Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I just had a car crash

• 23-12-2017 11:36am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭

So there I am, tootling along on the way to pick up son from work. Istop at a roundabout, not hard braking, no sudden stop or anything, then BANG. shunted forward by the impact of the car behind.
    Before I could even gather my thoughts the other driver was at my door, all concerned for my well being. Checked the car and it appeared fine. I noticed some minor bumper cracks when i got home but nothing major and its an 02 so not gonna sweat it.
    But when I looked at his car, my god the horror. He was driving some sort of Hydunai I think. the whole front grill was smashed, one light was out, bumper cracked in the middle. His passenger could not get out cos her door would not open. (bent frame maybe? I dunno)
    The poor bloke seemed on the verge of tears, he kept saying how sorry he was, explained he was looking at car on the right of roundabout and did not see me stop. He was on his way to the airport, am guessing to pick up family from the very slight accent he had. I genuinely felt so sorry for him, I was almost apologising for his ruined Christmas lol. In the end I wished him well and went on my way.
    My son agreed that it was the right thing to do, the poor bloke has enough to worry about trying to fix his own car. I kinda wish I had gotten his number so I could check he was ok and got his car sorted, call it closure/ nosiness.

The biggest shock to me was the difference between his 141 car and my 02 car. Everyone says they don't make them like that anymore but c'mon, this was daft. Why the hell is my car perfect and his folded like wet tissue. So anyway, we constantly hear about minor injuries resulting in large payouts, for once I thought the motors forum could do with some opposite news.

I guess with all the mayhem and stupidity on the roads at this time of year it just felt good to bring a little clam and clarity to the situation. I am ok, he has enough troubles, shake hands, wish him a merry xmas and be on my way. So how would other posters have handled it? Any advice in case it happens again in the future? Not my first crash, but I never seem to think clearly at the time.

Oh and if anyone knows a Leroy with a messed up front grill in the Dundalk area, now ya know why pmsl.

You should know it's not necessarily over yet.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭Yawns

Just get yourself checked over, you might feel ok but the shock can wear off and you might feel rough in day or so.

Also get your car checked by a garage. Some damage could be done behind the bumper but the bumpers can bounce back into shape and you might not realise. Glad you're not injured and nice to hear someone not out to screw someone else, but also make sure you are checked out and the car as well. Have you a tow bar by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭Old Perry

soups05 wrote: »
    So there I am, tootling along on the way to pick up son from work. Istop at a roundabout, not hard braking, no sudden stop or anything, then BANG. shunted forward by the impact of the car behind.
    Before I could even gather my thoughts the other driver was at my door, all concerned for my well being. Checked the car and it appeared fine. I noticed some minor bumper cracks when i got home but nothing major and its an 02 so not gonna sweat it.
    But when I looked at his car, my god the horror. He was driving some sort of Hydunai I think. the whole front grill was smashed, one light was out, bumper cracked in the middle. His passenger could not get out cos her door would not open. (bent frame maybe? I dunno)
    The poor bloke seemed on the verge of tears, he kept saying how sorry he was, explained he was looking at car on the right of roundabout and did not see me stop. He was on his way to the airport, am guessing to pick up family from the very slight accent he had. I genuinely felt so sorry for him, I was almost apologising for his ruined Christmas lol. In the end I wished him well and went on my way.
    My son agreed that it was the right thing to do, the poor bloke has enough to worry about trying to fix his own car. I kinda wish I had gotten his number so I could check he was ok and got his car sorted, call it closure/ nosiness.

The biggest shock to me was the difference between his 141 car and my 02 car. Everyone says they don't make them like that anymore but c'mon, this was daft. Why the hell is my car perfect and his folded like wet tissue. So anyway, we constantly hear about minor injuries resulting in large payouts, for once I thought the motors forum could do with some opposite news.

I guess with all the mayhem and stupidity on the roads at this time of year it just felt good to bring a little clam and clarity to the situation. I am ok, he has enough troubles, shake hands, wish him a merry xmas and be on my way. So how would other posters have handled it? Any advice in case it happens again in the future? Not my first crash, but I never seem to think clearly at the time.

