he was part of a human trafficking ring where the people he granted entry to were held against their will then that changes the complexion of the case significantly.

There is a family in Japan still coming to terms with the aftermath of someone getting into this country illegally. The best and brightest don't generally use nefarious means to enter another country.

Chrongen wrote: »
    You see, this is a classic example of wooly,liberal attitudes to immigration. Legal or otherwise. It's all so good and happy clappy yet all so vague.
    Failing to consider the implications of this actually puts people at risk of exploitation.
    At the same time, people who really need help get a raw deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Everyone convicted of murder in this country receives a life sentence.

/pedant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Jimbob1977

It was done to fund his Cham-pagne lifestyle