Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's your big phobias.

• 08-11-2017 9:21pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭

Is there a particular phobia you suffer from my are rats, dirty diseased infested rodents that transmit disease not very pleasant creatures, I'm not gone on creepy crawlies either, if anyone else has any phobia they would like to get off their chest here's the place for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 664 ✭✭✭9or10

Sharks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

The fear of nothing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

In the words of Franklin D Roosevelt -

Only Thing We Have to Fear Is Fear Itself. And stairs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,046 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Natural gas, wouldn't be able to live in a house with it, fear of explosion etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Pat Kenny hiding in my wardrobe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Crabs/any animal with pincers....the mere sight of em gives me the heebee-jeebees

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭EPAndlee

Back to the future being remade with an all female cast

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,974 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

Blood/needles/blood tests. Phobic to the point that if I have to have a blood test I'll most likely vomit and faint. Also not keen on snakes.

Crabs/any animal with pincers....the mere sight of em gives me the heebee-jeebees

Earwigs! Not really a phobia but they absolutely disgust me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,031 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Stay away from the wimmins from Mullingar so!

You'd be lucky if you only come away with a dose of the Heebee-jeebees!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

cancer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,775 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Dentist:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Bitches Be Trypsin

Dentists, needles, wasps :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

Rats, dentists and belly buttons.

People think I’m joking about the last one but it’s a thing. The thought of someone touching mine freaks me out.

McDonalds hamburgers.

I’ll eat the chicken sandwich or a burger from anywhere else but if you put a McDonald’s one near my mouth, I’d be sick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

Flying. I may never do it again tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Four Phucs Ache

Dark still water.

Turlough hill reservoir my absolute fooking nightmare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Heights, all winged insects, spiders and death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

It used to be Sharks, now it is SJW having any influence what so ever on real life.

Heights, all winged insects, spiders and death.

I used to be afraid of death, until it dawned on me that I was dead before I was born.

Life is a break from death.

Enjoy it.

Spiders :(

I am also freaked out by -not phobic though- shipwrecks and clustered type things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭gifted

Swimming in water with seaweed on the bottom....awful fear of what's hiding in the seaweeds....

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 7,284 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

Spiders...im so afraid someone's posted a pic of one I've just hit reply on the first page without scrolling and am unfollowing the thread straight away in case I get curious.

Took a photo of this beauty in the jacks earlier.

RYP7bR.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Mutant z

Rick Shaw wrote: »
    Took a photo of this beauty in my bathroom earlier.

RYP7bR.jpg

That would really creep me out especially the large hunting spiders which can appear out of nowhere, I've got many a fright from them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭Sue Pa Key Pa

Someone approaching with an open umbrella. I'm certain I'll lose an eye. Jaysus, just thinking about it does me in. Good night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,648 ✭✭✭honeybear

Bulls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,701 ✭✭✭storker

Rick Shaw wrote: »
    Took a photo of this beauty in the jacks earlier.

RYP7bR.jpg

Are you referring to the spider or the shadow?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

storker wrote: »
    Are you referring to the spider or the shadow?

tiny curvy cocks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Spiders, heights- and choking on a tablet. I'm not able to swallow them it's like my throat rejects it and I think I'm going to die. I usually take liquid antibiotics. The fear is real. Oh and I don't like seeing people touch their eyes, even rubbing them. I'm not sure is that a phobia or just an unusual dislike of something. Seeing my boyfriend put his contacts in makes me gag. I can do eye make up on myself though no problem, I just can't watch others do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,994 ✭✭✭sullivlo

Toots wrote: »
    Blood/needles/blood tests. Phobic to the point that if I have to have a blood test I'll most likely vomit and faint. Also not keen on snakes.

Ditto. I’m not too bad with injections (like a vaccine or something), but anything vein related or blood related and I’m a nightmare. I had surgery on Monday and I had such a bad freak out that they had to give me gas and air just to get the line in. Then when I woke up and still had the cannula in my wrist (yes, it was so bad that my veins shrunk), I had another freak out.

Blood. Needles. Veins. I’m a disaster. Can’t cope at all. Silly phobia but very, very real.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,359 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Not a fan of heights, but it's only an issue if I'm outdoors. I could be inside at the top of the tallest building in the world and it wouldn't bother me, but once I can feel the wind I'm not happy. Don't like water either. I can't swim and I have no interest in learning because being in the water really freaks me out.

I usen't to be great with needles, but I ended up having so many operations and other hospital treatments over the last 10 years or so that I'm pretty much cured of that now. I still don't like them, although I doubt anyone does, but they don't freak me out like they used to.

Rodents (except squirrels) and spiders. I can cope with them if I really have to, so it's not a phobia, just a strong aversion.

I traveled somewhere recently where I had to deal with both, still having nightmares.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,596 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

Dentist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Humans ....

and

Lurkers - No tbh I just dislike those ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Being trapped.

At school there was a Pile On game. Now even the mere thought of it gives me the fecking fear.

Being crushed in a crowd another biggie for same reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

Bed pans, really don't want to get involved with one of those.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Small spaces and uncertainty don't suit me, but if I know exactly what's happening then I'm fine :o

It means that I remember going caving and really enjoying it but feeling helpless in the bottom of a pro-longed "pile-on" in school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,631 ✭✭✭Einstein

Spiders...as much as I've tried to overcome it, they genuinely terrify me...and I have a weird fear of injuring/burning/cutting my hands...I make a living using my hands, maybe it's that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,701 ✭✭✭storker

Being trapped.

At school there was a Pile On game. Now even the mere thought of it gives me the fecking fear.

Being crushed in a crowd another biggie for same reason.

This, combined with claustrophobia, is a big one for me. The strange thing is that it's only developed in recent years. My number one massive fear would be premature burial, with being trapped in wreckage or under rubble and unable to move coming a close second. It may be related to the fact that I have asthma. It's not particularly severe but I imagine being unable to move would be likely to bring on an attack, and also make it harder to deal with.

I woke up 40 minutes ahead of the alarm clock this morning and as I was settling back into sleep, a trapped-an-unable-to-move scenario flashed into my mind and that was the and of my snooze...dammit.