Oh and if anyone knows a Leroy with a messed up front grill in the Dundalk area, now ya know why pmsl.

The lesser spotted common sense appears, good on ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

Report it to the Gardai, if nobody is hurt the just to have record of it. Report to insurance immediately to have it on record but make it clear you aren't making a claim as you weren't in the wrong.

Take his reg and insurance details, get a quote from my main dealer for the cost of repair. Go to the doctor if I'm feeling any pain. Contact his insurance company regarding the cost of repair, rental car, medical etc.

Save the dash cam footage. That's what I'd do anyway. Of course if they wanted to pay cash I'd offer them the chance but the second they start arsing around is when I'd contact their insurance. Or maybe my insurance would contact their insurance? I'm not 100% sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭exaisle

Nobody's dead and damage to cars is just plastic and metal.

OP is somebody showing some compassion and common sense...a rarity!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭Call me Al

You did the right and good thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

New modern cars are designed with crumple zones so that the car body absorbs all of the impact and not the passengers hence the reason they crumple like a tin can. It’s not that they’re lesser structurally, it’s a safety thing.

If it had been the other way round, your car would have been badly damaged at the front but you would have also suffered from seat belt type injuries or worse.

The rear of your car is solid, if the new car had been hit in the rear it would have crumpled yok to absorb the impact.

It means newer cars suffer more damage in minor accidents but the passengers usually walk away injury free.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭Sue Pa Key Pa

You did a genuinely nice thing, but I would make sure there isn't hidden damage to your car for future safety reasons. If neither of you are hurt, just report it to your insurer for record purposes. If you do have significant hidden damage or an injury comes to light, don't feel bad about lodging a claim, that's what he paid his premium for. If everyone took this approach, we would all be paying less for cover.

Fair play OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Well done your good deed will come back to you ten fold

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭meforever

"So anyway, we constantly hear about minor injuries resulting in large payouts, for once I thought the motors forum could do with some opposite news"

Love this post...for all the right reasons...good on you..

Always best practice to exchange details regardless because you never know...

The other car that crumbled my be what saved you from whiplash. They are designed specifically to do just that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭soups05

New modern cars are designed with crumple zones so that the car body absorbs all of the impact and not the passengers hence the reason they crumple like a tin can. It’s not that they’re lesser structurally, it’s a safety thing.

If it had been the other way round, your car would have been badly damaged at the front but you would have also suffered from seat belt type injuries or worse.

The rear of your car is solid, if the new car had been hit in the rear it would have crumpled yok to absorb the impact.

It means newer cars suffer more damage in minor accidents but the passengers usually walk away injury free.

aahhhh, now that makes a lotta sense. Cheers for the good advice folks, did not expect so many replies so fast. I did consider taking down his particulars (oh er missus) but then he would be waiting/on edge for months wondering if am going to hit him up for a claim. at least he knows it not going to happen now.
    if there is a next time, i will certainly do that, just in case. but the worst injury I have at the moment is wrist strain from patting myself on the back. (and ear-ache from wife about how I could have hit the jackpot, she is more money focused :( )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭NickNickleby

Fair play to you.

Like most people , I've read about and actually known people who go round in neck braces for a couple of months, only for them to fall off miraculously the day after the big payout -kaching!! I'm sure we all wish them the best of luck with their sudden windfalls.

So here;s someone who doesn't see everything as a chance to screw few bob out of someone else. Well done. I truly believe in Karma. Your new friend will surely pass on this good luck to someone else - and eventually, you or someone close to you will be a beneficiary.

Happy Christmas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Patww79 wrote: »

But I don't understand, how could he claim off me to fix his car. It was not my fault?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,944 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Patww79 wrote: »

Even if he was the one that rear ended the OP?

