Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tea Causes cancer - the 2018 annual media cancer scare story

• 06-02-2018 2:18pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭

Usually it comes late January - seems a week late this year. Drinking hot tea "could" cause cancer.

https://www.independent.ie/life/health-wellbeing/healthy-eating/how-that-scalding-hot-cup-of-tea-could-lead-to-deadly-cancer-according-to-scientists-36572034.html

Sensationalist media searches for a cancer scare story every year - less than reliable "research" suddenly becomes available. Almost always end of January and almost always never peer reviewed and they ALWAYS leave out the info that tells you the chaces of it happenign are near zero.

Last year it was scented cleaning stuff / sprays (the truth was you needed to be in a small room with very ittle ventilation for about 10 years with copius amounts of smelly candles and sprays being used at all times and the chemical they were talijg about was a natural chemical in citrus fruits)

Year before it was beef burgers (the truth was you needed to eat about 2kg of minced beef a day for about 50 years - cancer would have been the least worry for you on that diet!)

Previously it was toast (again about 30 slices of really burnt toast a day for many years was needed), processed meats (almost a kilo a day for a few years needed on that)

Do people actually BELIEVE this utter sh1t?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭pleas advice

Ah go on, just a little cup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,231 ✭✭✭Odhinn

CeilingFly wrote: »
    Usually it comes late January - seems a week late this year. Drinking hot tea "could" cause cancer.

https://www.independent.ie/life/health-wellbeing/healthy-eating/how-that-scalding-hot-cup-of-tea-could-lead-to-deadly-cancer-according-to-scientists-36572034.html

Sensationalist media searches for a cancer scare story every year - less than reliable "research" suddenly becomes available. Almost always end of January and almost always never peer reviewed and they ALWAYS leave out the info that tells you the chaces of it happenign are near zero.

Last year it was scented cleaning stuff / sprays (the truth was you needed to be in a small room with very ittle ventilation for about 10 years with copius amounts of smelly candles and sprays being used at all times and the chemical they were talijg about was a natural chemical in citrus fruits)

Year before it was beef burgers (the truth was you needed to eat about 2kg of minced beef a day for about 50 years - cancer would have been the least worry for you on that diet!)

Previously it was toast (again about 30 slices of really burnt toast a day for many years was needed), processed meats (almost a kilo a day for a few years needed on that)

Do people actually BELIEVE this utter sh1t?

Everytime i eat toast, that one still pops into me head.

If they're right about the tae, I couldn't give a crap. Need me fix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,907 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

What about taae

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

Well if tea causes cancer I should be dead by now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,346 ✭✭✭King George VI

Ah go on, just a little cup

Ah go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on

go on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

"High-temperature tea drinking combined with either alcohol consumption or smoking was associated with a greater risk of oesophageal cancer than hot tea alone."

I am not a scientist but if you do lots of bad things it will not be good.
    Please forward €500,000 for more research.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

If you drink boiling hot tea (while following the annual emperor penguin migration on the Weddell Sea) you are 15% more likely to get eaten by a leopard seal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭ThinkProgress

Not drinking tea will also cause cancer apparently... rock and a hard place I suppose!

PS: Rocks and hard places also cause cancer too! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 646 ✭✭✭koumi

I just gave up caffinated coffee, mostly sugar (substituted with stevia or honey) and exchanged tobacco for vape which I'm currently trading in for nicorette, because apparently vape in now cancer causing. All I had left was me tea. fcuks it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭fineso.mom

well I have anecdotal evidence that backs up this claim. My grandaunt drank tea every day for about 80 years and then got cancer when she was 90 and died. So yeah, I'd say it's true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭ThinkProgress

koumi wrote: »
    I just gave up caffinated coffee, mostly sugar (substituted with stevia or honey) and exchanged tobacco for vape which I'm currently trading in for nicorette, because apparently vape in now cancer causing. All I had left was me tea. fcuks it.

Sorry to give you more bad news on top of bad, but it's a bit of a myth that honey is any better than sugar in your tea/coffee. The difference is negligible...

