Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

08-09 Saab 93 advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭byrnem31

The areo twin turbo is a stunning looking car.
    Don't know much about them but Saabs are a lovely looking car. Shame they went bust.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,688 ✭✭✭zweton

What is the more reliable engine when it comes to the Saabs, diesel or petrol? Any known issues with either does anyone know? They are nice cars allright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 527 ✭✭✭acronym Chilli

zweton wrote: »
    What is the more reliable engine when it comes to the Saabs, diesel or petrol? Any known issues with either does anyone know? They are nice cars allright.
    petrol generally more reliable, and more "SAAB" in that they only introduced first diesel engines very late (via GM).
    Diesel supposed to be good if well maintained, but that's hard to vouch for. That said, the demographic buying SAABs originally tended to be more conscientious. However many of these cars have had a few owners at this stage.

Earlier petrols (up to 2005 I think) had problems with "sludge", however can be rectified if not too far gone (drop sump, clean oil pickup etc.,) and can be prevented by frequent oil changes of high quality synthetic oil. Older (hatchback) 93 also had problems with bulkhead cracking on RHD models.

(background: owned 2 Original generation SAAB 93s, both 2.0l petrol, bangernomics and served me well)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,411 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Platform was shared with the Opel/Vauxhall Vectra. Diesel engines were re-worked Fiat units also found in the likes of the Vectra, etc.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,701 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

My 1.8 05 model has it's quirks, persistent door locking issue that needs me to take the doors apart, but otherwise it's been a pleasure to own and drive.
    It's the older style climate system too, which you nearly need to complete a course on to use, but it's a cracking motorcar.
    A little heavy on petrol, 30mpg these days.
    The later models detailed in the OP, none of them will disappoint.
    As far as I know the diesels had all their kinks worked out pre 05, so they should be solid buys as long as they were maintained, the car has an idiosyncratic computer system so a check that all the ICE and other electronics are working as they should is a must.
    I think the 08 diesel estate is at least 1k over priced too, given it's now a 10 year old motor.

If chucking things in the back is something you do, you might be wary of the saloons, not a lot of space there for larger items tbh, lacking the convenience of a hatchback really hurts it as a carrier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭dieselbug

Big issue is the dmf, flywheel does go on them and very expensive to replace.

There's a few auto's around if you like them but overall a pretty good car and if you take even the 120bhp for a test you will be pleasantly surprised at the performance.

Pretty much an Opel Vectra build but it's a Saab.
    If someone is telling you the clutch has been replaced look for proof. Also if you go up a bit 2009 or 2010 the tax drops a good bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭duffman3833

i got an 08 Saab 93 1.9 diesel (150) last November and only issue i had was that one of the glow plugs fail, got all replaced under warranty anyway but it was causing a rough startup in mornings and very smokey, so maybe look out for that. Once the car is looked after it should be fine. You get a lot of car for the money and very comfy to drive, im delighted with my purchase

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,756 ✭✭✭RINO87

Thanks for the info everyone. I'm going looking at the estate on Saturday. I'll have to mention the Aero TTID for sale in Dublin, also from a dealer, for the same price, but a whole lot more car, and see if we can hammer the price down somewhat. As was stated above its overpriced.

All I would carry in the back is a bike, but a rack would sort that, just used to being able to throw two into the back of my current motor and head off, no hassle.

I'm so tempted by that Aero TTID. There is a shot of some of the service history, one or two of the intervals are handwritten without a stamp, and to my eyes I dont see any mention of big jobs such as clutch\flywheel\belts in the paperwork. Won't know until I see it in person of course.

Was reading a bit on-line and as was said if theyre looked after they do ok. Of any of them the 150hp diesel seems to be the one to avoid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,688 ✭✭✭zweton

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭bren2002

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    My 1.8 05 model has it's quirks, persistent door locking issue that needs me to take the doors apart, but otherwise it's been a pleasure to own and drive..

I've a 1.8T with exactly the same problem. Both drivers side doors, initially it was the driver front but now it's both. It's very frustrating but looks like a bit of a mess to fix.

Have you any thoughts on resolving it?

Still love it though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭shinju

Have a 07 1.8T with 18,000M (29,000km).
    Probably the lowest mileage Saab on the planet. Or of it's age.