Ok, now am worried. What have I missed? Should I really notify gardi, insurance company etc? I do have dash cam footage, but its forward facing so you don't see anything. Plus no reg, only a first name, pretty sure he never took my reg, if he has a cam it would show him in the wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Ok, now am worried. What have I missed? Should I really notify gardi, insurance company etc? I do have dash cam footage, but its forward facing so you don't see anything. Plus no reg, only a first name, pretty sure he never took my reg, if he has a cam it would show him in the wrong.

You haven’t missed anything except a bunch of internet insurance experts who always look on the most pessimistic outcome.

He hit you as you were stopped at the time, no matter what way he tries to swing his excuse, he was in the wrong. There is no grey area in it.

At the same time I would still report it to my insurance company and the Gardai. I know you don’t have his details but give them yours just for record purposes.

I don’t believe he will attempt to claim from your insurance judging by his demeanour at the time, he admitted it was his fault as he wasn’t looking. I genuinely don’t think you’ll ever hear about it again but tell your insurance co all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭StereoSound

Your too nice OP, I'd report it to a Garda station just to get it on record. What if he says you slammed on your breaks and he couldnt stop in time or something hairy like that which might complicate things? Id trust no one. I was hit recently and the lad was arsing around and I had to go through his insurance even though he seemed so genuine and wanted to pay cash for the repair. I heard nothing back from him after wasting time waiting for him to pay me for quotes. I dunno but I'd report it just to be safe. You have pictures and his reg I assume.

https://youtu.be/8RCyhcZzro0

upped the video but like i said it does not show much. I had not thought of the car park angle Pat. Am too bloody innocent sometimes. My gut feeling is Leroy was just a nice bloke, unfortunate to hit me, but no harm no foul. He came off worse due to his low front bumper versus my high back bumper. (02 vectra b)

I am sure he would not try to blame me, Karma and all that. I am also sure that an insurance company would somehow, someway, use this to increase my premium lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭sham58107

DaveyDave wrote: »
    Report it to the Gardai, if nobody is hurt the just to have record of it. Report to insurance immediately to have it on record but make it clear you aren't making a claim as you weren't in the wrong.

Take his reg and insurance details, get a quote from my main dealer for the cost of repair. Go to the doctor if I'm feeling any pain. Contact his insurance company regarding the cost of repair, rental car, medical etc.

Save the dash cam footage. That's what I'd do anyway. Of course if they wanted to pay cash I'd offer them the chance but the second they start arsing around is when I'd contact their insurance. Or maybe my insurance would contact their insurance? I'm not 100% sure.

Jeez OP said their car was okay, no wonder insurance is so high in Ireland, you mentioned everyone but the Army and more importantly her solicitor

Think if we had more like OP this would be a better place for all.

To OP don't worry he hit you ! just enjoy Christmas and as I said wish there was more like you .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

I pass that roundabout every day, i'll keep an eye out for a battered Hyundai!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,795 ✭✭✭Isambard

It could come back to haunt you but it probably won't Twice I've had people run into me and twice I've done what you did and heard nothing more. Hope it works out for you, you did a good thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

But I don't understand, how could he claim off me to fix his car. It was not my fault?

That's why you should inform the Gaurds. Unless you had a witness in your car, it 2 v1 if there's a claim/dispute/court case. But excellent behaviour by both drivers so far. Happy Christmas to both.

Op, there is nothing to worry about, but you do need to notify your insurer of the incident for record purposes. It is an important condition in your contract. Ignore any comments to the contrary here, it will not increase your premium.

That's why you should inform the Gaurds. Unless you had a witness in your car, it 2 v1 if there's a claim/dispute/court case.
    Gardai won't be interested when there is damage only and it is of no benefit if they didn't attend the scene

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

I take it guys voice was person that rammed into you.?

That's good evidence if something comes back on you, I wouldn't worry about it . but yeh I'd inform guards and maybe insurance. You really should have taken photos , maybe with phone and got details .

We got skrewed over years ago , car hit us, said "go pay for damage and send us bill". Then refused to pay it. You couldn't make it up.
    Then last year same happened again , only this time I did all I said above, got money the following week. I know they were different people but you make it easier on your self when you got your shyte together .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

sham58107 wrote: »
    Jeez OP said their car was okay, no wonder insurance is so high in Ireland, you mentioned everyone but the Army and more importantly her solicitor

Think if we had more like OP this would be a better place for all.

