Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Man walking dog on bike lane. Report for animal endangerment?

• 21-11-2017 11:46am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,074 ✭✭✭✭

I was cycling on the Clontarf bike path (which goes parallel to a perfectly fine pedestrian path where most people walk their dogs) and a middle-aged man was walking his poodle using a lead and letting the lead cross the entire width of the bike path.

When I questioned him about why he was putting his dog in danger (not to mention cyclists crashing in order to avoid the dog pulling out in front at the last minute) he just responded " Mind your own business"

Bear in mind the pedestrian path is literally 1 metre away (separated by a low concrete kerb). This is also at 5pm so dark and the lead was barely visible.

Should I encounter this ignorant fool again, do I contact the Gardai or some other animal-focussed agency?

See mod warning post 32.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,589 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Do you really think the Gardaí are going to rush to the scene with their blues flashing to deal with a guy walking his dog in a bike lane?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭lifeandtimes

Please don't contact the Gardai or an animal group as youll be wasting their time with this as the man would likely walk away home and a dog in the bike lane is a non issue.

If and that's a big if that you see him again, ring your bell loads of times to alert him you're coming, give him a scolding and tell him to keep his dog on the path before he caused an accident.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

I'd call in the Army Ranger Wing, just to be certain OP, this dog walker is out of control.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,074 ✭✭✭✭mrcheez

Please don't contact the Gardai or an animal group as youll be wasting their time with this as the man would likely walk away home and a dog in the bike lane is a non issue.

If and that's a big if that you see him again, ring your bell loads of times to alert him you're coming, give him a scolding and tell him to keep his dog on the path before he caused an accident.

Pretty much what I did, but that's not going to stop him. Best I can do is just stay cycling beside him and when a bike is coming the opposite direction he'll have to either move off the lane or shorten the lead.

I guess make it as uncomfortable for him as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,062 ✭✭✭✭tk123

I'm putting my dogs in danger everyday so - dodging cyclists on the non-cycle lane footpaths!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

It's not like cyclists ever do anything at all that could be a danger to themselves or others :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Just cycle into the lead, crash, and hurt yourself. Then sue him.

Try not to hurt the dog, though; its not his fault his owner is an inconsiderate expletive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 398 ✭✭DanMurphy

Go find a real crime to report or get a ****ing life . Jeez, animal endangerment, what next.
    Ireland is coming down with a dose of PC Endangerment imo

Fascinating. So the view here is that a person letting a dog walk the full width of a busy traffic lane is doing nothing wrong?

I'm curious how you would react if you were driving along a single lane road and encountered a dog on the right kerb whilst the owner was walking on the left side of the road with lead stretched across the center.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

tk123 wrote:
    I'm putting my dogs in danger everyday so - dodging cyclists on the non-cycle lane footpaths!

Probably doing that to avoid the dog excrement on the bike paths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Its constant. Peds complain about cyclists on paths then do the exact same in response.

Get a horn for the bike, when you scare them sh1tless they move, fast!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭kyogger

hi there , have you rang the samaritans about this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 398 ✭✭DanMurphy

mrcheez wrote: »
    Fascinating. So the view here is that a person letting a dog walk the full width of a busy traffic lane is doing nothing wrong?

I'm curious how you would react if you were driving along a single lane road and encountered a dog on the right kerb whilst the owner was walking on the left side of the road with lead stretched across the center.

Exaggerate much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,066 ✭✭✭FixitFelix

I was cycling on the Clontarf bike path (which goes parallel to a perfectly fine pedestrian path where most people walk their dogs) and a middle-aged man was walking his poodle using a lead and letting the lead cross the entire width of the bike path.

When I questioned him about why he was putting his dog in danger (not to mention cyclists crashing in order to avoid the dog pulling out in front at the last minute) he just responded " Mind your own business"

Bear in mind the pedestrian path is literally 1 metre away (separated by a low concrete kerb). This is also at 5pm so dark and the lead was barely visible.

Should I encounter this ignorant fool again, do I contact the Gardai or some other animal-focussed agency?

I think you should take his advice OP

Haha wow :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭boombang

Despite laughing at the Army Ranger joke I have sympathy with the OP. The man is clearly ignorant and his reply to mind his own business is pathetic: he does not see that this matter is your business. If you encounter this issue again with him try to engage him explaining that you don't want to hurt his dog or yourself. I wonder if you try and pull as much confrontation out of the interaction will he see sense.