Still as new. Drives like a dream.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,701 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

bren2002 wrote: »
    I've a 1.8T with exactly the same problem. Both drivers side doors, initially it was the driver front but now it's both. It's very frustrating but looks like a bit of a mess to fix.

Have you any thoughts on resolving it?

Still love it though.

Apparently you take the doors apart and replace the mechanism.
    Or ..

It's too do with some sort of receiving pins and sockets within the lock. Cleaning them and using a conductive lubricant is supposed to do the trick but it's still a big job to get at the part itself.

I wind up taking 30 secs to make sure the doors are locking before exiting the car, it seems to be more pronounced in winter weather.

Colour wouldn't be everyone's cup of tea and the mileage is getting fairly high but spec is good and a private sale so a fair bit of movement on that price I would think.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/saab-9-3-ttid-estate-reduced/17119384

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

On my second Saab now and I love them..

Bought a 93 for a grand to keep me going for a few months while "between cars". I kept it for a year and loved it.. Only reason I sold was because I wanted to go back to auto.. Eventually found a 95 Auto for similar money. Put heated Aero seats in, tidied it up and I love it..

Drove and maintained BMW's for years and they were a pain in the arse compared to the Saab's. Both mine have been the GM 2.2tid and it's reliable and easy to maintain. Needs regular oil changes, about 7k. Has a timing chain which is situated on the side of the engine so can be got at if needed but they're usually reliable enough. Parts are cheap and plentiful. The auto gear box has a dipstick and changing the oil is a synch compared to the tranny on a BMW.

As mentioned on here before, the interior parts can be hit and miss but again second hand parts are easily got and i love the cockpit design but then that's very subjective.

I'm doing bangornomics for a few years and got into Saab's by accident but i've grown to love them.

Oh and the nightpanel button rocks even if you'll only ever use it to show other people it's there :D

Swanner wrote: »
    On my second Saab now and I love them..

Bought a 93 for a grand to keep me going for a few months while "between cars". I kept it for a year and loved it.. Only reason I sold was because I wanted to go back to auto.. Eventually found a 95 Auto for similar money. Put heated Aero seats in, tidied it up and I love it..

Drove and maintained BMW's for years and they were a pain in the arse compared to the Saab's. Both mine have been the GM 2.2tid and it's reliable and easy to maintain. Needs regular oil changes, about 7k. Has a timing chain which is situated on the side of the engine so can be got at if needed but they're usually reliable enough. Parts are cheap and plentiful. The auto gear box has a dipstick and changing the oil is a synch compared to the tranny on a BMW.

As mentioned on here before, the interior parts can be hit and miss but again second hand parts are easily got and i love the cockpit design but then that's very subjective.

I'm doing bangornomics for a few years and got into Saab's by accident but i've grown to love them.

Oh and the nightpanel button rocks even if you'll only ever use it to show other people it's there :D

Surprised you never mentioned the cup holder

dieselbug wrote: »
    Surprised you never mentioned the cup holder

Still marvel at the cup holder myself every time i use it..

Simple pleasures and easily pleased :D

That's a beautiful car...

Colour wouldn't be everyone's cup of tea and the mileage is getting fairly high but spec is good and a private sale so a fair bit of movement on that price I would think.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/saab-9-3-ttid-estate-reduced/17119384

I think this car is beautiful, if I could budget for it, I would, but plans to convert a van to a camper mean I really do not want to push past 5-5.5K It has come down in price, not much, in the last few weeks, but I was on the phone to the seller and he was adamant that it would stay around the 7K mark, which is fair enough, that's his call. He was pointing to a similar model from a dealers in dublin for a much higher price, altho this white one does have a heck of a lot more miles on it, almost as much as what I'm replacing, so it's hardly worth it.

Gorgeous, gorgeous car tho!!

Looked at the estate in the first post (2008, €4995) today. First thing to notice was the mileage in the ad is 133, but in the car its 142, salesman said the "previous owners son" borrowed it from time to time on garage plates...
    Car came into the country in 2012, FSH from the UK up to that point, nothing apart from NCT reports since then, with a stamp from the current garage from April 17. No indication of major work being done apart from the usual tippex for the timing belt inside the bonnet but nothing in the service history.
    When I put the boot down while in a high gear (say taking off from a roundabout in 4th) there was a faint whine. Is this something to be concerned about, yes I know I shouldn't pull away from a roundabout in 4th, the road was empty and i was looking to see if the clutch would take it.