To OP don't worry he hit you ! just enjoy Christmas and as I said wish there was more like you .

He's not a mechanic and it's possible there's underlying damage. I wasn't saying to go claim for whiplash or anything was I? No. Most of what I said is to do with reporting it for records and getting things checked to ensure things are ok just in case. If someone hit my car and it's a "just a scratch" chances are I'll need re calibration of parking sensors, labor and a rental car. I'm on PCP and the car has to be fixed by a main dealer, OP stated in his post "So how would other posters have handled it?" That's what I would do.

It's all well and good he was apologetic for hitting the OP but it's still best to have it on record and get checked over. It's likely nothing would come of it. No matter how genuinely sorry they are, if someone hit my car it's an investment of mine and I'd want it fixed. It's what they're paying insurance for.

Get over yourself if you think everyone should have the "ah sure it's grand" attitude when someone rear ends their pride and joy. If I'm ever hit, I'll just let VW know he was "sorry" when I hand the car back. I'm sure they'll understand and I'll just accept the loss in value when trading in.

Insurance isn't high because someone claimed on insurance. It's high because people can't drive and crash into people. I have nothing nice to say of the scum out there wearing neck braces for payouts but don't come at me for at the very least have it on record and get it checked over. You also have to realise modern cars are very expensive to fix. Parking sensors, heated wing mirrors etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,237 ✭✭✭kirving

The biggest shock to me was the difference between his 141 car and my 02 car. Everyone says they don't make them like that anymore but c'mon, this was daft. Why the hell is my car perfect and his folded like wet tissue.

Your car is designed to protect you from rear impacts which often can be fast. A few things come into play here, but the first is that your body weight in a rear impact is fully supported by the seat, and so the impact is better spread out that it would be by a seatbelt - so the crumple zone doesn't need to be as big as it does on the front.

The second is the car manufacturer doesn't know what you're carrying in the boot - so can't design a crumple zone that may cause a suitcase to be crushed into the rear seat. It's better to subject the occupants to greater acceleration forces than to potential crush injuries.

The third is that the front of the Hyundai is designed to disintegrate as it hits a child's legs and soften the impact. Only when you get past the weak bumper structure will the real strength of the newer car expose itself.

I tipped into a the back of an 06 audi once (another story) but it had a dent in the bumper.

My 08 golf needed a head light,wing,bonnet, radiator bracket, bumper and tyre.

The fronts of cars are soft!

you guys are so intelligent when it comes to cars, now I realise why everyone else breaks when they see someone crossing the road in front of them rather than speeding up and aiming for the enemy pedestrian. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

Fair play OP, by the sounds of it he hit you at a decent enough speed.

I've no doubt that if it had happened to tens of thousands of other people then ambulances would have been on the scene and they would be going to sleep (when they are able to sleep that is, the trauma of the accident has given them PTSD don't cha know) with Euro signs dancing in the brains.

You don't mention any injury?

I'm assuming that you are some kind of cyborg or similar given the seeming weetabix make up of the average Irish motorists neck.

All joking aside though, it's thoroughly refreshing to see someone in a situation like your own not taking the piss.

I'd love if you rang an injury solicitor and outlined events exactly as they happened and tell them you have not suffered any physical ill effects and see if they encourage you to seek reparations.

I'd be fairly confident they would.

Anyway, as I said, fair play to you for being so honest, Im wishing that you get the good karma back ten fold.

pmsl, i never said i was not injured. woke this morning feeling fairly sore in the chest and back. But its take two panadol and take it easy sort of injury not clog up a&e, courts etc kind of injury.

Am no saint, i had an accident a couple of years ago and i did put in a claim as i was injured, proper injured, suffering real pain injured. but as i have not seen any benefit from that claim yet (still not settled) i am not gonna jump on that bandwagon again unless its for a good reason.