Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Driving licence lost on way home

• 01-02-2018 3:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭

Hi all.
    To cut a Long story short,went to renew my license but lost the old one on the way home from the ndls center.the new one when it comes In the next few days is not valid until the middle of February.
    Rang ndls and they said they didn't find it but also said I could not get a replacement license for the intervening period.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

What is your question?
    if it is ok to drive anyway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭shovel

Sorry,I was wondering do I need a license for intervening period and if I do, where do I get it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭tcawley29

shovel wrote: »
    Sorry,I was wondering do I need a license for intervening period and if I do, where do I get it

Ah realistically you'll more than likely be grand.
    Send the NDLS an email about your situation and that way you'll have the response in writing from them about not being able to get a replacement license just in case you do get stopped by the guards.

As far as I know the only place that can issue licenses now is the NDLS.
    If they won't issue one then you will just have to wait until the new one arrives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Yes you do need a licence, in case you're stopped by Gardai.
    In practise, not really. If you are stopped you can explain to the garda and they will probably let you go, or ask you to show licence at station within 10 days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,778 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

shovel wrote: »

I drove for 3 years with my licence out of date, of it goes over 5 you have to resit the test, you'll be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,633 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Dakota Dan wrote: »
    I drove for 3 years with my licence out of date, of it goes over 5 you have to resit the test, you'll be grand.

10 years for full license.

5 years out of date and you need to start learner permit from scratch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,186 ✭✭✭boardsuser1

My wife’s cousin is similar, her provisional expired in 2003, hasn’t renewed it since, she knows she’d have to do the theory test again, and is still driving away with no problem.

Her insurance company never asked for it.

Twice ever I drove without a licence, drove a moped home from the bike shop in December 2003 and met a cop doing a checkpoint, I had nothing at all except tax on the bike that was it, I was within 100 yards of my home, after a lot of begging and pleading he let me keep the bike followed by the remark ‘don’t ever say a guard didn’t do anything for you’ I was only on my teens and awaiting my theory test appointment.

Just over 2 years later I drove for about a month with an expired licence.

I literally used up all my luck between both experiences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,617 ✭✭✭grogi

Let's first distinguish two things: an actual license to drive vehicles and a document that is to state one is licensed to drive vehicles.

You are still licensed to drive the vehicle - you only lost the document, not the actual license. As advised - document as much and be honest in the extremely unlikely situation when you are asked to show said document. You'll be grand.

I have been driving in Ireland for more than 10 years and not a single time I had to take it out of the wallet at a checkpoint.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,186 ✭✭✭boardsuser1

10 years for full license.

5 years out of date and you need to start learner permit from scratch.

On the ball

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭tcawley29

My wife’s cousin is similar, her provisional expired in 2003, hasn’t renewed it since, she knows she’d have to do the theory test again, and is still driving away with no problem.

Twice ever I drove without a licence, drove a moped home from the bike shop in December 2003 and met a cop doing a checkpoint, I had nothing at all except tax on the bike that was it, I was within 100 yards of my home, after a lot of begging and pleading he let me keep the bike followed by the remark ‘don’t ever say a guard didn’t do anything for you’ I was only on my teens and awaiting my theory test appointment.

Just over 2 years later I drove for about a month with an expired licence.

I literally used up all my luck between both experiences.

Some of them are sound to be fair. Not many but there is a few of them who are actually human :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,617 ✭✭✭grogi

Even a monkey would think that it is a material fact and should be declared unsolicited. Wife's cousin will be in a big trouble should anything happens...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,926 ✭✭✭Reati

grogi wrote: »
    Let's first distinguish two things: an actual license to drive vehicles and a document that is to state one is licensed to drive vehicles.

You are still licensed to drive the vehicle - you only lost the document, not the actual license. As advised - document as much and be honest in the extremely unlikely situation when you are asked to show said document. You'll be grand.

I have been driving in Ireland for more than 10 years and not a single time I had to take it out of the wallet at a checkpoint.

Driving 7 years and only time I was ever asked for it by a checkpoint in an area which was the day after a shooting in North Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,323 ✭✭✭mikeecho

5yrs if you have a provisional / learners permit
    10yrs for a full licence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭shovel

Thanks for all the replies.i will email the ndls and try to get an email to show if I am stopped by a guard.
    Thanks again to all