The car did seem quite well looked after, very solid on the road, and not a rattle. The gap in service history does have me concerned.

On the plus side, the dealers are Saab specialists, lots of other Saabs in the yard, including some in for service. The salesman was not in the least bit pushy either, just handed me the keys, let me carry out my own inspection, was around if i had questions but not intrusive, and take the car for a spin on my own, said he'd prefer to let the car do the talking. They have known the car through its last owner and serviced it (why only one stamp?).

I got the price down to €4500, I feel I might be able to squeeze a bit more with cash, plus they have had it a while.... I mentioned the gap in service history, salesman said they have great trust in that car and Saab in general so doubled the parts/labour warranty from 3 to 6 months.

Any thoughts?
    Car below with 6 months parts and labour for 4500 or a little less.
    The other kicker is they are in Cork, and so am I.
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/saab-93-1-9-tid-airflow-120bhp-5dr/15977427

Regarding the whine, don't know what that is. Could be the turbo, and might be normal.

What I'd advise is that at 4k plus purchase level you should be taking it to a mechanic for a pre-pruchase inspection, and that noise becomes something he can look into.

Went searching for Saab mechanics in Cork, and the first name I came across is Fergus Madden who is the chap you're buying from:
    https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057058657
    (Which isn't a bad sign of course for the deal you're looking at)
    Search a bit further yourself and see if you can find another, or failing that any mechanic you trust can give it the once over.

Seems maybe dear(?), but you're buying from a garage, and a garage who specialises in the make, and they're giving you warranty. Plus it does look like a nice specimen (albeit mileage on the up, it's a diesel estate and nicely appointed).

J
    A couple of things I didn't like about FM's one....
    What kind of a story is that about the extra 9k and the tippexed T belt recording.
    I cant see any professional garage carrying on like this and would put me off a bit. Surprised really as this Garage are Saab specialists.

Saying that 6 months warranty is a plus.

Food for thought

https://www.usedcarsni.com/2008-SAAB-9-3-LINEAR-SE-TID-120-ESTATE-FULL-SERVICE-HISTORY-203622698

You can go to Revenue VRT calculator for vrt cost

J
    A couple of things I didn't like about FM's one....
    What kind of a story is that about the extra 9k and the tippexed T belt recording.
    I cant see any professional garage carrying on like this and would put me off a bit. Surprised really as this Garage are Saab specialists.

Saying that 6 months warranty is a plus.

Food for thought

https://www.usedcarsni.com/2008-SAAB-9-3-LINEAR-SE-TID-120-ESTATE-FULL-SERVICE-HISTORY-203622698

You can go to Revenue VRT calculator for vrt cost

Thanks for that. I should clarify that the tippex on the timing belt is just the usual mileage marking on the cover, not that there is anything in the service history crossed out or covered over. Again though there is no official record of this work being carried out in the service book. The gap in history, plus the nearly 10k extra miles on the car VS the ad is putting me off, no matter what anyone says.

I would wonder how the six month warranty would work? Surely if I go to any independent mechanic they will advise getting the timing belt done seeing as there's no record of it, plus seeing as its at 142K miles they could possibly suggest clutch and DMF also , again seeing as we have no service record in this area. This work will hardly be carried out under warranty??

RINO87 wrote: »
    I would wonder how the six month warranty would work? Surely if I go to any independent mechanic they will advise getting the timing belt done seeing as there's no record of it, plus seeing as its at 142K miles they could possibly suggest clutch and DMF also , again seeing as we have no service record in this area. This work will hardly be carried out under warranty??
    There's work you may want to see done before you take the car (perhaps on advice of a 3rd party) and then there's stuff you'll need doing afterwards. You bring it to 3rd party mechanic before buying.

Timing belt: you either decide it's good to go, or you ask them to do it before you take the car (sounds like if you were new to Cork with a SAAB that needed TB doing, you could easily end up going to FM with it).

Clutch and DMF: if they seem good, then I wouldn't necessarily replace them. (Maybe someone else can advise differently). If you did want them done as a preventative, then again I'd get them done before buying as part of the negotiation, not wait to try to claim under a warranty.

