Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Focus Titanium - silver trim robbed :(

• 15-11-2017 1:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭

Not sure where's the right place to post this....

I've just returned to my car after grabbing lunch and noticed that the silver trim on my Focus Titanium has been swiped!! :mad: :( I'm not sure when it was done but in the last few days I'd reckon and I'm pretty sure it was done outside my apartment.

Anyway, I'm just wondering is it even possible to replace these? Would something like this be covered under insurance? Not sure if it's best to call the Ford dealership to see if I can replace the parts or get on to the insurance company to see if they'll cover it? (although with excess it's prob not worth/possible to go through them). If it's something that I end up going through insurance for do I need to report it to the guards first?

If it is possible to replace them, does anyone here know roughly how much the cost is?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,852 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

1/. Yes they can be replaced.
    2/. I'd go to a scrapyard tbh. Insurance won't be a runner imho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,226 ✭✭✭Stallingrad

Jaysus, what is the world coming to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭Sexual Chocolate

Breakers yard would defiantly be your best shot.

Just a heads up on buying them through Ford that when I priced 4 chrome strips for my mk3 Mondeo they wanted 90 each.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭HiGlo

Spoke to a couple of places but they don't sell the trim only. You'd have to buy the doors..... :(

Makes sense I guess - they're part of a whole piece, not a whole piece themselves....

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,852 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Try ebay UK

Went to the Ford garage this morning and they said it'll cost me about €1k to replace them. €100 per part (and there's 8 parts) and they'll have to replace the back window panel cause they don't supply just the trim for that, you have to replace the whole window. :(:(

They're gonna e:mail me a quote for insurance.

Had sent out a request on partfinder.ie and some dude in Donegal has come back saying he has the parts and can courier them so waiting to see a photo and get a price off him. Even at that though, he may not have fittings/clips so that might not work.
    I asked at the garage if I managed to source the parts somewhere else would they fit them but they said no, which is fair enough. I presume non-Ford garages won't be so precious?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭Sexual Chocolate

Did you try traynors ?

Should also give MCS a ring out in Ballymount, their an independent Ford motor factors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭StereoSound

Anyone else in your apartment complex drive similar car to yours? Watch out to see if their car magically gets titanium trim like your one had.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 465 ✭✭Ewan Hoosarmi

That's awful. Is there nothing these scrotes won't nick? I thought losing my wiper blades to the scum was bad.

Anyone else in your apartment complex drive similar car to yours? Watch out to see if their car magically gets titanium trim like your one had.

Ha! Imagine.... There's def people out there who'd be that cheeky...!!

Thanks for the name of MC's. Been on to them and they can get them for me and will charge €300 less than Ford garage (fair play to them - yer man said he'd given me a decent trade discount cause it was such a ****ty thing to happen!). We talked about maybe just replacing them with black instead as it might be cheaper and less chance of it happening again. He's gonna get back to me with a price for that.

Yer man in Donegal has sent a pic but no price yet.

It's so gutting cause the car is only a year old. :(

The lad in Donegal came back to me saying €200 for the trims. This is my most tempting offer.
    I'm gonna see if I just put them on the car myself and maybe try bond/superglue them or something.....

Hopefully that was a one off thing, but I guess there'll always be a chance they'll do it again.

Received these trims but they're not a correct fit. My guess is from an earlier model. It's not the exact same trim (which isn't a huge deal) and they fit the rear doors fine, but don't work for the driver/passenger doors as they don't fit right along the mirrors.
    Also on this older model the trim in the hatchback window is all connected to the window so it's all one piece and the window is a different size to my car.

Seems I'll have to go through the insurance after all.... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

What year is your car? Have you a pic of the areas that need the trim?

I won't be able to help you but if others know exactly what you need they might be able to.

It's 2016. I have some pics on my phone but don't have time at the moment to go to the work of transferring them so I can post them.

Hopefully this will give an idea of what I'm looking for... It's the silver trim all the way along the side of the car under the windows....

Surprisingly it just clips out and in, no hassle....