Although you are keeping the honey bees in a job... so there is that! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

You know what else causes cancer?

my PENIS

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,545 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Some things in life aren't worth living without. Tea is one of them.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

Akrasia wrote: »
    If you drink boiling hot tea (while following the annual emperor penguin migration on the Weddell Sea) you are 15% more likely to get eaten by a leopard seal.

I had to fight one off the other day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,453 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

This isn't new. They've known for years that drinking hot liquids increase oesophagal cancer risk. I definitely read it a couple of years ago. They are just bringing it up again now because they couldn't come up with anything new to scare people with.

I think it has to be really scalding btw. Yep here is an article last year that says it's if the drinks are over 65c. Most people dont drink tea that hot! I think it's pretty common in some Asian cultures though

https://www.cancer.org/latest-news/world-health-organization-says-very-hot-drinks-may-cause-cancer.html

If anyone tried to take my tea away from me, they'd have to prise it from my cold, dead, hands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭whoopsadoodles

jamesbere wrote: »
    Well if tea causes cancer I should be dead by now

I'd be lying beside you in the ground.

I have on average 10 cups of tea a day.

Although today I am only on my 3rd and not enjoying it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

I've been mainlining tea since I was given it in a Tommy Tippee sippy cup as a toddler. And I have terminal cancer now. Aaaah, it aaaalllll makes sense now. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭mojesius

They'll be after our biscuits next

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭decky1

fineso.mom wrote: »
    well I have anecdotal evidence that backs up this claim. My grandaunt drank tea every day for about 80 years and then got cancer when she was 90 and died. So yeah, I'd say it's true.

same as my mother in law--- not joking she had a mug the same size as those pint pot beer glasses with the handles she must have drank at least 20 of these every day, she too died of cancer 52. that much tea couldn't be good for you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,832 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

What would you say to a cup?

FECK OFF CUP!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭yermanoffthetv

My nanna always made scalding hot tea. There was always a procedure to it, boiling the water on the stove, preheating the cups, spooning the tea leaves into the strainer and using the big old school metal tea pot with a handle on the front to pour in the steaming hot water. A little serving table was wheeled out with sugar milk and biccies. It was a proper ritual.

I saddens me that the bitch was just trying to give me mouth cancer all along :(

Never badmouth your Granny! Santa is definitely detouring your house in December. :(

Your Nanna knew how to make tea. In 1946, George Orwell published what is arguably his greatest work in the form of an essay in the Evening Standard. The work consisted of eleven important points to be followed to produce the perfect cup of tea, and was inspired by his concerns of how rationing would impact the nations brew.

Some points are obvious, such as using only tea produced in India or Sri Lanka, and others more controversial - no sweetening agents of any kind. He gives detailed instructions on the warming of pots, the materials used in one's tea making equipment, and the optimum shape of one's teacup to enhance the taste and temperature of the final product. Only the English can devote so much thought to making tea, and he considers the relative merits of milk in first or last and settles on 'milk last and Indian' - a once common expression of one's preferences.

So not only did George Orwell write possibly the best dystopian future fiction of all time, but he's also nailed the definitive routine to produce the perfect cup of tea.

http://orwell.ru/library/articles/tea/english/e_tea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,862 ✭✭✭mikhail

Orwell's non-fiction is far more interesting than his fiction, in my experience. However, I have to take issue with one line from you:
    Candie wrote: »
    ... Only the English can devote so much thought to making tea...

Have you ever seen a Chinese tea ceremony? I once had a Chinese person enthusiastically tell me the ranking (however it's determined) of the particular strain of oolong tea I was drinking. It wasn't even in the top ten, damn it! Top ten oolongs, not top ten teas.

mikhail wrote: »
    Orwell's non-fiction is far more interesting than his fiction, in my experience. However, I have to take issue with one line from you:

Have you ever seen a Chinese tea ceremony? I once had a Chinese person enthusiastically tell me the ranking (however it's determined) of the particular strain of oolong tea I was drinking. It wasn't even in the top ten, damn it! Top ten oolongs, not top ten teas.

