Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The kinahans raid

• 09-12-2017 2:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭

Just out of curiosity I was wondering if anyone here could identify and value the watches seized from the boyo's the other day.

news/crime/cab-seize-30k-in-cash-cars-and-20-watches-in-series-of-raids-targeting-kinahan-cartel-36390701.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

From a sekonda to a Panerai, a varied collection

One thing is certain in terms of their high end watches these people have no taste

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,601 ✭✭✭893bet

Is that a sekonda? Lol!

That diamond AP is a show!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,291 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,291 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

imme wrote: »
    One thing is certain in terms of their high end watches these people have no taste
    To be fair its a different taste. Consider some of the very high end Swiss marques and the to my eyes overpriced gaudy tat they peddle and sell a lot of. I personally find Hublot's output beyond ghastly and the much venerated Richard Mille might make some fantastic movements but design balance is not among his talents, nor is an off switch for tacky. Different markets want different "tastes". So the Asian market has a generally different take on taste to the European market or the Middle Eastern market.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭CarltonBrowne

They couldn't even pick a decent-looking Panerai!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭Old Perry

Wibbs wrote: »

Thanks .I only put in half the link

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,402 ✭✭✭✭unkel

They couldn't even pick a decent-looking Panerai!

That's a bit harsh!

Would be interesting to be a fly on the wall all the same when they're in Weir's deciding on what to buy. Would they just only look at watches over €5k? Pay anonymously with cash, to mainly just offload some unlaundered cash?

Lotus Elan turbo for sale:

https://www.adverts.ie/vehicles/lotus-elan-turbo/35456469

My ads on adverts.ie:

https://www.adverts.ie/member/5856/ads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,521 ✭✭✭Ryath

The Audemars Piguet certainly cost a few bob if genuine!
    https://www.chrono24.com/audemarspiguet/audemars-piguet-chronograph-42mm-royal-oak-offshore--id5175934.htm

I'm sure a lot of the other watches were a lot dearer than a €60 sekonda.

I'd say off loading cash is a big reason behind it, anything over €15000 would have to declared by the jewellers though?

Not if they buy in places like Dubai. It's also a hand way of moving money across borders. Not so much the AP, because that's daftly obvious, but something like a vintage steel cased Rolex that could be worth thens of thousands could go through unseen by customs etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

Wibbs wrote: »
    To be fair its a different taste. Consider some of the very high end Swiss marques and the to my eyes overpriced gaudy tat they peddle and sell a lot of. I personally find Hublot's output beyond ghastly and the much venerated Richard Mille might make some fantastic movements but design balance is not among his talents, nor is an off switch for tacky. Different markets want different "tastes". So the Asian market has a generally different take on taste to the European market or the Middle Eastern market.

Different markets, I get that.
    This is simply bad taste in my opinion.
    A fancy watch name, ott model, just for show. Bling bling.

One of these cartel-related people was in the media recently with a designer wash bag under his arm, a la Premier League footballer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭AmberGold

Over the summer I took a RyanAir flight to Birmingham, ended up sitting beside a Dublin chap in his early 20s, Armani Tracksuit, D&G carry on, Louis Vuitton man bag and a fairly tasty AP steel watch.

He was on the phone to his mate the whole time inc. 4 min or so after take off (using headphones). The nature of the conversation related to lads that would want to watch themselves, this Garda, that judge, mates upcoming court cases etc. He then proceeded to look at about 20 photos on his phone of scantily dressed young ladies.

Absolute skanger but an interesting few hours all the same. Couldn’t help thinking at the time he was one of the henchmen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭2hellr2conaght

Ryath wrote: »
    The Audemars Piguet certainly cost a few bob if genuine!
    https://www.chrono24.com/audemarspiguet/audemars-piguet-chronograph-42mm-royal-oak-offshore--id5175934.htm

I'm sure a lot of the other watches were a lot dearer than a €60 sekonda.

I'd say off loading cash is a big reason behind it, anything over €15000 would have to declared by the jewellers though?

I feel that after researching, the AP is fake. On pics alone. The fact that there was a diamond tester sways me even more.