Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

walk in (no notice)cross compliance inspection

• 29-11-2017 4:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭

Just had a compliance inspection here again this morning 2nd in 2 yrs , thank god near all was in order. Was very hard on where bales were stacked checked my sprayer as in name model age ,spec . Had I spraying cert.. checked all tags where some cattle were outside said ring feeders were a no no even tho they are in a quarry and cattle as happy as u could get. Checked a few med bottles and a secure cabinet for sprays... Came back to the house done alot of paperwork in the house . I got a 1% fine a late registration of a calf

He said that there is going to be a lot of inspections in the few weeks till money is paid out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,182 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

And then the meat from your farm ends up on a supermarket shelf beside beef from across the globe raised on artificial growth hormones and Angel Dust.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭Cattlepen

lab man wrote: »
    Just had a compliance inspection here again this morning 2nd in 2 yrs , thank god near all was in order. Was very hard on where bales were stacked checked my sprayer as in name model age ,spec . Had I spraying cert.. checked all tags where some cattle were outside said ring feeders were a no no even tho they are in a quarry and cattle as happy as u could get. Checked a few med bottles and a secure cabinet for sprays... Came back to the house done alot of paperwork in the house . I got a 1% fine a late registration of a calf

He said that there is going to be a lot of inspections in the few weeks till money is paid out

Are they allowed to walk on without notice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 851 ✭✭✭Pidae.m

Well done , 1% is a good result. I’m still on a yellow card after registering a couple of calves late year .Ordered a lorry load of tags last night .It’s impossible to have all the tags......IMPOSSIBLE !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Dunedin

And then the meat from your farm ends up on a supermarket shelf beside beef from across the globe raised on artificial growth hormones and Angel Dust.

Thanks for the heads up.

A question I’m wondering is in regards to a sprayer that I house over the winter in my shed for a neighbor. I don’t use the sprayer and will have contractors receipts to prove same nor have I done the course. Neighbor has course done. Any implications for me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭50HX

Dunedin wrote: »
    Thanks for the heads up.

A question I’m wondering is in regards to a sprayer that I house over the winter in my shed for a neighbor. I don’t use the sprayer and will have contractors receipts to prove same nor have I done the course. Neighbor has course done. Any implications for me?

wouldn't think so but you will be asked how you put out your own spray

i'd say alot of yards they go into they will hear "sure that isn't my sprayer at all" :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

Dunedin wrote: »
    Thanks for the heads up.

There should be nothing wrong with it even if it was your sprayer if it's not in use. It's not exactly an AK47 that needed to be put beyond use.

However that's common sense which ironically isn't always all that common at times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭oldsmokey

I had lads labd in the yard for 3rd inspection in 3 yrs, sick of them....when they arrived unannounced, i asked them to stay in their car. I rang our good friends in ifa dublin, and explained my story to the lad there. He advised that they could only inspect for animal welfare and hygiene (rats etc) on the unannounced visit, for the rest of their inspection ,they must prearrange..
    So i went out to their car and advised the 2 bozos that tgey could check welfare and hygiene, no more..they didnt like it and tried to persuade me but i stuck to me guns..arranged to see them back in the yard 48 hrs later, cheky sods.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭Biscuitus

oldsmokey wrote: »
    He advised that they could only inspect for animal welfare and hygiene (rats etc) on the unannounced visit, for the rest of their inspection ,they must prearrange..

Thats good to know.

My farm's entrances are locked down tight so they'd have a hard time coming un-announced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭lab man

Dunedin wrote:

He went right to the back of the shed on his hands and knees to get the name model year of manufacture thought he was joking when he said he'd have to do it ....

Cattlepen wrote:
    Are they allowed to walk on without notice

He said that since the nursing home issues there last year that they had to change the rules and now they can walk in unanounced. .. he said he could go away but I'd be flagged and that I'd probably get a different inspector so I just left him off to do it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,778 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

Biscuitus wrote: »
    Thats good to know.

My farm's entrances are locked down tight so they'd have a hard time coming un-announced.

Unless you have 10 ft high gates and a high fence all round he'll find some hole to get in 😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,778 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

He said that since the nursing home issues there last year that they had to change the rules and now they can walk in unanounced. .. he said he could go away but I'd be flagged and that I'd probably get a different inspector so I just left him off to do it

Nursing home issues, can't see what farm inspections have to do with HIQA, he must've been spinning a yarn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Western Pomise

‘Animal Welfare and Hygiene ‘ are very broad terms though.....wonder what comes under them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

‘Animal Welfare and Hygiene ‘ are very broad terms though.....wonder what comes under them?

Just reading this post and the previous one about HIQA and it seems harsh if older people are coming in under animal welfare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Just reading this post and the previous one about HIQA and it seems harsh if older people are coming in under animal welfare.
    From the reports coming out the last few years, they would probably fare better under animal welfare rules:(

I said that I've no nursing home to him he didn't like it ....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭George Sunsnow

I said that I've no nursing home to him he didn't like it ....

I can’t believe that line was spun to you,it’s rubbish
    He wanted to get everything done the one day is all

The new approach announced by Hogan yesterday will mean regimes will be designed in Ireland for Ireland
    As this will be in the realm of Dáil legislation there will hopefully be an end to a lot of nonsense
    It’s wont be for a few years though

he said at the end of the inspection that I won't see him again I said how's that he said he's retiring next may

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,198 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

The cross compliance has always being unannounced and can walk in and carry out the inspection.

oldsmokey wrote: »
    I had lads labd in the yard for 3rd inspection in 3 yrs, sick of them....when they arrived unannounced, i asked them to stay in their car. I rang our good friends in ifa dublin, and explained my story to the lad there. He advised that they could only inspect for animal welfare and hygiene (rats etc) on the unannounced visit, for the rest of their inspection ,they must prearrange..
    So i went out to their car and advised the 2 bozos that tgey could check welfare and hygiene, no more..they didnt like it and tried to persuade me but i stuck to me guns..arranged to see them back in the yard 48 hrs later, cheky sods.

