Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Worried about going on anti depressants

• 03-01-2018 3:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭

Hi all

I've need experiencing very bad anxiety over the last few years which has gradually become worse. I've tried self help books,exercising etc but I'm anxious most the time which in the past year has affected me getting a job and even meeting friends.
    I think I now have depression over all this as I'm clearly not dealing with it well. I have decided to go on antidepressants but I'm absolutely terrified that it'll make things worse (although things are low as it is)

Has anyone got any positive antidepressants story's that may help?
    I really don't want to go on them but cant spend another year the way I have been.

Story's much appreciated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Well, Ill tell you some of my story.

I suffer with anxiety. So I see it as something I have to manage. I go to councelling once per month and take an antidepressant daily.

I didnt want to go on antids, but one day the anxiety was so bad, I had to try something. Particularly around my periods, I was on a downward slope. I went to my GP (who am confident with) and explained how I was feeling. The pill isnt a cure. But its something to help me.

I tried one type antid, and didnt feel it worked. Changed dose. Then changed to another antid. There can be some monitoring of how you are feeling after 2/3 months. Youll know yourself.

For me, I cant say it has transformed me. Life still presents challenges. But, it has calmed me. One thing I was very worried about was that I might not be able to feel (numbed out of it) and that isnt so. I just feel more...rational...more able...

I do combine with exercise too. And will have a go on the punch bag now and then :-)

I saw it as taking charge of myself.

I take it discreetly. In the morning. At work. Thats something youve to figure out-when suits you.

All in all, Id recommend it. One of the people I most admire where I work takes antids. One thing Ive noticed between us is we seem to deplete quickly in vitamin B12. So, I (know they do too) take a supplement. Thats something for you to explore too.

If youve any specific questions, fire away :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭LostTazMan

I put off going on medication for as long as I could, and spent a lot longer in hell than I could have as a result. I have been on venlafaxine with 6 years now, and find it an enormous help.

I do have to be careful about which generic brand I use, as I react badly to changes. It is also a bit frustrating that I need to take a tablet every day, but I keep telling myself that if I was a diabetic I would need to be taking far more to survive.

Every person is different, and individual, as are their illnesses, and the correct medication for one person could be the worst thing possible for another person with the same symptoms.

Talk to your GP. They will be able to advise you on whether medication is the way to go for you, and on which treatment to use.

Best regards,
    LTM.

Should you not be addressing the anxiety first if going down the route of medicating or have you done anything on that front?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 849 ✭✭✭Tenigate

Personally, i had a bad experience and still have some side effects. Obviously get input from your gp, but counselling in conjunction with anti anxiety medication (as opposed to anti depressants) is worth exploring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

I've been on Lexapro for years. I find it absolutely fantastic and have zero side effects.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

I've been on Lexapro for years. I find it absolutely fantastic and have zero side effects.

Same. It was a game changer. I still get anxiety and depression, but I've a bit more clarity and I'm able to process things a bit better than I was before.
    It's important to use it in conjunction with steps to make your life better, its more of a scaffolding than a permanent structure. But it really gives you the support to even work out what steps will make your life better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭strandroad

I was on antidepressants for two or three months, and they absolutely worked for me. Almost overnight. They do create a weird robotic mood, and they took away my appetite completely, but they allowed me to think like a normal person again within a day or two; I started counselling a week or two in.
    I was lucky in that the first choice of medication worked for me, but I was prepared to try a few. It was a textbook depressive episode, but no anxiety or suicidal ideation was present.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭bikubesong

I've been on Zoloft for several years. It took about 6-8 weeks (maybe longer) for me to notice any improvement in my mood, which I'm told is to be expected. I would happily keep taking antidepressants for the rest of my life, if medical advice permits it.

I read once 'If depression is a sharp knife, medication dulls the blade', and that sums it up for me. I definitely still have low moments, but nothing nearly as intense as how I felt before. A friend of mine disliked taking antidepressants for this reason - she felt numb to everything. That hasn't been my experience but everyone is different.

Chat to your GP about your questions. If you do start taking medication, make sure you allow enough time for it to build up in your system and take effect (side effects permitting).

Op here. Thanks for the replies. It's nice to hear other people's stories.
    The antidepressant I'm planning to go on have been mentioned here(not sure does forum rules forbid me to say it?) But it can be used for anxiety and depression.

@aghere I've tried cbt but it didn't work for me at all. I also tried to get another appointment but the therapist never contacted me. Also called another therapist (she is in training as I can't afford a fully trained one :/ ) she said it would be months before I could get an appointment.
    I've tried meditation,yoga,books but nothing is long lasting.

