If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Possible Pedophilia in Cork?

• 20-11-2017 05:53PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8

I hope everyone is going to be mature about this and not take the piss. I was at St. Fin Barr's Cathedral in Cork, I was just sitting there eating my lunch today at about 4 pm, and not by the main cathedral itself but the somewhat house like building on the far end of the yard, this girl came out silently crying just facing the ground as she was fast walking out of the cathedral. that place is clearly out of bounds and I was surprised to say the least. It could be anything but it's honestly really suspicious that a girl comes out crying from a place that seems to be out of bounds. Would any of you have an idea as to what might be there? hoping for her sake it's some kind of group meeting or similar that's held at the cathedral. But as I go to that place often I only see the priests and gardeners in that building.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

How in the name of god did you come to the conclusion of pedophilia from seeing a random girl crying? Bit of a jump in the imagination there, no?
    She could have been crying over anything. Did you ask her why she was upset?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 gvele

That would be a bit creepy. You don't find it a little out of the ordinary that a girl comes out of church building that's restricted only for the staff crying? it's things like this under our noses that we don't pay attention to that eventually lead to a horrible outcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

gvele wrote: »
    That would be a bit creepy. You don't find it a little out of the ordinary that a girl comes out of church building that's restricted only for the staff crying? it's things like this under our noses that we don't pay attention to that eventually lead to a horrible outcome.

You were eating your lunch near the Cathedral and you saw a girl walking and crying.
    And your wondering is she a victim of sex abuse?
    What makes you think that she might be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

Ah lads. This is a complete nonsense thread

Could have been 1000 reasons why she was crying. Maybe she was praying for an ill person

Maybe there was a meeting and she misbehave and got shouted at.

Crazy jump in conclusions

You were there, you were paying attention, she was right under your nose, why didn't you ask what was up?

What was she doing in a restricted area of the church in the first place? can't get my head around that part. I don't just assume that anyone who cries is a victim of abuse. The setting was way to suspicious for me to ignore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Just goes to show how influenced people are by wall to wall salatious tabloid coverage when they are seeing paedos in every shadow.

Yeah but she was in the restricted part of the church, they don't pray there. It's pretty much staff only.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,766 ✭✭✭GingerLily

Why are you asking strangers on the internet?
    You were there, you could have talked to the girl and you could talk to the guards if you're concerned.

What was she doing in a restricted area of the church in the first place? can't get my head around that part. I don't just assume that anyone who cries is a victim of abuse. The setting was way to suspicious for me to ignore.

But you did ignore it? I'm not going to falsely speculate that some upset woman is part of a pedophile ring when you have no evidence except a "feeling".

Same reason why no one here thinks this is serious. I'm here asking, I never said I was 100 percent positive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

She was near a church and she was crying so she’s a victim of clerical abuse.
    All priests are paedophiles.
    Only priests are paedophiles.
    Only way you’re going to sleep tonight is if you ring the Gardai and tell them that you suspect there’s sex abuse going on in St Finbarrs because you saw a girl crying there today and you can’t think of any other reason why she might be crying .

I'm a religious person myself and don't have anything against priests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,766 ✭✭✭GingerLily

I'm a religious person myself and don't have anything against priests.

Do you think you should have a conversation with a Guard ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭MaroonAndGreen

Is this really a "personal issue"? Go talk to the guards if you believe there is a potential problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭FirstinLastout

Peados don't let their victims wander out their front door looking distressed, upset and bawling crying as it tends to draw attention.

... or maybe, being a kid she wandered somewhere she wasn't supposed to be, like most kids happily do, and got shouted at and told to get the feck out of there before she implicates the lads in some fantasy peado ring by a onlooking busy body.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭beer enigma

Hold fire lads, OP joined today 6 posts in and we get this. Don't encourage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

She could have been in praying for someone.
    She could have fallen and hurt her knee.
    Your ability to jump to the widest of conclusions is baffling- not only that but I'd be sceptical about why you are so specific about the exact place and church and I'd have reservations about your motivations for posting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Okay, let me rephrase once again. I saw her opening the door, closing it and leaving a clearly Restricted area of the church crying. So I honestly highly doubt she just happened to trip on her way out or she was praying in the staffs private building. She was probably in like 3rd year. Oh, and yeah let's all ignore the fact that she was supposed to be in school at that time. Why can't a person express their concern here? The last thing I honestly expected today was to get so much hate for being simply concerned about someone. I'm sorry that I didn't go over and ask her why she was upset. I admit that I should have, but it's easier said then done.

Patww79 wrote: »

Cheers, will do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Okay, let me rephrase once again. I saw her opening the door, closing it and leaving a clearly Restricted area of the church crying. So I honestly highly doubt she just happened to trip on her way out or she was praying in the staffs private building. She was probably in like 3rd year. Oh, and yeah let's all ignore the fact that she was supposed to be in school at that time. Why can't a person express their concern here? The last thing I honestly expected today was to get so much hate for being simply concerned about someone. I'm sorry that I didn't go over and ask her why she was upset. I admit that I should have, but it's easier said then done.

What kind of church has a restricted area??

Nonetheless....if yous think/suspect something was amiss....ring tulsa maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

No Personal Issue here. Closing the thread

dudara