If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact

National Association of Gaelic Clubs

  • 12-12-2017 7:27pm
    Registered Users Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭

    Interesting footnote to GAA history.

    It was a split initiated by Kickhams in Dublin over their apparently being deliberately frustrated in the administration of GAA in the county. So they decided to form a split called the NAGC. It had its first convention in Wexford in 1915 and claimed to have a county board there, and in Galway, and the affiliation of four Dublin clubs.

    In 1917 they had even begun to organise their own "All Ireland."!

    However, Kickhams were brought back into the Dublin tent in 1919 and the organisation seems to have collapsed after that. anyone know of its existence in other counties?


  • Registered Users Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

    So what are we supposed to call them, then?

    The Continuity Kickhams?

    The People's Liberation Front of Ballymun?

  • Registered Users Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

    They have been difficult chaps over the years! Both Na Fianna (1955) and Ballymun (through amalgamation with Ballymun Gaels in 60s) originated in the original Kickhams.

    Don't think Ballymun count Kickhams impressive record of Dublin championships and All Irelands as Dublin reps as part of roll of honour.