I'm not too bothered about the numb feeling as being honest, I feel nothing anymore anyway. I can't remember the last time I was genuinely excited about something. The only thing I feel is love for my family,anxiety and fear. This is what has pushed me to go on medication it's scary that I haven't felt happiness in a long long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭Afroshack

I'm currently on Sertraline (Zoloft) and I find it fantastic. Like you, I was also nervous and apprehensive about going on them due to the stigma, and also anecdotal stories about how they "change" you.

I needn't have worried.
    They don't "change" you. They didn't "change" me. They simply made my life easier whilst I was going through a really difficult time with crying spells, lack of sleep and extreme low moods.

After I started taking them, I felt able to start counselling, exercising, practising self care, doing all the little things I SHOULD have been doing but couldn't face. Taking them was a crutch that just made life a little easier.

A year on, I am much better. No crying spells, looking after myself etc. I trained for a 10k and marathon, moved in with my bf, got a great new job and opened up to my friends to create this wonderful network of support. I needed the meds to help me get here. No shame in that.

Despite my progress, I don't feel 100% ready to wean myself off yet, and my doctor is fine with that - it takes time and it will take a little longer. You need to do what's right for you OP, and if that means taking meds for a while, so be it. Just look after yourself too, plenty of self care and being kind to yourself. Good luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

OP, have you gone to a GP for help at any stage during this? The impression I've got from your post is that you've been trying to deal with your issues by yourself without help from anyone. I see mention of self-help books and you appear to have self-diagnosed yourself as having depression. People react to different medications in different ways. The most important thing is that you have a good relationship with your GP. That you'll know what (if anything) you're being subscribed and to know what side-effects it might have. There is a stigma attached to anti-depressants and we've all heard the stories of their downsides. Your GP should be in a good position to outline them to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭mojesius

I'm on a low-ish dose for the past two years for anxiety. It was spiralling out of control by the time I went to the gp. Couldn't even think about the things I'd learned in counselling at that stage I was so wound up.

Within a month, I was doing a lot better. The grinding teeth, jaw pain, exhaustion, worries about nothing subsided and I was able to live a more normal life and plot my thoughts more rationally.

For me, exercise where I switch off definitely also helps (in place of other tried techniques like meditation, as my mind is too busy to sit still). Going for a 40/60 minute run alone daily, I found so beneficial to my mood, thoughts, sleep.

Tried to wean myself off last year and had a lot of life changes going on at the time, which brought the anxiety back so went back on the low dose.

As others have said, it's not a cure, but an aid. You still need to work on yourself, but your GP is the expert :) . Best of luck!

I took lexapro for about a year and found it great. But it completely killed my libido and this eventually started affecting me and the relationship I was in. So I went off them, when I went off them I was experiencing weird electric shock sensation when I turned my head. It wasn't uncomfortable or anything and lasted for about 2 weeks.

Another positive story here.
    Suffered with severe anxiety. I found counselling very helpful but resisted the idea of medication for a long time. Eventually I realised I had nothing to lose except the anxiety. I was prescribed a low dosage of Lexapro. I had little or no side effects. Certainly nothing like my anxious mind had built up, before taking that first tablet.

Combined with counselling, exercise, mindfulness, determination to get back to my normal, everyday life, it worked for me.
    Talk to your GP, talk to a pharmacist - I bless the lovely pharmacist who sat down with me and answered my questions, in detail about the medication. She put a lot of my fears to rest.

Take care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭bobsman

Hi Op, I suffer from Generalised Anxiety Disorder (that's an official diagnosis!). Struggled with crippling anxiety for years. Tried everything, exercise, mindfulness, yoga, counselling. I have had nothing but positive results with anti depressants. I am on Venlaflaxine (Effexor), which means nothing to you but it is an anti depressant, generally prescribed for anxiety disorders.

I am not left numb or zombified. I just feel normal. I did have a major relapse in November, due to a relationship break up but I'm doing okay now.

I also watch my diet and I do exercise and run (running is fantastic). I also watch the booze.

Your first port of call is obviously your GP. Please speak to him/her. If he/she prescribes antids, it will be managed and monitored.

