Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Merry Christmas Men

• 19-12-2017 2:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭

Interesting article today...Men, now ruining christmas for their wives

some quotes:
    A lot of men aren’t interested in Christmas because they’ve always had everything done for them – they grew up with mammy doing everything and they have the expectation that Christmas just happens
    typically, it’s a battle of the sexes – men are clueless when it comes to Christmas and they don’t understand the shopping, or buying the turkey.

Christmas is a big burden for women, far more so than for men. You’ll get a present from a couple and more than likely the man won’t even know what it is.”
    “I’m seeing that when it comes to Christmas, it’s very much up to the woman – definitely the pressure is on me. My husband is quite sanguine about it because he doesn’t see it as his responsibility.
    “He’s already saying things like: ‘It’ll be grand, it’s no bother to you.’ He says he doesn’t know what all the stressing is about, but that’s because of an assumption that I’m the one who’ll be taking care of everything. He’s not worrying about having good dinner-ware or cutlery for the Christmas table, or having the children dressed in nice clothes!”
    The father will do what he’s told but the mother’s the project manager and chief bottle-washer combined,”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭Blacktie.

It's Christmas can we take a break from the sexist stuff for a few days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,696 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

its-time-for-me-to-stand-up-for-gender-equality-maybe-tomorrow-CWJdS.jpg

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,547 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Thought this was going to be a nice "Merry Christmas, what are ye up to" kind of thread. Alas...

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭SuperSean11

I went out to buy a turkey and came back with a porcupine, if only i had a vagina I’d have gotten the right thing.

Who were you quoting btw op?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

Who were you quoting btw op?

sorry I meant to include link

its from todays IT

https://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/health-family/parenting/why-do-some-women-feel-a-murderous-rage-at-christmas-1.3322999

Believe it or not, given other events today it is entitled:
    Why do some women feel a ‘murderous rage’ at Christmas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,666 ✭✭✭tritium

Ah, Irish Times, that explains a lot!. Who wants to write the strongly worded letter this time, I'm sick of writing (unpublished) letters complaining about their misandry. I think it's a little echo chamber over there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,444 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

It's fairly accurate from my perspective anyway :p

I don't think it's intended to be sexist or misandrist or anything else, I certainly wouldn't have taken it seriously!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,666 ✭✭✭tritium

I don't think it's intended to be sexist or misandrist or anything else, I certainly wouldn't have taken it seriously!

If you swapped the words men and women around in it would it still be considered acceptable humour?

I mean, youre saying its not meant to be sexist but this is paragraph 2:

"“I see it in my friends and relations. It’s very gender-driven; it’s about women believing that the fun in Christmas is in their hands,” she says, adding that sometimes the responsibility can become too much."

And it goes in like that. One long whine about how hard christmas is for women and how little men do to help. I mean, is it just me that grew up in an environment where my male role models worked their socks off too to make Christmas special? Is it just me in the male population who currently does it? I dont believe it is.

I dont normally share personal stuff on boards but true story. When i was a nipper i recall my dad doing a five hour round trip on Christmas eve, by himself on **** old roads in the dark and rain, to get some presents that had accidentally been left behind. That was to ensure we had a perfect Christmas. I dont believe I'm the only one here who has family memories like that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,498 ✭✭✭Lu Tze

I'll remember this when I'm removing the legs from the turkey, and carefully removing the bones and sinews from the legs that I was lucky to avoid the difficult work of buying the thing! Which reminds me, need to get out the stone and steel in preparation!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,444 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

tritium wrote: »
    If you swapped the words men and women around in it would it still be considered acceptable humour?

Ahh I wouldn't suggest anyone else should see the funny side of it, I mean there's a lot of stuff in the article too about how women put themselves under pressure and compete with each other on social media, and the decision whether to have an Instagram Christmas, or a happy Christmas. I've often said that women are often their own worst enemy, and that's also observed in the article. Simply reversing the genders would make it an inaccurate reflection of Christmas for me personally, so rather than seeing the humour, I just wouldn't get it at all, if that makes sense?

I mean, youre saying its not meant to be sexist but this is paragraph 2:

"“I see it in my friends and relations. It’s very gender-driven; it’s about women believing that the fun in Christmas is in their hands,” she says, adding that sometimes the responsibility can become too much."

And it goes in like that. One long whine about how hard christmas is for women and how little men do to help. I mean, is it just me that grew up in an environment where my male role models worked their socks off too to make Christmas special? Is it just me in the male population who currently does it? I dont believe it is.

I dont normally share personal stuff on boards but true story. When i was a nipper i recall my dad doing a five hour round trip on Christmas eve, by himself on **** old roads in the dark and rain, to get some presents that had accidentally been left behind. That was to ensure we had a perfect Christmas. I dont believe I'm the only one here who has family memories like that?

The bit in bold there, that's exactly how I read it, if I'm being honest, and that's why I wouldn't take it seriously, because I know well it's not an accurate representation of reality, but rather it's simply another long-winded whine that if I'm being honest is one of the reasons I just couldn't be bothered with actually taking it seriously.

I don't think for a minute it's an accurate representation of all men, and just like you're tired of writing letters, I'm not interested in a competitive whining match either. One article that reeks of how women put so much pressure on themselves having bent to the commercialisation and consumerist culture of what Christmas means to them to show off on social media, isn't going to undo my sense of self-worth.