We should also extend tea drinking ritual credit to the Japanese I guess. I'm just a little biased, being English myself. I had some tea sent me from a plantation in Darjeeling a while ago, it was another level of tea.

I would love to attend a tea ceremony - Japanese or Chinese, I'm not fussy. :)

I love scalding tea. That's my main reason for disliking tea from a pot. It loses precious temperature points on transfer from teapot to cup. Made in the cup is so much better. It also has a pleasant tang that teapot tea lacks. But then my father prefers his tea less hot so his preference is tea from the pot.

I also just find that hot tea last longer so you don't have to drink it as quickly. My mother sometimes reheats tea that has gone cold in the microwave. RANK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

They told us a few years back that black tea will prevent cancer :confused:
    I think there's just as many chancers and spoofers in science as in any other profession.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

Candie wrote: »
    Never badmouth your Granny! Santa is definitely detouring your house in December. :(

Your Nanna knew how to make tea. In 1946, George Orwell published what is arguably his greatest work in the form of an essay in the Evening Standard. The work consisted of eleven important points to be followed to produce the perfect cup of tea, and was inspired by his concerns of how rationing would impact the nations brew.

Some points are obvious, such as using only tea produced in India or Sri Lanka, and others more controversial - no sweetening agents of any kind. He gives detailed instructions on the warming of pots, the materials used in one's tea making equipment, and the optimum shape of one's teacup to enhance the taste and temperature of the final product. Only the English can devote so much thought to making tea, and he considers the relative merits of milk in first or last and settles on 'milk last and Indian' - a once common expression of one's preferences.

So not only did George Orwell write possibly the best dystopian future fiction of all time, but he's also nailed the definitive routine to produce the perfect cup of tea.

http://orwell.ru/library/articles/tea/english/e_tea

Four tea bags good, two tea bags bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

So what ye are all saying is that my mug of Lidls finest doesn't really count as tea?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭DredFX

Next they'll be saying it's the key to a successful marriage.

I'd be lying beside you in the ground.

I have on average 10 cups of tea a day.

Although today I am only on my 3rd and not enjoying it.

Same here, at least ten. Love tea so much. Especially with biscuits

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,544 ✭✭✭h7nlrp2v0g5u48

I love me cuppa Lyons tae. Extra quality extra flavour Lyons the quality tae. Remember that ad. I always hum that tune when I'm making a cup of the finest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭justfillmein

DredFX wrote: »
    Next they'll be saying it's the key to a successful marriage.

it probably could be:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭Greyfox

Life wouldn't be worth living without tea, and it has to be Lyons

yes^
    & none of that Barry's nonsense..

Greyfox wrote: »
    Life wouldn't be worth living without tea, and it has to be Lyons
    yes^
    & none of that Barry's nonsense..

I’m a total tea whore, they all taste good to me. I was brought up on Lyon’s but in college, I’d buy whichever was 100% extra free to save money - Tetley’s, Punjana, Lyon’s, Barry’s, whatever. Then I lived in the UK for a while and tended to buy Yorkshire. Now I buy many different types at home again. The only ones I don’t buy are the very cheapest make that Aldi and Lidl do - they ARE bad. But the more expensive (but still cheap) tea that Aldi and Lidl do are as nice as any. I honestly don’t discern much difference between the different teas. They all taste good to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭Dr Strange

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

It's got cocaine cancer in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

The only thing worse than journalists not reading scientific/academic journal articles, cherry picking conclusions without context and sensationalising them for clickbaity headlines, is people commenting on the excuse for a journalists badly written ****e and making the journalists nonsense the fault of the people who wrote the original paper.

Want to know what's going on, read the material, not what Tim with an Arts degree who's dads friend got him a job for the sunday world has to say about the material.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 777 ✭✭✭Skedaddle

You’re grand! It’s only those weirdos who drink tea without milk in it! Most of us in Ireland don’t drink boiling hot tea. It’s well stewed and cooled.

Skedaddle wrote: »
    tea without milk
    green tea. ewww:(