Keep reaching out here. I feel your pain. Have been where you are ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

donorvene wrote: »
    I took lexapro for about a year and found it great. But it completely killed my libido and this eventually started affecting me and the relationship I was in. So I went off them, when I went off them I was experiencing weird electric shock sensation when I turned my head. It wasn't uncomfortable or anything and lasted for about 2 weeks.
    Op if you do decide to go on anti-depressants the most important thing to remember is that you should never, ever just stop taking them (even if you think they are not working). They are serious mind altering drugs and you can have serious withdrawal symptoms. I was on Lexapro and one day I started feeling weird. Like the above poster I had electric shocks, dizziness and I didn't know what the hell was wrong with me. Then I realised I'd forgotton to take my pill for two days. I took one and within a couple of hours I was back to normal.

I was on 20mg and when I decided it was time to come off them I did a month on 15, a month on 10 and a month on 5. I was grand that way. Some side effects you might experience are weight gain, loss of libido and extreme tiredness at the beginning. Talk to your gp or pharmacist is you have any concerns. You'd be surprised at the amount of people on anti-depressants. There's no shame in it. The way I see it is if I had a headache, I wouldn't just try to solider on, I'd take some painkillers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

If you have health insurance I highly recommend a day patient programme if your insurance will cover it. You'll find it much faster getting the right drugs that work for you. If you have GAD it's more down to neurotransmitters than something you can fix so my advice is get on the medication and sort the rest out later. Again a day hospital will give you the classes you need to do the non-drug side of things.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 12,230 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

Me too and I find it really effective. I do have some unpleasant side effects though... jaw tension, brain zaps, insomnia sometimes, can be difficult to orgasm (oh yeah)...

igCorcaigh wrote: »
    Me too and I find it really effective. I do have some unpleasant side effects though... jaw tension, brain zaps, insomnia sometimes, can be difficult to orgasm (oh yeah)...

Anorgasma is a real issue on AntiD's it's treatable though so it's worth asking about. Fair play to you for being the one who brought it up. No pun intended.

If you have health insurance I highly recommend a day patient programme if your insurance will cover it. You'll find it much faster getting the right drugs that work for you. If you have GAD it's more down to neurotransmitters than something you can fix so my advice is get on the medication and sort the rest out later. Again a day hospital will give you the classes you need to do the non-drug side of things.

Op here thanks for all the replies. I have been diagnosed with pstd,social anxiety disorder and generalised anxiety disorder ( all due to a big traumatic event)
    Can I ask would you know if I could bring this up with my gp?about the day patient programme? I'm going to see my doctor in the next few days but I have the feeling I'll be fobbed off and just have pills shoved in my face. I hate confrontation even more so since all this began so I don't like causing drama. I do have private health care but have no idea what I'm covered for

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,254 ✭✭✭✭beertons

I'm on Venelfexine past 2 years, 112.5mg, for anxiety. No biggie, but keeps me nice and mellow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭never_mind

Been on Mirtazapine since 2013 I'd say - recently went up the dose to the highest to see if it helps with some ongoing anxiety. Gained a bit of weight and felt a bit tired some days but that's literally it! Anorgasm was an issue for me and this was sorted out with finding the right medication.

I remember driving home after a few weeks of being on it. I had done CBT at this point for nearly a year and was just finding things intolerable so I went to the doctor to get medication. I remember clearly the night I was driving home after I realized I hadn't been anxious or down in a week or two and I started crying with happiness. I turned a corner and you can too! Medication is a resource and along with other things can be very helpful to recover.

beertons wrote: »
    I'm on Venelfexine past 2 years, 112.5mg, for anxiety. No biggie, but keeps me nice and mellow.

Me too. Do you have to buy two separate tabs?? One 75 mg and 37.5mg??

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,254 ✭✭✭✭beertons

bobsman wrote: »
    Me too. Do you have to buy two separate tabs?? One 75 mg and 37.5mg??

Yep, one yellow and one orange.

beertons wrote: »
    Yep, one yellow and one orange.

A nuisance buying two but hey, if they work!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭Feets

Sorry to hear about how anxious you are. My friend went on a small doseage and she cope 100 percent better. She is a better version of herself. I feel the best way to cope is that you dont put a time limit on yoyrself. They can only make you feel better if you stick to the guidelines.