The warranty is to cover things that go wrong. Deciding TB is past due is not a warranty issue. Deciding it would be good to get clutch or DMF done isn't either. If the DMF actually fell apart after 12 weeks, then that you might manage to get done on warranty. You need to be clear with them on what's in the warranty and not. If it's Engine and Gearbox, then does that include DMF, clutch, etc.,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭audiavantawx

Unless timing belt is down on the service book and you can confirm who its been done by avoid
    Any clown can write with tippex on an engine saying its been done

Just my opinion
    Have said that to people when buying a car and they took serious offence to it,your money,your call

Hi, just bringing this thread back up instead of opening a new one.....

I viewed one of the earlier mentioned 9-3's earlier today... its been in the country, on Irish plates for over a year. In that time its never been tax'd or NCT'd. There were valid "excuses" for this that can be left out for now... My first reaction was I simply cannot drive this car home.... (Which is a considerable distance.) If i was stopped my thinking was seeing as this car has been registered in this country for so long with no tax or NCT any Guard, whether I give him the "I just bought it" story is more than likely going to have to impound the car.

...am I being too cautious?

On the other hand, the car is perfect. I'm willing to take the risk of NCT'ing it myself, if I can drive it home, and a much lower offer than asking is accepted. The only thing that I'm wary of is emissions. Has there been a DPF removal/delete before the car was imported (I don't know how to check), if that's the case, then that's the obvious answer as to why there is no NCT.

If i was stopped my thinking was seeing as this car has been registered in this country for so long with no tax or NCT any Guard, whether I give him the "I just bought it" story is more than likely going to have to impound the car.

...am I being too cautious?

Probably but it's always a risk. I once drove a LHD 78 VW Kombi from Derry to Wicklow on California State plates. I drove through 3 checkpoints and not one of them stopped me to ask any questions. I had insurance but as the van wasn't registered I had not tax. NCT wasn't required anyway. Personally, once the insurance is covered I would take the risk but it's up to you.
    The only thing that I'm wary of is emissions. Has there been a DPF removal/delete before the car was imported (I don't know how to check), if that's the case, then that's the obvious answer as to why there is no NCT.

That would only be an issue in the UK. We don't check emissions on Diesels here so it won't affect your NCT if it is removed. Assuming it's not a botch job underneath and has been properly deleted out of the ECU so no lights are showing.

I wouldn't worry too much about driving it home if you take a few precautions. Make sure all the other legal requirements are met. Have proof of insurance with you as well as proof of purchase with a dated receipt. Don't give them any other reason to summons you like bald tyres or lights not working. You could book it in for an nct before you take it and have proof of this also.
    Are you getting a guarantee of a nct pass from the seller? if not you really need to be buying cheap. A car without nct really can't claim to have a value much more than scrap, harsh maybe but that's how I would argue it. I'd love to know why it hasn't been tested.
    As to the dpf the only way to check if it's working as it should is with a diagnostic scanner connected. If it has been butchered you will know a few miles down the road.
    Nct don't check for emissions on diesels as such but the do check for smoke density.

Swanner wrote: »

That would only be an issue in the UK. We don't check emissions on Diesels here so it won't affect your NCT if it is removed. Assuming it's not a botch job underneath and has been properly deleted out of the ECU so no lights are showing.

Thanks. Shows what I know! I can only assume that will change in the near future.

Afaik the UK's mot testers have no way of testing the condition or operation of your dpf other than a visual. If it has been obviously removed it is a fail.

After two months of Dilly Dallying I finally pulled the trigger on the white 9-3x.

Many thanks for all of the advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭California Dreamer

After two months of Dilly Dallying I finally pulled the trigger on the white 9-3x.

BMW all my life. Wanted a cheap car for a 200km daily commute a couple of years back. Had a lovely 93 and have loved them ever since.

What did you get it for in the end?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭ewj1978

Well wear.

BMW all my life. Wanted a cheap car for a 200km daily commute a couple of years back. Had a lovely 93 and have loved them ever since.

What did you get it for in the end?

Same as, nothing but BMW for years and since first posting on this thread i've bought my 3rd Saab.

A 2008 93 Aero Ttid Auto.

I'll be sinking a few bob into this one`. It's definitely a keeper.

Savage cars and great value because the average punter won't touch them :D

Well done, is that the one in Galway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭danoriordan1402

Looking for a run around for a short while myself and saw this, always liked the look of them - thought I would ask the Saab fans opinions. Would the fuel sensor be a huge job?

