Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it illegal to stick your middle finger up at a person

• 02-02-2018 2:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭

Hi guys,

As the title suggest I’m wondering if it is considered a crime to stuck you middle finger up at someone. I was driving through a village today and both side of the road had parking on it. A bus coming towards me crossed over onto my side of the road without even so much as using his indicator, so I slowed down and stopped. I was beside a car and had no where to pull in and the bus kept driving towards me and then started sounding his horn as if I was in the wrong. My middle finger shot up (to my surprise to be honest) without even thinking about it. I completely regret it and honestly have never and would never usually do this. I think it was the frustration of an incompetent driver doing something dangerous and being in the wrong and then sounding a very loud bus horn at me, which did startle me.

I reversed until I thought he could squeeze by me but he then got out of the bus and knocked on my window and called me a f-in a-hole and told me he was calling the Gardai and it was on camera. My intention was to calmly explain to him that he was in the wrong and it was a reaction to his behaviour and I was actually planning on apologising for the gesture but soon as I tried to speak he walked away and got back on the bus. I even reversed a second time to try give him more space before he drove off.

I’m not sure how serious he was about calling the Gardai but I’m just wondering if what I done is considered an crime?

gar44 wrote: »
    Hi guys,

As the title suggest I’m wondering if it is considered a crime to stuck you middle finger up at someone. I was driving through a village today and both side of the road had parking on it. A bus coming towards me crossed over onto my side of the road without even so much as using his indicator, so I slowed down and stopped. I was beside a car and had no where to pull in and the bus kept driving towards me and then started sounding his horn as if I was in the wrong. My middle finger shot up (to my surprise to be honest) without even thinking about it. I completely regret it and honestly have never and would never usually do this. I think it was the frustration of an incompetent driver doing something dangerous and being in the wrong and then sounding a very loud bus horn at me, which did startle me.

I reversed until I thought he could squeeze by me but he then got out of the bus and knocked on my window and called me a f-in a-hole and told me he was calling the Gardai and it was on camera. My intention was to calmly explain to him that he was in the wrong and it was a reaction to his behaviour and I was actually planning on apologising for the gesture but soon as I tried to speak he walked away and got back on the bus. I even reversed a second time to try give him more space before he drove off.

I’m not sure how serious he was about calling the Gardai but I’m just wondering if what I done is considered an crime?

The Gardai struggle to investigate real crimes, never mind flipping off a bus driver... If he does ring AGS they will tell him not to waste their time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

Possibly some sort of public order but who hasn't used the universal sign of peace and love when confronted with an aggressive idiot. If you've committed a crime so has be by getting out and cursing at you. In fact what he did could be considered at assault depending on your frame of mind.

I expect he means a violation of the ROTR which he probably has wrong in his own head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,611 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Just give the guards the middle finger when they come calling!
    Seriously though,guards would be more interested in the manner the bus was been driven if what you say is correct.
    A lot of bus drivers do think they own the road and that everyone else should keep out of their way.
    I'd be amazed if you heard any more about this and if you do put in a complaint about the way the bus was been driven.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,465 ✭✭✭MOH

gar44 wrote: »
    Hi guys,

He had himself driving dangerously on camera and he's threatening to call the Gardai? Hope he does, and they do him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

I used to keep an old newspaper in the foot well of the passenger seat for a particular bit I needed to drive. Always some asshat who thought they had right of way when I as the car coming off the main road did. I just used to sit there grab the paper and open it, cue the other guy (let's face it it's always us guys) reversing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,611 ✭✭✭✭blade1

cue the other guy (let's face it it's always us guys) reversing.

Well you'd hardly expect a woman to reverse a car!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

No- the law doesnt protect you from assholes and your thin skin

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,774 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

blade1 wrote: »
    Well you'd hardly expect a woman to reverse a car!:pac:
    Moderator: https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=87523047&postcount=6

Not only does this offend the above rule but... grow up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Blackhorse Slim

From your description is it possible you were on a one way street? Other than that it doesn't sound like he has anything to complain about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,922 ✭✭✭GM228

I suppose in theory you could try prosecute for such if someone felt insulted by the gesture under S6 of the Criminal Justice (Public Order) Act 1994:-
    6.— (1) It shall be an offence for any person in a public place to use or engage in any threatening, abusive or insulting words or behaviour with intent to provoke a breach of the peace or being reckless as to whether a breach of the peace may be occasioned.

I would imagine such would be a difficult case, however add in some obscenities and you are more likely to fall foul of S6:-

Man in trouble after giving Gardaí 'the finger'

Interestingly the US Supreme Court ruled a few years ago that giving rude gestures including to Police was protected free speech.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,778 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

I remember reading about a court case where a driver gave the two fingers, I can't remember the outcome though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭Lmklad

Yes. Sec 6 Criminal Justice (Public Order) Act includes geatures. Thankfully we don’t have American style free speech so your bus driver would also have commited the same offence by insulting you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Is there s chance you were wrong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭Dank Janniels

At some one -no
    In some one -yes