Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone got a €1249 dental implant?

• 31-01-2018 9:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9

As the post says...who got a €1249 implant and how has it worked out for ya?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 Samseed

Anyone?
    Samseed wrote: »
    As the post says...who got a €1249 implant and how has it worked out for ya?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,240 ✭✭✭Oral Surgeon

Anyone?

What's with the very specific price?? You are obviously asking about one clinic in particular??!!

If that is the price for a fully restored implant (implant placement and implant crown) then it is too cheap....

I'm obeying the forum rules...that's why the price.

Thank you for the bump

Has anyone paid €1249 euro for their implant and got an experience they wanna share..?
    What's with
    the very specific price?? You are obviously asking about one clinic in particular??!!

If that is the price for a fully restored implant (implant placement and implant crown) then it is too cheap....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

Anyone who got a cheapo implant like this will gush about it no matter how it was because of confirmation bias. You know is way below the going rate so you likely would have to take a punt.

If I did implants that cheap I would be out of business pretty fast. The only way to make it would would be to use the cheapest implants possible (parts in the future?), the cheapest laboratory work, do it in the shortest time possible and use pay the dentist involved as little as possible. That risk is your to take, its might work out it might not. Somebody elses experiance is also not directly transferable to your mouth. Its a minefield.

Anyone who got a cheapo implant like this will gush about it no matter how it was because of confirmation bias. You know is way below the going rate so you likely would have to take a punt.

If I did implants that cheap I would be out of business pretty fast. The only way to make it would would be to use the cheapest implants possible (parts in the future?), the cheapest laboratory work, do it in the shortest time possible and use pay the dentist involved as little as possible. That risk is your to take, its might work out it might not. Somebody elses experiance is also not directly transferable to your mouth. Its a minefield.

Yip, I'm aware of your views on confirmation bias John Defeated Worker. For the most part I agree with you but I'm also aware that people are more likely to complain than to praise. I think on this forum there tends to be more of a siege mentality towards low cost implants*. I'm not criticising, but the post you just placed is a good example of how that sets in. if you read it again you'll see it has altered the tone of my post and moved it into a different/already well documented line. People will come on defending low cost implants (from wherever they got them) and the circle continues...

I'm not looking to get into that...

You're right, the risk is mine to take alone, and one person's experience could be very different to mine. If however I get enough honest feedback from people, I can look at this information as a whole and I will be able to build a picture of the competency of the person carrying out the work. This is not the only forum I have asked this question on...I've been in several forums asking around and getting reviews. Obviously there are shills...I spot them and discount them. Im not trying to confirm a decision I have already made...I'm looking for data to make an informed decision.

What I'd like for is reviews from people who have actually had work done at this price and have truthful positive or negative feedback. Please by all means PM me if you'd prefer to keep it out of the public eye but please get in touch.

Thanks in advance.

* Just a way of grouping together a type of implant work - not a comment on overall cost (service life/cost)

Is it a front tooth?

Again not strictly a review but for what it's worth...I'm looking to get two molars, both sides of my top row.

I have a lot of pertenant info I could give you, but I think I will bow out as its not really my expert opinion you after. Best of luck with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,135 ✭✭✭spaceHopper

Very happy with mine, cost over 3 grand. What ever about the crown, that can be changed, the implant it's self needs to be done right, do you want it hitting a nerve or breaking or both. What happens in 20 years time when you go to get a new crown and nobody knows the type of screw to use.... go for the consultation but go in with your eyes open

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭ifeelstupid

Very happy with mine, cost over 3 grand. What ever about the crown, that can be changed, the implant it's self needs to be done right, do you want it hitting a nerve or breaking or both. What happens in 20 years time when you go to get a new crown and nobody knows the type of screw to use.... go for the consultation but go in with your eyes open

I'm in this boat also, for such a permanent fixture in my gob I went with who I thought would provide the best possible job. Have it 10+ years now and it still looks and feels as good as when I got it.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Pay cheap pay twice, i know from experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 pauleggs

Not all low cost implant work is dog**** lads. Ye guys need to wake up . The dental implant market has moved on from the days of specialists quoting 3 and half grand for a single unit

( PM for practice name) do a basic posterior implant and crown without graft for 1400 euro
    Implants used are Nobel Biocare. CBCT taken for every case , (cost 150)
    I know that the quality is good as i have referred my own patients there for implant placement (cost 700) and i have restored the cases.
    I referred maybe 10 cases that i have subsequently restored over the past 18 months , Have not had an issue. Implants fully integrated and in a restorability friendly position. Patients happy with how the surgery went

By the way ,i have no vested interest in ( PM for name)

Pay cheap pay twice, i know from experience.

Ahhh...care to share?

pauleggs wrote: »
    Not all low cost implant work is dog**** lads. Ye guys need to wake up . The dental implant market has moved on from the days of specialists quoting 3 and half grand for a single unit

( PM for practice name) do a basic posterior implant and crown without graft for 1400 euro
    I know that the quality is good as i have referred my own patients there for implant placement (cost 700) and i have restored the cases.
    I referred maybe 10 cases that i have subsequently restored over the past 18 months , Have not had an issue. Implants fully integrated and in a restorability friendly position. Patients happy with how the surgery went

Pm'd Pauleggs

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Ahhh...care to share?

Got a quote in Dublin went "omg i cant afford that" not really understanding the fact is a was all specialist work, went to belfast and got a general dentist to do it cos it was a lot less.

Due to the angle of the implant, i started seeing gum recession and without remedial work the gum would have retreated so that you'd see the metal.

So I had to get substantial work done in Dublin with specialists to fix it.