You are lucky to have 3 in 3 years or were they finding things wrong, if you have a problem you will be out within the next three years, have a friend who works for them in the Midlands and was recently telling me about a lad he was out with recently with who was caught out for the second time in 3 years for having an over flow pipe from the lagoon to the adjoining stream and couldn’t see any thing wrong with it. Always two sides to the story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭merryberry

Just a thought but should we be allowed self-inspect???

The cross compliance has always being unannounced and can walk in and carry out the inspection.

Last one I was rang about I think I was given a few days notice 2 i think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,281 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

I had an unannounced cross compliance ten days ago.
    Was telling a neighbour, and he says "I had that a few years ago. Came back to the yard and 2 lads were going around it. To be honest, it was a great thing in hindsight, if I knew they were coming I'd have needed a fortnight to get the place tidy" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,733 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

AFAIK what he said was BS. He can only inspect animal compliance at short notice he must wait 48 hours to do rest if you request it.

Slava Ukrainii

AFAIK what he said was BS. He can only inspect animal compliance at short notice he must wait 48 hours to do rest if you request it.

I honestly don't know but that's wat he said he said with what went on in the nursing homes that when they gave a bit of notice everything was spick n span and when there was an unannounced done twas a very bad story.. that's wat he said ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Farmer

Totally unjust if true. You shouldn't be discriminated against for exercising you rights.

Did ye see Darragh's bit in the Indo re penalties,

https://m.independent.ie/business/farming/schemes/analysis-a-3k-penalty-means-these-will-be-the-last-pet-sheep-ill-ever-own-36358015.html

Good that it gets publicity anyway but what about all the people in the same boat who don't have a voice. This stuff wouldn't have got written about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,733 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

I honestly don't know but that's wat he said he said with what went on in the nursing homes that when they gave a bit of notice everything was spick n span and when there was an unannounced done twas a very bad story.. that's wat he said ...

My understanding is that only tags and number of animals can be checked on the day on a no notice inspection everything else waits until after if you require as lads have to go to work etc.

Slava Ukrainii

I dunno I only wanted to give lads the word here to be ready tag missing etc a small bit can make a big difference like a clean yard etc

Last one I was rang about I think I was given a few days notice 2 i think

Well then it wasn’t an unannounced cross compliance then and more than likely a standard announced livestock inspection.

They have to do food hygiene and animal welfare the first day and then 48 hours later do the rest, we had one two years ago and two lads arrived in the yard and rang to say they were there. Come home from work and the two lads explained the procedure and time frame and agreed to get on and do it in on the day. One guy went with me to walk the land and the second guy went with the wife to do the cards and book and flock register and then measure the sheds and do the stock checks and got the job done and drank tea and explained and answered any question, only thing wrong was a couple of one tags missing and given yellow card and two boys went away happy and job done no hassle.
    They way we looked at it is they were doing a job and we were claiming a single payment money which we need to continue farming and nothing in this life is for free and as the wife says it is easy when you can walk-in the yard in your shoes and not needed your wanders to get around.
    If the IFA spent more time telling farmers what is involved in inspections and how to get it right than fighting and trying to defend the messers who give the party line.

Farmer wrote: »
    Totally unjust if true. You shouldn't be discriminated against for exercising you rights.

Did ye see Darragh's bit in the Indo re penalties,

https://m.independent.ie/business/farming/schemes/analysis-a-3k-penalty-means-these-will-be-the-last-pet-sheep-ill-ever-own-36358015.html

Good that it gets publicity anyway but what about all the people in the same boat who don't have a voice. This stuff wouldn't have got written about.

All darragh has to do is stop 5% from the guy who built the shed wrong in the first place and he won’t mess up again. Darragh loves to make a big deal out of things to give himself a bigger image, like ear to the ground is bad publicity for farmers and try’s to sensationalism of ever small thing that is going on in farming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,370 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

They have to do food hygiene and animal welfare the first day and then 48 hours later do the rest, we had one two years ago and two lads arrived in the yard and rang to say they were there. Come home from work and the two lads explained the procedure and time frame and agreed to get on and do it in on the day. One guy went with me to walk the land and the second guy went with the wife to do the cards and book and flock register and then measure the sheds and do the stock checks and got the job done and drank tea and explained and answered any question, only thing wrong was a couple of one tags missing and given yellow card and two boys went away happy and job done no hassle.
    They way we looked at it is they were doing a job and we were claiming a single payment money which we need to continue farming and nothing in this life is for free and as the wife says it is easy when you can walk-in the yard in your shoes and not needed your wanders to get around.
    If the IFA spent more time telling farmers what is involved in inspections and how to get it right than fighting and trying to defend the messers who give the party line.

hi all back again,
    You'll get a very concise guide to inspections on the IFA website and also at ifarm.
    Unfortunately all the messers swear they're genuine the same as the genuine ones, I'd always check everyone out well first before I'd proceed, but sometimes you be led up the garden path.
    Never saw any point in stopping them doing the whole inspection when they'd come.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Remember being at an IFA/Dept information meeting in Cavan years back.
    One guy said he had just had an unannounced inspection and inspector said he was checking animal welfare (including tags and herd register), animal feed and also said he'd be checking for rodent control.
    Guy went on to say he wasn't that worried about the cattle tags but he was fairly sure he hadn't all the mice tagged and registered.
    Even the Dept. official had to laugh at that one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Farmer

Farmer wrote:
    Leaving a link here FWIW. Guidelines from todays indo, might help someone sometime

Fair play