Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Horses and New Forestry Plantaion

• 06-01-2018 5:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7

As per thread title have a big problem with horses being put onto my land. No premiums being paid because of damage being done.

Got them out before Christmas but today have found them back in again. Very frustrated and upset with whole thing.

Owners aren't too far away if you get my drift and therefore unaproachable.

Anyone have any experience of dealing with this??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,513 ✭✭✭Melodeon

Certain Ethnic types were at this lark in our plantation, but a few trips to the County Pound to retrieve their beloved bloodstock put an end to it.
    The Triple-S solution was considered, but wasn't required in the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 Kippers12

Melodeon wrote: »
    Certain Ethnic types were at this lark in our plantation, but a few trips to the County Pound to retrieve their beloved bloodstock put an end to it.
    The Triple-S solution was considered, but wasn't required in the end.

Went the local pound about them, didn't want to know. Don't know what to do at this stage.

We initially contacted the Gardaí, explaining that the horses had strayed unto our land and that they posed a danger to road traffic if/when they strayed back out again. :)

The Gardaí contacted the Pound to do the needful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Stick them omn donedeal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭Peter90

Load them and land them in a mature forest up a mountain miles and miles away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭leeside11

Had a similar problem a couple of years ago. Had a plantation adjoining Coilte forestry.
    They walked them in through Coilte trees to get onto mine.
    Got them out eventually with help but you're constantly watching your property.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Peter90 wrote:
    Load them and land them in a mature forest up a mountain miles and miles away

There were 2 goats on our farm years ago, we had an old van so my 2 brothers loaded them into the boot and on the way to their junior Match let them off at the side of the road on a rural byroad. Anyways when they were in the dressing room getting toggled, a lad came in late, he had just narrowly missed a goat on the road and had slid into a field!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭Never wrestle with pigs

Had a few let off here a few years ago. I left them a week and sent them for burgers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭Cattlepen

Gather up the horses. Clip the mane and tail. Ompletly off one and tell the boyos that this could happen the rest of them. They will move them. No one will buy the horse wit no mane or tail

If there nice ones i need a new hunter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Butcher Boy

is there any bit of flesh on them? one word burgers burgers burgers,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,037 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

There must be some back door chippery business going on here.

Back years ago when unfortunately a horse from here had to go a factory. They were very insistent on a microchip and passport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,574 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Contact the guards and tell them your issue. Loading them up for the pound as the pound has to take them as an earlier op said. The mane and tail sounds a good idea if that will not work. Contact the ISPCA and tell them and they may take them and as far as I know they must be passported to get back from pound or iSPCA.

Horse factory's will not take them but a knackery will if you gather them up slaughter them and take them. I do not thing they charge anything like what they charge for cattle collection.

Slava Ukrainii

Update on this: went down to my field this morning, met the "owner" asked him politely to move them on which he did before threatening myself, family and property all sorts of retribution.
    So we are all "marked" in his word. Off to the barracks tomorrow to have the threats on record in case anything does happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Kippers12 wrote: »
    Update on this: went down to my field this morning, met the "owner" asked him politely to move them on which he did before threatening myself, family and property all sorts of retribution.
    So we are all "marked" in his word. Off to the barracks tomorrow to have the threats on record in case anything does happen.

Probabaly big man talk but no harm to have the guards informed and they might help you out better if the horses come in again .
    If they come in again get on to the dept of ag , they can put a notice on your land saying they will impound the horses , and if its ignored for a certain amount of days they will get them taken away

Bullocks wrote: »
    Probabaly big man talk but no harm to have the guards informed and they might help you out better if the horses come in again .
    If they come in again get on to the dept of ag , they can put a notice on your land saying they will impound the horses , and if its ignored for a certain amount of days they will get them taken away

He's a violent character in any case, alot of publicity about him on media in recent years. Good idea on the Dept though, will go down this route next time.

Big joe???

Big joe???

Tell you one thing, one of the comments suggested clipping their manes and tails, with this guy I'd probably end up in A and E or worse.
    Was made perfectly aware their horses weren't to be touched in very graphic terms.
    Nice country we live in..

They don't like to be told that if they don't do something, or if something happens to your property, that you're grandfather was a preacher and you'll be calling on him to put a curse on his family.

They still get very wearded out by a treat of a curse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Find a window their curses are better espically if they're wearing all black when they make them

ganmo wrote: »
    Find a window their curses are better espically if they're wearing all black when they make them

Lol, it's true though, lad near me was getting greaf from "sales men" that wouldn't leave him alone. Said he'd put a curse on them and they sh!t a brick and left 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,037 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Oh a Widow!

:D:D

Oh a Widow!

:D:D

FFS
    fat finger syndrome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭Cattlepen

Tell you one thing, one of the comments suggested clipping their manes and tails, with this guy I'd probably end up in A and E or worse.
    Was made perfectly aware their horses weren't to be touched in very graphic terms.
    Nice country we live in..

It was I suggested it. If you are dealing with the apemen that someone suggested to earlier you are probably right about ending up in A+E. Terrible though that we all have to live in fear of these animals

Cattlepen wrote: »
    It was I suggested it. If you are dealing with the apemen that someone suggested to earlier you are probably right about ending up in A+E. Terrible though that we all have to live in fear of these animals

Reported to Gardai today. Statement was read back to me and quite honestly the threats that were made were frightening to listen back to.
    Never was in this situation before and wouldn't wish it on anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,574 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Reported to Gardai today. Statement was read back to me and quite honestly the threats that were made were frightening to listen back to.
    Never was in this situation before and wouldn't wish it on anyone.

What did the guards say and are they taking action.

Slava Ukrainii

What did the guards say and are they taking action.

They'll make a decision as what action they'll take. Even if they give him a warning to stay away from us, I'd be happy enough.
    They're close enough to us plus there's a big family of them to cope with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭TheClubMan

@Melodeon The Triple-S solution? $h*t; Shower; Shave? 😂 Also OP. That's a terrible situation you find yourself in. There's no reasoning with their kind. I remember about 10 years ago a large settlement of them moved down the road beside our silage ground. When my contractor was picking up the harvester took in springs from a mattress they had burned and did a lot of damage. There was a stand off between the travellers and the silage crew before the guards arrived to ease tensions. They moved on a few days later when the slurry went out. I may have 'accidentally' overlapped by the road... A jcb was brought in straight away to bank up the ditch. Thankfully they haven't been back around here. Hope they don't cause you anymore hassle OP and you can get your plantation thriving again.

i wonder what paveen would have to say about incidents like this

Mod note.... Lads, we can't advocate illegal actions in any scenario. Illegal stuff is illegal.

Thanks GC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

i wonder what paveen would have to say about incidents like this

They would find an excuse for it