You will be fine. Be open about it in your circles too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭jenggg

Hi, I’d also like to say you should definitely try them. I can only give you my experience.
    I was in a hole about 7 years ago-didn’t know what was wrong with me. I went for counselling, read self help books etc but eventually after 10 months of struggling I asked my doctor to prescribe Prozac. She agreed it was worth trying. I started on the lowest dose of 20mg. The early side effects were tiredness and sweating and some nausea. I began to feel better but increased the dose to 30mg three months later to get the full benefit. It pulled me out of the hole and gave me my life back. Some of the side effects continued like crazy nightsweats and dreams. I put on some weight and there was a loss of libido. It was worth it all though and after 12 months I started to taper down very slowly. I got a liquid version so I was only taking 5 mg in the end. I was off them in a year and a half after starting them -it did it’s job! I’ve since had a better counsellor who’s helped me with my issues that caused the depression in the first place. I would however have no qualms about taking them again if I needed to down the line. I might try a different SSRI next time only to see if the continuous side effects were a little less.
    It really bothers me when people are anti medication-depression cannot always be fixed with exercise and mindfulness no matter what these gurus say. Sometimes you just need the chemicals to rewire your brain a little. Once you feel better you can deal with your issues better for long term relief.
    I was very careful about taking it at the same time every day and not giving up after a week or two. It will take time to work so if you do go for it OP give them a chance and keep in touch with your doctor. Don’t be afraid to give them a call to discuss anything on how you’re feeling while taking them, particularly in the beginning.
    As I say that’s my experience but I know not everyone has a good one.
    Beat of luck OP-anxiety is tough.

Op here. Thanks again for all the replies. I have been previously diagnosed with ptsd,social anxiety disorder and generalised anxiety disorder (this is due to a traumatic life event that happened a few years ago)
    I tried to post last night but my post never went up but I didn't even know there was such a thing as a day patient clinic. My gp never told me about this. Depending on what my doctor says when I go for my appointment I'd like to bring it up would it be an option. I feel like my doctor is just sick of me at the moment and I tend to go along with whatever they say rather than speaking up for what I want as a patient.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭Vela

I'm sorry to hear you're feeling this way. Definitely give the anti-d's a go. This is just my experience but hopefully it'll help.

I was diagnosed with PTSD 6 years ago and refused meds for a year, and even then benzos (taken sporadically as needed) were the only things that worked for me. Since then, I've tried about 10 different anti-d's and even a mood stabiliser. None of them "worked" until recently. What I mean is the side effects were too much or they just had no effect. So then I'd sometimes just stop trying them, until things got so bad again I made myself give it another go. But I recently tried Mirtazapine and it made such a difference to my mood it's been unbelievable. Unfortunately, I had a lot of weight gain so had to come off it (don't panic if this happens to you because the weight has nearly all come back off already), but I've been put on an alternative that's weight neutral and in the same class of anti-d.

I'd advise you to read up on SSRIs, SNRIs, TCAs, and basically all of the types of anti-d's and how they work. For example, tetracyclic anti-d's seem to be working for me because they have a sedative effect that helps my sleep and calms my anxiety (which is my main issue).

Also, don't be put off about the talk of benzo addiction, yes it's very real but it's not going to happen if you're responsible about how you take your meds and you're not taking them daily. Benzos have helped me through some very dark periods and I find that they're a really good "emergency" med to have on hand.

My main bit of advice would be that it can take a long, long time to find out what works for you. But don't give up on it. The first 3 you try might not work, but the 4th might change everything for you. Best of luck.

Mirtazapine is the only thing that helps with my insomnia, but leaves me incapable of doing much the next day, very sedating!

Is that Zispin, Corgaigh ??

Op here. Thanks again for all the replies. I have been previously diagnosed with ptsd,social anxiety disorder and generalised anxiety disorder (this is due to a traumatic life event that happened a few years ago)
    I tried to post last night but my post never went up but I didn't even know there was such a thing as a day patient clinic. My gp never told me about this. Depending on what my doctor says when I go for my appointment I'd like to bring it up would it be an option. I feel like my doctor is just sick of me at the moment and I tend to go along with whatever they say rather than speaking up for what I want as a patient.

If you're in Dublin, Highfield is excellent. Sorted in 8 weeks what GPs couldn't sort in 8 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,154 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

If you're in Dublin, Highfield is excellent. Sorted in 8 weeks what GPs couldn't sort in 8 years.

THanks, that's an interesting option - didn't realise that kind of service was available here, though it's a long way from here.

Have you any idea of the insurance situation. Most insurance policies cover 90 day in-patient and some very limited cover for outpatient services. How is their day service treated?

bobsman wrote: »
    Is that Zispin, Corgaigh ??

