Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New(er) car for jou. E12 (FL) 'rolla.

• 23-01-2018 1:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,973 ✭✭✭✭
    Unregistered Users

Well, I love my old corolla, but rust eats it quicker and quicker, so have no option but to look for a replacement.

Some of ye know I am biased, so the range of choice is limited (OK, very limited). ;)

Looking for late (2006-2007) facelift E12 Corolla 5DR hatchback, 1.6 petrol, manual, not verso, not red (well, red metallic would be acceptable), not white.

Bodykit, leather and aircon would be great, but not a must.

Struggling to find one to be honest, there's only one on dd at the moment, but slightly over the budget (up to 3000 notes).

Your opinions on that particular one?

If any of you came across another one I would be more than happy to hear from you.

Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

That Mistral Blue just isn’t a great colour. As you’ll know we didn’t get the 1.6 manual here in Ireland. You’d be much better off getting one in the UK.

Colour Collection much easier to find than SR.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

I think that colour looks great, it's very mid noughties though, it was very popular back then on Ford's and stuff.

Is that car not worth 3k? Looks very heavily spec'd for a Corolla, well maintained and low mileage.

Only extras I can see are the spoiler and rear tints (over an Irish Luna model anyway)

Of course being UK it’ll probably have curtain airbags and an alarm and possibly VSC/TRC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭EPAndlee

I do like the digital display for climate control, the auto windows all round are a nice little extra to have. Had a T-Spirit model a few years ago and it had a good few extras compared to an Irish car

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Only extras I can see are the spoiler and rear tints (over an Irish Luna model anyway)

Of course being UK it’ll probably have curtain airbags and an alarm and possibly VSC/TRC

I suppose I meant more in relative terms, that that's as high spec an example of an e12 as you will find.

Did Irish Lunas get the silvery dash too? That looks well with the grey seats.

I suppose I meant more in relative terms, that that's as high spec an example of an e12 as you will find.

Did Irish Lunas get the silvery dash too? That looks well with the grey seats.

Yep, the Luna interior is identical to that.
    https://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/toyota/corolla/used-2006-toyota-corolla-1-4-luna-galway-fpa-1260082266608913715
    The Strata is the one with the basic dash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,973 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

Thanks guys for your opinions, really apreciated!
    That Mistral Blue just isn’t a great colour. As you’ll know we didn’t get the 1.6 manual here in Ireland. You’d be much better off getting one in the UK.

Colour Collection much easier to find than SR.
    Actually I must admit I like this colour. Loads of silver or black cars around, most of E12s around only black, silver, green, white or red (and I had red one last 10 years, so it's time to change). Also heard that particular colour was used exclusively for SR.

I didn't know there were no 1.6 in Ireland, but to be honest I'm not surprised at all. :D

Don't know about Irish Luna specs, but that SR apart from rear TTE spoiler and tinted windows has front and rear lip, side skirts and same wheels as T-sport - IMO the nicest wheels Toyota ever made (as with colour, each to their own).
    I think that colour looks great, it's very mid noughties though, it was very popular back then on Ford's and stuff.

Is that car not worth 3k? Looks very heavily spec'd for a Corolla, well maintained and low mileage.

[...]

You think it's worth 3 grand? I'm almost convinced to take a closer look. Would be more than happy to find someone to take a quick look at it before I travel 200km to see (hopefully not) nicely painted pile of scrap, especially test is almost out.

Unregistered Users

Looked around to compare prices and it looks like 3000-ish for that one is reasonable. Even in the UK 1.6 FL E12s are quite unusual, not many up for sale atm.

Asked my fella mech living near Dublin to take a look at it, hopefully this weekend.

Do you know what part of Dublin it's in Jou?

Unregistered Users

D7, sometimes Navan, but also commuting near Dublin city centre, according to his words.

Unregistered Users

Bought it without seeing.

My mech (who I trust with no exceptions) said he never saw a 10 y.o. car being in immaculate condition until today.

Will collect it on Monday.

Fair play! The SR seems to be rare enough alright.

They sold that colour in Ireland around 2006 but the only ones we got were in the basic Terra spec. I don’t think we ever got Luna in that colour. I think they did it on the Hilux too. I think it was available on the Mk1 Yaris facelift too?

Have you got any modifications planned for it?

Delighted for you, that's a nice car!

Unregistered Users

Delighted for you, that's a nice car!
    Fair play! The SR seems to be rare enough alright.
    Thank you. You both helped me a lot to decide.
    They sold that colour in Ireland around 2006 but the only ones we got were in the basic Terra spec. I don’t think we ever got Luna in that colour. I think they did it on the Hilux too. I think it was available on the Mk1 Yaris facelift too?
    Yep, when I googled that colour some hilux and FL yarii popped out indeed. Anyway, it's not the colour you can see on every second car you meet on the road, and I like it. :)
    Have you got any modifications planned for it?
    Sure! First mods will be applied the same day! :D

However this time will mostly be non-permanent ones (so easy to remove in the future) except 1.8 top end mod (both manifolds + throttle body + injectors).