I agree that not all low cost work is crap but you have to ask;
    If a lot of clinics (myself included) have set a price for this work at €2500 (for example) then they have deemed €2500 to be a fair price based on the knowledge, skill and education in doing this work, their time, the staff's time, the share of the capital and consumables involved in the case and of course profit....

If someone can do it for half this price you must query why;

Location, if living in a location where the average wage is low and therefore the cost of living is low then you can afford to charge less and yet still be relatively high paid and buy a nice car and house... Dental tourism...

Training, personally I worked two years in HSE house officer positions for OKish wages and then did a further 3 years full time doctorate. The extra investment in being a specialist ultimately means that you will charge more for what you do relative to those who did not spend this time and money....

Equipment and clinic, this is a misleading one. Patients often think that a fancy clinic with high tech equipment means the best clinicians work there... I know great clinicians working in modest clinics who are better operators than those in fancy clinics (and visa versa). Having a CT scanner in house is just a tool, it does not make you a better operator, if I buy a Ferrari it does not make me a F1 driver...

Implant make, nobel is one of the more expensive implants on the market but this name is not the be all and end all. It is not the make of the screws that the carpenter uses that matters but how he uses them. There are many good implant manufacturers, as long as a clinic is using one of the main brands then that is not the biggest factor. Of all the implants I have had to remove, Nobel and Straumann were the most common, not because they are bad implants but because they were placed badly where bone was likely to resorb and periimplantitis develop. If a clinic is offering a €1250 implant and using an expensive nobel implant then there is even less room to give the job the time it deserves.

Time, it's hard to consistently do a good job if you are rushed. If the price and profit is low then you need to speed up the job... For a single implant I'd allow 60-90 minutes surgery, then a check up and suture removal 20mins, maybe another check up, then at 3 months I'd need a 30 min appointment to either uncover or integration check the implant. Then my pros colleague would need 60-90mins to do an implant temporary & scan or just a scan and then need 60 mins to fit the crown, then a quick check and screw tighten 30 mins. This is all going to plan, there may be more appointments in there if there is a hiccup.... Do you get all of these appointments for €1250 and if not, what ones are missing because I think all of them are useful?

Labwork, I'll bluff a bit here because this is not my part of the job but a well made implant crown from a good lab is expensive, if it's cheaper then it wont look as well, function as well, be as cleanse-able or be as durable.

I suppose to summarise, €1250 would cover the cost of my implant and crown labwork but would not cover any of my clinic, staff or my time to do the job. Factor in the fact that 2-5% of implants fail to integrate (and need replacement) then you end up working not for free but at a loss. Even at €2500+ per implant in my clinic, I make more money taking out wisdom teeth (as they are quick, easy, and don't involve implants, labwork and multiple check ups).
    I don't see how an implant at this price is sustainable as the clinic is likely making no profit on it......

pauleggs wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,816 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

If I did implants that cheap I would be out of business pretty fast. The only way to make it would would be to use the cheapest implants possible (parts in the future?)

Is there no standardisation when it comes to implants? Are getting parts in the future really a problem? is there a few makes to ask for when shopping around for prices.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,926 ✭✭✭davo10

Is there no standardisation when it comes to implants? Are getting parts in the future really a problem? is there a few makes to ask for when shopping around for prices.

Each implant system has its own parts and tools. There are a couple of main brands and hundreds of cheap generic brands which are copies of the main ones. I've had people come into me who have had implants abroad and I've had to Google the brand to look for instruments and parts. On a few occasions I've found they have gone out of business so I had to get the Clinic that placed them to post them to me.

As above, like most things in life, you get what you pay for.

Nobel/Straumann/Ankylos/3i are the main ones, the cost of buying these brands and having an abutment & crown made in a good lab would exceed the price quoted on this thread. If they are using one of these implants, they must be paying buttons for the lab work in order to make any kind of profit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,083 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

davo10 wrote: »
    Each implant system has its own parts and tools. There are a couple of main brands and hundreds of cheap generic brands which are copies of the main ones. I've had people come into me who have had implants abroad and I've had to Google the brand to look for instruments and parts. On a few occasions I've found they have gone out of business so I had to get the Clinic that placed them to post them to me.

As above, like most things in life, you get what you pay for.

Nobel/Straumann/Ankylos/3i are the main ones, the cost of buying these brands and having an abutment & crown made in a good lab would exceed the price quoted on this thread. If they are using one of these implants, they must be paying buttons for the lab work in order to make any kind of profit.

I have to get an implant done and the dentist I'm going to seems reasonable enough.

My dad has had plenty of work done in the practice and really recommends them.

Looking at their fee schedule the CBCT scan is €150, extraction €300 (might be €150 once he sees how he needs to remove the damaged tooth), and €900 for an Ankylos Titanium Implant.

He did say that's just a guide price and he will run through everything at my initial appointment.

TitianGerm wrote: »
    I have to get an implant done and the dentist I'm going to seems reasonable enough.

My dad has had plenty of work done in the practice and really recommends them.

Looking at their fee schedule the CBCT scan is €150, extraction €300 (might be €150 once he sees how he needs to remove the damaged tooth), and €900 for an Ankylos Titanium Implant.

He did say that's just a guide price and he will run through everything at my initial appointment.

And then how much for the implant crown???

As far as I'm aware the crown is included in the price of the implant. Either that or I've picked him up wrong :confused:

You picked him up wrong I'm afraid, give them a call to clarify.

Ah it's ok, I've an appointment Saturday week and I need to get it done so I'll pay anyway.

It's important to know, looking at what you posted, this would seem to be the quotation for the surgical phase of treatment.

I'll try them tomorrow so and see what they say.