Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Straying cattle, what to do?

• 22-01-2018 3:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭

Sorry to bring up an old thread but have a similar problem. A neighbour that is none for a lot of messing with cattle has land across a river from me. Last week I found him coming up out of my land and inquired what he was doing where he told me he had wild cows and calves that had came across the river into my land and he would not be able to get them out as the river was now too high. I didn't go too hard on him and just told him that hopefully the weather improves in the coming days and that when the river goes down he will get them out.
    However I know for a fact he is just chancing his arm and intends leaving them there for the winter with the excuse being he is unable to gather them. I know in the last week he has not come near them to look at them or with any feed. My plan is to ring him and tell him they have to be moved immediately and when he cites the excuse that he wont be able to catch them I will them him that's his problem and if they are not gone I will be contacting the department and the guards. My question is does anyone think I will have any luck with either the guards or the dept.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,775 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

How has your position changed so much from the time you met him on your land to now ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭k mac

@brian it's not that my position has changed i just said I would not get hostile immediately in the hope that he might then make some effort to remove the cattle even though i probably knew he wouldn't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭Parishlad

I had an issue like this last Summer. A lad chanced his arm putting a few cattle on to a rough bit of ground I have near an outfarm. Now, they could have been there a week before I spotted them. First of all I had to find out who owned the cattle. It was nobody immediately local but I found out who it was anyway and also what kind of character he was. I rang him and ask him to move them. He was saying similar that a couple of them were wild and he would struggle to get them out! Load of bull! I went up the following evening and they were still there so I went in with a few nuts in a bag and basically led them out of the place and back to where I knew them came from....another piece of land that he had rented from another local waste of space!

So OP is there any way you could get them out and lock them in to a yard for yer man to come and collect them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,733 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

K-max problem with lads like that is thereis o nly all take. You can do as pafish lad says or hire a truck and deliver the. To nearest pound. Another option is to contact the department. Unlikely Guards or pound will collect them.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,808 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Yes, if he doesn't oblige, let your local Agricultural Officer (AO) know. They won't be long dealing with him, esp if he's a messer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

Tell him if their wild that's grand for h/s purposes you know a guy with a high powered rifle that can shoot them at the weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭k mac

@parish lad it would be very hard to gather them up as where they have broke into is a run of about 12 acres of bog that I don't even graze myself unless maybe a few cattle or 2 ponies in summer time when its dry, a lot of bog holes in it so its not suitable and even if I did get them up out of there the next block of my land is 14 acres in one piece so would be hard get them from there too. Now I know the fella that owns the cattle will have the same problem but what he should be doing is going down twice a day with bit of meal to get them used to it and try coax them out. Of course they have never seen meal or man !! If he was genuine and making any effort to get them out I wouldn't mind if he left them there but as I said he is a pure dodge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,869 ✭✭✭148multi

He suggested making sure everything is fenced off but the problem is that the farmer took away the gate that was put up and anything else that was blocking the cattle.

This is where your farmer neighbour has made a big mistake, under the 2013 animal welfare act. Section 8(1)it is an criminal offence to allow farm animals to stray. Under section 8(2)it is criminal offence to interfere with a building, gate, fence, hedge or boundary wall used to contain farm animals without lawful excuse.
    Quoting both of these when making a complaint to the department of agriculture or the guards combined with the tag numbers and a few photos, you might need to do some research as to what member you approach, but if made to the district veterinary office superintendent, it should have immediate consequences.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,777 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

K mac I seperated out your post into this new thread, old one is 10 yrs old but if anyone wants to read it it's here; https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055325493

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

k mac wrote: »
    @brian it's not that my position has changed i just said I would not get hostile immediately in the hope that he might then make some effort to remove the cattle even though i probably knew he wouldn't

Fair enough.
    It’s a balls, we had awful problems here in the past.

You can and probably should start talking to the department about this, but it’s definitely the end of any civil relations with the neighbor- that’s presuming there any now.

The guards won’t be interested, it’s a civil not criminal matter.

Do you feel he intentionally put his cattle there for the winter to graze ??

We had a neighbor who would hunt our bull out to his cows when they were bulling as he had no bull himself.
    Father got thick at one stage and ran up 4 strands of barb wire, magically they were all cut down along one post with snips and the bull ended in his field again. It went on for years and was a total torture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,904 ✭✭✭kk.man

These types are everywhere..ive a fella renting ground near me..he has sheep..he is not as intelligent as some of the chancers as you has discribed. His sheep can't break into mine because I'm well fenced.
    What really p@i@?s me off bout him I ring him every time I see them break. It's all thanks but nothing in return. Me thinks he never finished finishing school...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,106 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

_Brian wrote: »

We had a neighbor who would hunt our bull out to his cows when they were bulling as he had no bull himself.
    Father got thick at one stage and ran up 4 strands of barb wire, magically they were all cut down along one post with snips and the bull ended in his field again. It went on for years and was a total torture.

What happened after?

Did you switch to ai?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭mrs.doubt.fire

_Brian wrote: »

OMG...I'm laughing coz we had a neighbor who did that too for years, he was also a relation to my husband but the family did'nt talk to him. Every year he would let our Bull into his fields with his cows and a week or so later he'd phone us giving out like hell that our Bull was in his field and to come get him. But one year it was me who answered the phone, we knew the Bull was there again and when he gave out to me for the Bull being in his field, I just laughed and said...oh so your finished with him then, right so, we'll come get him!! LOL

I know someone had neighbors scrubb bull in all the time and got caught with good cows carrying rubbish calves to him more than once.
    He took the bull in and squeezed it and left it back saying nothing. The guy didn’t notice until he had hardly any cows in calf the following spring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭anthony500_1

Get them in some way and load them up and off to the pound, these type of lads will keep doing it if they get away with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Ring him tell him some git has dumped a whole pile of car batteries over the hedge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭mrs.doubt.fire

Tell him your cattle have tested positive for TB...that'll get him moving his cattle asap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭dzer2

Nothing like a department inspection

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Aravo

Years ago before tagging, there was a lad down my way who had wandering sheep. The land they were on was about 10 miles away from his house. Used to drive one particular adjoining landowner mad. Any time it was mentioned to owner, he would just say that he would be about tomorrow and never was. So one particular summers day the sheep had strayed. The owner got a call to say they were in closed meadow. He said he would take care of it tomorrow. The lad said he better move quicker than that as they were dropped off at a nearby abbatoir.