I once told some little knackers not to break public amenities down by grand canal dock. They told me to f-off and mind my own business. I explained that they were damaging stuff that belonged to everybody and it was my business. They were stumped and the abuse ceased.

FixitFelix wrote: »
    I think you should take his advice OP

But the fool on the path is the cyclist's business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,675 ✭✭✭exaisle

No...go to your local pharmacist an ask for an extra large bottle of KOPTHEFUKON. Administered as an enema, preferably....

FFS...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,611 ✭✭✭muddypaws

I'm a dog owner, pedestrian and cyclist - yes, such people do exist. I even drive a vehicle :O

Sorry OP I don't think there's anything that you can do really, except ring your bell to try and get him to move out of the way. Unfortunately he may well cause a nasty accident, but personal responsibility and common sense seem to be disappearing.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,430 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

boombang wrote: »
    The man is clearly ignorant and his reply to mind his own business is pathetic: he does not see that this matter is your business. If you encounter this issue again with him try to engage him explaining that you don't want to hurt his dog or yourself. I wonder if you try and pull as much confrontation out of the interaction will he see sense.

Good advice and I would stop every time pretending I had never met him before and explain the same thing over and over again in a calm and friendly manner. Extra points for using words like ickle wickle doggie woggie.
    The man may not have been aware he was causing an issue but got defensive as soon as he was confronted (which is common). Chances are he got the message but if not then do the above in future.

Probably doing that to avoid the dog excrement on the bike paths.

And the invisible glass and rubbish preventing them from using the road!

tk123 wrote: »
    And the invisible glass and rubbish preventing them from using the road!

Impressive. Loving this, great insight into the Irish psyche :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭lifeandtimes

boombang wrote: »
    I once told some little knackers not to break public amenities down by grand canal dock. They told me to f-off and mind my own business. I explained that they were damaging stuff that belonged to everybody and it was my business. They were stumped and the abuse ceased.

And then everyone started clapping.

Next up on things that never happened...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

I haven't come across this chap on my commute yet, but that sounds ridiculous and dangerous. It's the owners responsibility to be in control of the dog surely? It could cause an accident in the dark. However I don't know if there's much you can do. I think getting a bell and ringing it is the only sensible option at this point.

Funny thing is, I did ring my bell.

The prat couldn't hear me because he had headphones in :rolleyes:

Impressive. Loving this, great insight into the Irish psyche :)

My area is just laid out badly as far as cycle lanes go so patience runs out :( There's one whole section I don't walk them on anymore because it's too dangerous with cyclists on the path (which again isn't a cycle lane)

Fair play to you for having a bell though!!

And then everyone started clapping.

Next up on things that never happened...

It did happen honestly. Although it might have simply been out of confusion that somebody actually addressed them about their conduct rather than they were persuaded to see sense.

In the case of a grown adult I think it's worth trying reason once again.

Nobody's mentioned the standard boards reply of "blast him with piss" yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,225 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

boombang wrote:
    Nobody's mentioned the standard boards reply of "blast him with piss" yet?

Because we're not in After Hours. Although it felt like it there for a bit.

tk123 wrote: »
    My area is just laid out badly as far as cycle lanes go so patience runs out :( There's one whole section I don't walk them on anymore because it's too dangerous with cyclists on the path (which again isn't a cycle lane)

Fair play to you for having a bell though!!

Adding Air-Horn to my Santa wishlist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,589 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

No, the view here is that ringing the Gardaí about someone walking their dog in a cycle lane is utterly ridiculous and the person on the other end of the phone will probably laugh at you. (and rightly so)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,973 ✭✭✭Cherry Blossom

I'll just remind everyone what forum we're in here. A number of posts on this thread are verging on the edge of breaking the forum charter. You are not required to agree with other posters but you are required to be respectful towards them. If some posts continue in the way they are going yellow cards will be handed out.

Thanks,
    CB.

o1s1n wrote: »
    No, the view here is that ringing the Gardaí about someone walking their dog in a cycle lane is utterly ridiculous and the person on the other end of the phone will probably laugh at you. (and rightly so)

Hence why I asked if there was any channel you can go to that deal with cases of animal mishandling.

Surely if a dog is let run loose all over a busy lane the law says the owner must be held accountable? The person is putting their animal and other lane users in danger. You have to realise this was at 5pm where lights are getting dim and the lane is very busy.

If there was a channel you could go through then at least I could say that to the owner the next time, threatening they would be reported and they might actually take notice (wishful thinking I know).