Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When did open defecation end in rural Ireland ?

• 07-11-2017 11:42pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭Phat Dick

A friend of mine insists open defecation was common in rural Ireland as recently as the mid 1980s

• Closed Accounts Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Pero_Bueno

IBTL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

Was that before or after electrification?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

The gentrification

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,327 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

I asked my renowned Scientist friend from Leitrim the exact same question back about two years ago.

He was outstanding in his own field. Well more out squatting in his own field. Having a shite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

what else should the cattle do?

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 429 ✭✭JimmyMcGill

How else is it supposed to get out? Closed defecation sounds painful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Sky Sparse Farm

It Stopped? ..

A lot of people moved on to shiteing in a bucket!!

Progress is a great thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,315 ✭✭✭circadian

Leitrim doesn't exist. Donnie weehans and his lies as usual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Joeseph Balls

Phat Dick wrote: »
    A friend of mine insists open defecation was common in rural Ireland as recently as the mid 1980s

Still happens regularly enough. Some folk like keeping the tradition alive. A good dock leaf can go for good money in the local.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

It still happens in Dublin quite regularly.

There is a real sense of freedom while ****ting in the woods, does that count?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I once saw a big pile of faeces with a couple of sheets of pink toilet paper on it up against the wall of the AIB. This was maybe seven or eight years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,931 ✭✭✭One More Toy

Ask a few mayo girls

That's outside the pale, that is!!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,018 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

5:19 PM yesterday.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

It still happens in Dublin quite regularly.

I was in Dublin recently and I was shocked at the amount of ****e everywhere, and not all of it animal. Paths covered in it and you'd be afraid of your life to go near a bit of grass or an alleyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 TheManthatsDan

One of St. Patrick's lesser known achievement's...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,596 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

Phat Dick wrote:

Still is, I see cattle and sheep sh*ting in the fields every time I'm out for a run.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 429 ✭✭JimmyMcGill

Oldtree wrote: »
    There is a real sense of freedom while ****ting in the woods, does that count?

Only if it makes noise either leaving your arse or hitting the forest floor. Be careful with the puckering vibrations too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭denismc

I once saw a big pile of faeces with a couple of sheets of pink toilet paper on it up against the wall of the AIB. This was maybe seven or eight years ago.
    Obviously someone was trying to make a large deposit!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

Is there any way the mods could shut down this thread, in case there are people looking in, who intend to visit Ireland and can't tell that this is a piss take.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,597 ✭✭✭gctest50

Is there any way the mods could shut down this thread, in case there are people looking in, who intend to visit Ireland and can't tell that this is a piss take.

A. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Streisand_effect

Outlaw Pete was like the Great Bot Herder :

There's about 20 posters so far who have missed the "join date, November 2017" and remarkably treated the "I heard people used to sh1t in the open up to the 1980s" as a serious topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

That would be a scatological matter ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭Edward M

I walked in on a neighbour having a **** in his cattle shed recently, he was hunkered down on the slats as the cattle chomped away on the silage close to him, he blushed so much I thought his head would burst, but he just jokingly said, I hope you have toilet roll in your pocket ted, I'm not looking forward to cleaning my arse with silage.

Ask a few mayo girls

Two girls no cup ?

That's what yiz get for not paying proper respect to the funeral back in '51 !!

There's about 20 posters so far who have missed the "join date, November 2017" and remarkably treated the "I heard people used to sh1t in the open up to the 1980s" as a serious topic.

Nope just like the OP, having a laugh. Don't be so serious life's too short.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,254 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

Well, here's a link to a page from the census report from 1981 showing a county-by-country breakdown of farm dwellings and the "sanitary facilities" that they had. We can see, for example, that in Leitrim there were 3,798 farm dwellings, of which 1,373 had "no toilet or closet". That adds up to quite of lot of cold arse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 222 ✭✭Ted Plain

I can remember relatives in County Dublin still having an outhouse with a bucket as recently as the 1980s. :eek: There was also a grant scheme introduced around that time and they got a proper indoors flush toilet put in soon after.

Peregrinus wrote: »
    Well, here's a link to a page from the census report from 1981 showing a county-by-country breakdown of farm dwellings and the "sanitary facilities" that they had. We can see, for example, that in Leitrim there were 3,798 farm dwellings, of which 1,373 had "no toilet or closet". That adds up to quite of lot of cold arse.

I do a bit of building and maintenance work, I always keep toilet roll in the car, you could be on a job where toilet facilities are either not in or not working especially in rural areas, if you got to go you got to go, find a shelters field or hedgerow. I know from experience that it still goes on.
    An old lad that used to work with us always went to check out the "dunging ground" first when we were on isolated jobs with no toilet facilities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 695 ✭✭✭beefburrito

It's quite common these days in urban areas, addict's and crack whores openly discarding their waste in public....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,948 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

It's quite common these days in urban areas, addict's and crack whores openly discarding their waste in public....

Lately, passing a doorway, I spotted a 'mature' lady in a trackie sort of hunkering down as if she was going to sit...and then...there was a sound like Niagara Falls hitting concrete that reminded me of a sound that I heard last in a milking parlour.
    This was 3pm in broad daylight, in full view of pedestrians.

Lately, passing a doorway, I spotted a 'mature' lady in a trackie sort of hunkering down as if she was going to sit...and then...there was a sound like Niagara Falls hitting concrete that reminded me of a sound that I heard last in a milking parlour. This was 3pm in broad daylight, in full view of pedestrians.

She's no lady.

Edward M wrote: »
    I do a bit of building and maintenance work, I always keep toilet roll in the car, you could be on a job where toilet facilities are either not in or not working especially in rural areas, if you got to go you got to go, find a shelters field or hedgerow. I know from experience that it still goes on.
    An old lad that used to work with us always went to check out the "dunging ground" first when we were on isolated jobs with no toilet facilities.

No harm having an emergency bog roll in the car! :D

A pair of old bachelor farmers I knew had a favourite spot, even though they had an indoor toilet...tomato plants grew there actually.

No harm having an emergency bog roll in the car! :D

A pair of old bachelor farmers I knew had a favourite spot, even though they had an indoor toilet...tomato plants grew there actually.

I heard a story of an old lad near here used to do the same, he used to use a bunch of rushes to balance himself while squatting, one day his son topped the field including his squatting rushes, next time he went out and while squatting lost his balance and with no rushes to save himself he fell backwards in to his freshly made s**t, probably just a yarn but funny to hear a local storyteller telling it in the pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

That’s a terrible thing to call homeless people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,503 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I know people in rural areas and up to the mid 2000's they had Commode in their house which they had to empty somewhere.
    These people generally just got a toilet or the district nurse calling to them helped them get a grant.(I think)
    Same goes regarding showers etc. Some would be amazed at the living conditions some people have in Ireland Today and it's nothing to do with financial issues it's mainly just to how people were reared and that's what they were used to.

People just washed themselves in wash hand basins or tin baths.

Same with rubbish, pre-recycling centres. Food waste went into the dung heap to be spread on the land (or fed to the dog), jars/bottles/tins etc were fcuked into a heap. Anything that was combustible was burnt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Still happens regularly enough. Some folk like keeping the tradition alive. A good dock leaf can go for good money in the local.

Those little bags don't contain doc leaves Joe. And this isn't your local.
    There are still more than a few traditionalists mind, mostly urban crappers nowadays. A quick stroll around town at dawn and you'll find plenty of evidence. All different sizes, shapes and shades. It's definitely not the work of just a few rogue males.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭exaisle

Open defecation has ended?

No sh1t??