It's not just you btw that wants to make Christmas special for other people and for your family, but just like you don't feel a need to have everyone pat you on the back and tell you how great you are, neither do most men in my experience. More men in my experience at this time will be stressed out about the more mundane things like the bills and so on, but they won't let on because they want everyone to enjoy Christmas.

I've got plenty of personal stories about Christmas too, but honestly I've always just thought of it as "I just do what needs doing", and wouldn't be interested in making a big song and dance about "how hard I have it" (I really don't, but I'm just saying :D), so that's why I wouldn't think a piece like that would apply to me, but certainly it applies to many women I know including my wife who goes all out at Christmas to make sure everyone is all happy and all the rest of it. I just couldn't be entertaining what I see as the whole insincerity of it for what is described in the article as the "Instagram Christmas", and I certainly didn't read it like the OP as accusing men of ruining Christmas. That's reaching, in all fairness!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Why, oh why, are "the paper of national record" publishing whines wouldn't get a positive response if they were a Facebook post?

I know no-one wants to pay for quality journalism anymore but surely such an institution can manage better than this?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,547 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Sleepy wrote: »
    Why, oh why, are "the paper of national record" publishing whines wouldn't get a positive response if they were a Facebook post?

I know no-one wants to pay for quality journalism anymore but surely such an institution can manage better than this?

It's a highly profitable business model. Publish utter clickbait drivel and it'll be widely disseminated by fanatics who disagree with it and those who agree with it alike, almost as if they're the same group and watch ad revenue soar.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,387 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

Riskymove wrote: »
    Interesting article today...Men, now ruining christmas for their wives

Quote:
    A lot of men aren’t interested in Christmas because they’ve always had everything done for them – they grew up with mammy doing everything and they have the expectation that Christmas just happens

True.

Quote:
    Typically, it’s a battle of the sexes – men are clueless when it comes to Christmas and they don’t understand the shopping, or buying the turkey.

True.

Quote:
    Christmas is a big burden for women, far more so than for men. You’ll get a present from a couple and more than likely the man won’t even know what it is.”

True.

Quote:
    “I’m seeing that when it comes to Christmas, it’s very much up to the woman – definitely the pressure is on me. My husband is quite sanguine about it because he doesn’t see it as his responsibility.
    “He’s already saying things like: ‘It’ll be grand, it’s no bother to you.’ He says he doesn’t know what all the stressing is about, but that’s because of an assumption that I’m the one who’ll be taking care of everything. He’s not worrying about having good dinner-ware or cutlery for the Christmas table, or having the children dressed in nice clothes!”

Normally true.

Quote:
    The father will do what he’s told but the mother’s the project manager and chief bottle-washer combined,”

Normally true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,491 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Quote:

True.

Quote:
    Typically, it’s a battle of the sexes – men are clueless when it comes to Christmas and they don’t understand the shopping, or buying the turkey.

True.

Quote:

True.

Quote:

Normally true.

Quote:

Normally true.

Maybe for you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭milehip

It might be true, but in my experience it's women who are obsessed with the whole Christmas schlock in the first place, they put themselves under pressure to have everything perfect and for what?

Doesn't make a blind bit of difference how much tinsel is hanging in the gaff, I wish
    they'd chill out to feck and stop stressing over it,think everyone would enjoy the season more if that was the case.

Tl,dr. Less is more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭SuperSean11

You don’t have perspective or depth perception with only one eye jack

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,430 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Thought this was going to be a nice "Merry Christmas, what are ye up to" kind of thread. Alas...

Merry Xmas. What are you upto?

We doing a nice dinner on Xmas Eve with my sis over from England. Then Santa in the morn before heading to my other sisters for dinner. Finishing up work on Fri :)
    Looking fwd to the break

Pawwed Rig wrote: »
    Merry Xmas. What are you upto?

We doing a nice dinner on Xmas Eve with my sis over from England. Then Santa in the morn before heading to my other sisters for dinner. Finishing up work on Fri :)
    Looking fwd to the break

Heading home tomorrow. Can't say I am looking forward to the arduous bus trip at the end though.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,550 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

Bah humbug!

Merry xmas one and all!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

True.

My dad does the Christmas food shopping and the cooking. He's always done it. My mum does the presents... although I can't really see buying everything online and getting it shipped early in the year to be a terrible chore.

Also since I'm a bachelor in my 40s, I've also been the one to do the shopping and cooking both for myself and my mates.

These kinds of stereotypes of the woman doing the cooking are pretty inaccurate. Most women I've dated recently couldn't cook more than a potato, but could make a wonderful expresso (professional career-driven ladies). Time has moved on.

I don't like shopping at Christmas, but then I suspect anyone who does, to be insane.

All these "true" things are stereotypical rubbish. Is it true in some cases? sure. But our society has moved on. I know plenty of relationships where the female is more successful in their career, and the male has more time to do the shopping, cooking, etc.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,105 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Let me guess, that “article” was written by Una Mulally or Roisin Ingle, wasn’t it?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Middle Man

JupiterKid wrote: »
    Let me guess, that “article” was written by Una Mulally or Roisin Ingle, wasn’t it?
    There's plenty of time to deal with such tripe - for now, it's Christmas!

Happy Christmas to all!