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2008-saab-93-1-8t-biopower-175hp-nct-10-19/18388201

Looking for a run around for a short while myself and saw this, always liked the look of them - thought I would ask the Saab fans opinions. Would the fuel sensor be a huge job?

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2008-saab-93-1-8t-biopower-175hp-nct-10-19/18388201

Not sure why such a huge cost - unless it's just a pain to get to the fuel sender unit.

The fuel sender unit can be got quite cheaply. Around €50-€60.

shinju wrote: »
    Not sure why such a huge cost - unless it's just a pain to get to the fuel sender unit.

The fuel sender unit can be got quite cheaply. Around €50-€60.

Does the tank have to dropped to fit I wonder, I guess the labour would be the costly part if so. Decent cars?

Yes, tank off but that' still sounds expensive

On reading the ad again I would imagine the quote is to replace the complete pump and sender unit which would be quiet expensive I would think.

Owning both BMW & Saab currently, i have the following advice.

Both cars are extremely low mileage single owner vehicles. They were almost as new when i purchased

However problems can and will be experienced.

For example, with my 06 BMW 320D that only had 25000 miles when i purchased it, it:
    - developed a problem with the ABS system
    - Required replacement of the ABS unit that would have cost 1,500 from BMW
    - purchased a used unit for eur150 and replaced myself (it does help to have some basic technical skills)

With my 07 Saab 9-3 Vector 1.8t, 1 previous owner, 18,500 miles now:
    - drivers side window would not close fully.
    - known problem - sorted with some googling. No cost
    - plus point - if a light bulb fails, the dashboard lets you know (and it keeps letting you know until you replace the fecker)

I would say this:
    - do not buy a car with existing problems
    - buy and expect problems afterwards
    - don't buy and expect to fix existing problems
    - even low mileage cars will develop problems simply because of time & ageing in some cases.
    - older higher mileage cars are not only older but they have had more wear & tear and so have a higher chance of mechanicals failing due to wear & tear over time.
    - the engine & fuel system may have been used more efficiently (due to motorway or long distance use) but everything else has worn down over time (suspension, shocks, absorbers, springs, brakes, engine mounts, fuel lines, clutch, gearbox etc. etc.)

I previously purchased an excellent Jag from a guy in Cavan. I paid my money and drove it home to Dublin.
    Luckily i stopped at a motoway service station to top up the fuel. That day i learned that the fuel gauge on the dashboard did not work. It showed one value (1/4 tank) but that was permanant and never changed.
    I could have ended up stuck without fuel in a diesel car on the motorway (very difficult to get a diesel started again after having been run dry).

The point being:
    - DO NOT trust sellers (they have their own agendas)
    - be prepared for problems
    - research, resaerch, resrearch, research
    - even if they promise to marry you, and promise a happy everafter, and you are incredibly desperate, DO NOT purchase. Because you will have a whole other level of issues.

Simply do not purchase a problem car.

(would you purchase a problem wife ??? Heck no! So simply DO NOT make that decision with your car)

It was indeed... Due to it not being taxed the previous owner agreed he would take the risk and drove it to me, fair play to him.
    For peace of mind I got a full service and TB+water pump done last week, has been a peach to drive ever since.

I bought this anyways :) my first Saab, great drive so far and am enjoying it.

shinju wrote: »
    I would say this:
    - do not buy a car with existing problems
    - buy and expect problems afterwards
    - don't buy and expect to fix existing problems

You’re completely contradicting yourself here. Every second hand car you buy will have problems. I’d be far more concerned about the problems I don’t know about then those I do.

I’ve picked up some great deals by buying cars with “problems” that cost little more then a couple of euro and a litttle bit of elbow grease to fix.

I bought this anyways :) my first Saab, great drive so far and am enjoying it.

Congrats on your purchase. Drove BMW for years and honestly never thought I’d ever drive anything else. Just bought my 3rd Saab in 2 years. A 2008 93 Aero Ttid. All the fun of the 535d without the dashboard light anxiety every time I turn the key.. parts are cheap and plentiful.. all the fun for a fraction of the cost.

I changed over to save money, now I wonder why I ever wasted so much on BMW in the first place. They are a spectacular car when everything is running right but an average trip to the main stealership would have bought either of my first 2 Saab’s.

Both are great cars in their own right and we all pick what’s right for us based on our priorities at the time but I really recommend anyone who’s ever thought about it to own at least one Saab while they still can !!