Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone get out of qa?

• 27-12-2017 7:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭

As above, I'm thinking of leaving and getting free slurry from a local digester.
    Your not allowed to spread it when in qa.

I don't kill any cattle bar a casualty cow. Any cull cows I think I'd do as well in the mart and my bulls are sold at around 10 months. My heifers are sold in special sales or off farm. So I suppose I don't really seem the benefit of staying in it when I can get free slurry instead.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15 LastOrders

As above, I'm thinking of leaving and getting free slurry from a local digester.
    Your not allowed to spread it when in qa.

I don't kill any cattle bar a casualty cow. Any cull cows I think I'd do as well in the mart and my bulls are sold at around 10 months. My heifers are sold in special sales or off farm. So I suppose I don't really seem the benefit of staying in it when I can get free slurry instead.

Don't finish myself so not in qa but surely if can get free slurry and don't finish it's a no brainer. Even if finishing only a few the free slurry probably leave more in your pocket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,018 ✭✭✭L1985

We aren't in it. Long story as to why. Doesn't affect us-only 1/2 animals factoried at max and everything else is sent to the mart. It doesn't affect our prices there.i can't see a huge reason for us to be in it to be honest. Free slurry would seem like a good reason not to be......oh and our cull cows did a LOT better at the mart!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

There is little point in being in QA unless you are killing a few cattle. The only other reason is if you are selling very forward stores that need to be within 40-50 days of sale, You may find a few farmers taht pay extra for QA in stores but it is really immaterial. Biggest thing I look at is number of movements. I have to be 4th owner at max

If you are getting free slurry just watch your nitrates that you remain sub 170 units/HA. However if the draw is more than a few miles this type of slurry costs as much as fertlizer

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭Cattlepen

I got put out of it. In the previous inspection I got a 98%. The reason I didn't get 100% was the inspector made a mistake and wouldn't go back on his palm computer to rectify it. The next year a little know it all so and so came out and failed me and then put things in the report that weren't a problem. He even got cheeky about personal stuff. It was the nearest I ever came to hitting a lad a box.
    Anyway I'm out and I don't care. I sell them as stores and I have pedigree bulls to sell so it's not relevant to me anymore

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15 LastOrders

Cattlepen wrote: »
    I got put out of it. In the previous inspection I got a 98%. The reason I didn't get 100% was the inspector made a mistake and wouldn't go back on his palm computer to rectify it. The next year a little know it all so and so came out and failed me and then put things in the report that weren't a problem. He even got cheeky about personal stuff. It was the nearest I ever came to hitting a lad a box.
    Anyway I'm out and I don't care. I sell them as stores and I have pedigree bulls to sell so it's not relevant to me anymore

Jaysus this post has me raging. You should have levelled him with a box, the bloody pencil pusher. I never took QA seriously and thought it was more to create a few jobs for D4 Ag graduates then anything else. This post verifies that.

Up there with the movements nonsense. Another tool for the factory to enable their agents to clean up at mart rings and keep pressure on lads. Combined with age limits. The consumer doesn't give a damn about these things. Jesus its infuriating stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭Cattlepen

LastOrders wrote: »
    Jaysus this post has me raging. You should have levelled him with a box, the bloody pencil pusher. I never took QA seriously and thought it was more to create a few jobs for D4 Ag graduates then anything else. This post verifies that.

Up there with the movements nonsense. Another tool for the factory to enable their agents to clean up at mart rings and keep pressure on lads. Combined with age limits. The consumer doesn't give a damn about these things. Jesus its infuriating stuff.

Sure he started saying things like "you didn't earn yer money at farming, ya must be a builder"
    Ya couldn't write it. Total chip on the shoulder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭moneyheer

Only gone into qa recently because glanbia made it compulsory 😑. Personally always reckoned it's jobs for the boys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,715 ✭✭✭Bellview

Cattlepen wrote:
    I got put out of it. In the previous inspection I got a 98%. The reason I didn't get 100% was the inspector made a mistake and wouldn't go back on his palm computer to rectify it. The next year a little know it all so and so came out and failed me and then put things in the report that weren't a problem. He even got cheeky about personal stuff. It was the nearest I ever came to hitting a lad a box. Anyway I'm out and I don't care. I sell them as stores and I have pedigree bulls to sell so it's not relevant to me anymore

Same as you sell pedigree bulls and few culls so no need for it..but I once had a dairy man come to me and state that since I was not in Qa it was a bad thing..my only response back was all cattle johnes level 1 and Ibr negative which is more that any qa crap.
    I also know a former qa inspector who correctly failed a lad for sending cattle to factory before withdrawal period was complete...he made an admin error in report and because of that he was kicked off inspector role and the boys that broke the rules are still in program.. that put a question mark on whole ethics of scheme for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,838 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Cattlepen wrote:
    Sure he started saying things like "you didn't earn yer money at farming, ya must be a builder" Ya couldn't write it. Total chip on the shoulder

I think it's time for a disclaimer form for all farm visits/inspections, (as in one owned by the farmer..) one of the clauses snuck in there could be.. All calls and conversations can be recorded (for quality purposes)
    And then record every visit on the phone and save it...

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭Never wrestle with pigs

If you are getting free slurry just watch your nitrates that you remain sub 170 units/HA. However if the draw is more than a few miles this type of slurry costs as much as fertlizer

I have to give my maps and get my soil tested before I get the slurry. It's all above board that way. It's delivered for free and dropped into my tank and I spread. I'm kind of can't refuse to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭Never wrestle with pigs

Bellview wrote: »
    Same as you sell pedigree bulls and few culls so no need for it.

I just got into a few pedigrees too. Do you sell in any of the pedigree sales? I couldn't remember if it's a requirement for them or not. Can't see why it would be anything got to do with pedigree sales.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

I was in a dairy man's yard back in September. He was giving out about having to wait for the co-ops"creamery manager" to call to take a photo of a new pto cover that he had to put on his topper. He had his first BB inspection a few weeks before and all the shortcomings were sent back to the coops dairy rep who had the "nice" job of telling the farmers what to do and then calling back to see they were done. He's not a popular man in some places since. The BB lads are scoring lads well on the day but saying very little about what's wrong. Leaving the yard without much abuse. Cute out.
    Where a topper pto cover fits in with milk QA is a mystery and a joke. Health and safety yes but let H&S lads check that.