Don't know, was prescribed to me as Mirtazapine, possibly generic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 569 ✭✭✭mark_jmc

I’ve been on anti d’s since I was 17 nearly 23 years ago While I would prefer not to have to take meds these have helped me to live a normal successful life. I wouldn’t be afraid to try them- it may turn out that you don’t need them long term, but even if you do- who cares - a tablet a day to help you feel ‘normal’ sounds like a good deal to me. By the way it’s venlaflaxine I take.
    Hope you feel better soon
    Mark

Don't know, was prescribed to me as Mirtazapine, possibly generic.

Yeah it's Zispin. Also comes as Mirap.

OP if you don't have a therapist/psych then I'd strongly suggest getting that sorted too. If you can afford it, go for private therapy and make sure it's a qualified counseling or clinical psychologist (I wouldn't put much faith in diploma counselors dealing with PTSD).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,309 ✭✭✭chicorytip

Anorgasma is a real issue on AntiD's it's treatable though so it's worth asking about. Fair play to you for being the one who brought it up. No pun intended.

Men who take anti-depressants experience retarded ejaculation but are still capable of achieving Orgasm and feeling it's pleasurable sensation. Generally speaking, these substances are massively over prescribed and most people who take them do not need them and would instead benefit from talk therapy and major changes in lifestyle. "Depression", so called, is not an illness. It is a mood. If a loved one dies or you lose your job you will experience low mood. Of course. Popping a pill should never become a normal or acceptable solution to the problems and difficulties that life can often produce for all of us.

chicorytip wrote: »
    Men who take anti-depressants experience retarded ejaculation but are still capable of achieving Orgasm and feeling it's pleasurable sensation. Generally speaking, these substances are massively over prescribed and most people who take them do not need them and would instead benefit from talk therapy and major changes in lifestyle. "Depression", so called, is not an illness. It is a mood. If a loved one dies or you lose your job you will experience low mood. Of course. Popping a pill should never become a normal or acceptable solution to the problems and difficulties that life can often produce for all of us.

Clinical depression is an illness, and one you've never experienced if this is your attitude towards it.

THanks, that's an interesting option - didn't realise that kind of service was available here, though it's a long way from here.

Have you any idea of the insurance situation. Most insurance policies cover 90 day in-patient and some very limited cover for outpatient services. How is their day service treated?

Treated as in-patient services; I had 100 days cover. The follow up isn't covered though so it's €100 a time to see the shrink but well, well worth it.

Depression is caused by low neurotransmitter levels, the the same way other illnesses are caused by low B12 or whatever. The transmitter levels need to be raised and the root causes looked at. You can't, with severe depression, do one without the other. The fact it's not a mood is borne out by the fact that life for many is pretty peachy but yet they still suffer depression.

As for combining talk therapy, looking at diet, sleep, exercise that's great but have you any idea how difficult it is to get access to that sort of programme? Mental health services are underfunded and oversubscribed. Antidepressants when they work are an absolute godsend to people with long term issues and not, as you so glibly put it, to get over life's problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,154 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Treated as in-patient services; I had 100 days cover. The follow up isn't covered though so it's €100 a time to see the shrink but well, well worth it.

Thanks, good to know, and good to hear that it worked well for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,309 ✭✭✭chicorytip

Vela wrote:
    Clinical depression is an illness, and one you've never experienced if this is your attitude towards it.

Clinical Depression, as I understand it, is defined as being caused by a lack of serotonin in the brain. But what examination or method of diagnosis is there to determine this? That is my point. We have this broadly defined word - "Depression"- which, it seems, has no accurate meaning. Psychoactive medications are suitable only for treating those with very serious mental health problems such as Schizophrenia or Psychosis and should never be prescribed in a haphazard or random manner by a G.P., as is commonplace nowadays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭never_mind

Clinical Depression, as I understand it, is defined as being caused by a lack of serotonin in the brain. But what examination or method of diagnosis is there to determine this? That is my point. We have this broadly defined word - "Depression"- which, it seems, has no accurate meaning. Psychoactive medications are suitable only for treating those with very serious mental health problems such as Schizophrenia or Psychosis and should never be prescribed in a haphazard or random manner by a G.P., as is commonplace nowadays.

I don't think the poster needs your quasi-scientific advice here as they are going to a GP with regards to their medication. The OP is looking for others' experiences using them and has clearly made a decision that they require medication.

Depression is a very real and very treatable medical condition. If you can't understand that then you might want to reconsider advising those in vulnerable positions like the OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,739 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Look at it this way, OP; if you had an infection you'd take antibiotics. If you had an injury you'd take painkillers. Anti depressants are a medication to help you get better, just like antibiotics or painkillers. You don't have to take them forever, they're just there to help you get over a rough patch.