Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

sisters think im gay

• 28-12-2017 8:49pm
    Registered Users Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭

hi there, have a problem thats begining to wreck my head. my sisters were using my laptop and i think they may have seen that i was looking up gay bars in kilkenny about two years ago . perhaps from google history search. anyway ever since they think im gay. im a single 34 year old guy. i have never been in a serious relationship but have been with a good lot of women and have the reputation of a player. however i have also experimented with lads and men i a have met a few guys for sex in the last 3 years but would never go down the road of coming out as bisexual. however my sisters are constantly digging at me about possibly gay themes howver its very subtle and quite upsetting to be honest. at christmas dinner my sister asked what i thought of meghan markle. i mean wtf is that about? anyway i said she was grand or something, she just said ah would u even notice her? not sure what that meant but i said no more. stuff like that , they say the whole time. another time about 3 years ago i was getting a lift with a lad into town from another pub and my sister asks kinda messing, oh is he gay? and then laughed. not sure what i can do about this but its extremly uncomfotable.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭Dickie10

my sisters are 40 and 42

• Registered Users Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

Ask them to stop?

Sounds like you're at least a little more 'bisexual' than the average straight guy too. That needn't be a source of shame for you. But I understand teasing from siblings can be annoying regardless.

Can't really see a way out other than taking to them.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Just tell them your happy the way you are.

But if you think your straight I think you are mistaken.

Straight guys don't have sex with other men so find that comment a bit strange.

If your happy then go with it don't be worrying about what sisters think, maybe they just want to see you settle down and be happy whether with a male or female.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

Dickie10 wrote: »
    my sisters are 40 and 42

Are you sure they're not 10 and 12?

Sisters can be annoying full stop.

However, you need to be honest with yourself.

no id imagine im bi i enjoy sex with women as well, although i do fantasise a lot abut guys and find my type of guy turns me on a lot. i have met and kissed a good few guys at this stage, i started off experimenting with transsexual escorts. does this surpise anyone?

• Registered Users Posts: 40,982 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

You dont have to justify yourself as how you define at all OP

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭Maz2016

OP, do what makes you happy. Don't worry about anyone else. You don't have to give yourself a label. If you are bi so be it - if you are gay so be it. I think you will be happier in yourself if you sit back and think about what you want. And it sounds like if you ever were to come out as gay/bi, that you would have the support from the sisters.
    I have been with guys and girls all my life. Liked being with both but preferred and fancied guys more. I had zero intentions of coming out to anyone. One day myself and a mate went for a quite Sunday afternoon pint. He accidentally let it slip that he uses Grindr, so he had to come out to me. I came out to him too- it was weird but a relief. A few months later I came out to my other best mate as bi. He basically said fair play and that it makes no difference to our friendship.
    The point I'm trying to make is do what makes you happy. Those 2 lads I told dont care if I get off with Mary or Paddy but I can be myself around them - and that feels so good. Maybe chat to your sisters and say the jokes make you uncomfortable. Best of luck man

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭JackTaylorFan

i started off experimenting with transsexual escorts. does this surpise anyone?

Lol. Nope..

Also., who is Megham Merkyl?

• Registered Users Posts: 37,295 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

not sure what i can do about this but its extremly uncomfotable.
    Have you considered that they're taking pleasure from seeing you squirm?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

no id imagine im bi i enjoy sex with women as well, although i do fantasise a lot abut guys and find my type of guy turns me on a lot. i have met and kissed a good few guys at this stage, i started off experimenting with transsexual escorts. does this surpise anyone?

Does what surprise anyone OP?

Your sisters should seek to talk to you if they want to discuss your sex-life/ love-life with anyone.

what do u mean if they want to discuss my sex life with anyone? why would they be doing that? do u think they would be asking around?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

what do u mean if they want to discuss my sex life with anyone? why would they be doing that? do u think they would be asking around?

You said they were passing comments about your sexuality or you perceived that's what they were doing.

I didn't say they should be asking around.

It is your business, none of their business.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭JackTaylorFan

imme wrote: »
    Does what surprise anyone OP?

OP wants to know if his closeted experimenting with transwomen is shocking...

• Registered Users Posts: 9,297 ✭✭✭cgcsb

Well, you are a bisexual, no?
    Your sisters want to see you happy, with somebody. At the minute you're being secretive, dodging their questions and essentially maintaining an air of a-sexuality. Why don't you just tell them that you are bi-sexual and currently playing the field but not dating anybody.

Of course your sisters are going to be curios if you've never brought anyone home and unfortunately there are many pockets of this country where people can only express themselves through attempting to be funny. The worst way to respond to them would be with more secrets and lies.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭road_high

cgcsb wrote: »
    Well, you are a bisexual, no?
    Your sisters want to see you happy, with somebody. At the minute you're being secretive, dodging their questions and essentially maintaining an air of a-sexuality. Why don't you just tell them that you are bi-sexual and currently playing the field but not dating anybody.

Of course your sisters are going to be curios if you've never brought anyone home and unfortunately there are many pockets of this country where people can only express themselves through attempting to be funny. The worst way to respond to them would be with more secrets and lies.

What? So you need to be "with somebody" to be happy? Right....

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,498 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

road_high wrote: »
    Right....

Am I missing something here? What's the sarky post for?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,297 ✭✭✭cgcsb

road_high wrote: »
    What? So you need to be "with somebody" to be happy? Right....

Well that's how many (most??) people, especially women, view the world, yes. Being an old spinster(or bachelor to some extent) has been throughout history and even still is considered an extremely undesirable existence by most.