Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Well done the Gardai

• 07-11-2017 1:19pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭

Another shooting foiled last night and a very dangerous individual taken off the streets by all accounts.

They have been getting a lot of negative press recently but have been very proactive in following and watching known gun men. Another good result last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

They need to be congratulated for doing their job. I don't think so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭eamonnq

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

They probably made the whole thing up ffs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭me_irl

I don't get this logic.

So, you wouldn't cheer when a football player scores? (Assuming you're in to soccer... or GAA or whatever).

Would you be thankful of the pilot that got you to your destination safely?

He/she is also just "doing their job".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭waraf

Another shooting foiled last night and a very dangerous individual taken off the streets by all accounts.

They have been getting a lot of negative press recently but have been very proactive in following and watching known gun men. Another good result last night.

Are you Paul Williams in disguise? :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 492 ✭✭Gerrup Outta Dat!

me_irl wrote: »
    I don't get this logic.

So, you wouldn't cheer when a football player scores? (Assuming you're in to soccer... or GAA or whatever).

I can’t stand when people clap when the plane lands. A lots of landings are ILS anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

This thread is linked to the Hutch Kinahan feud.
    The OP is a senior figure in the Kinahan CARTEL.
    My dog is a senior figure in the CARTEL also....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

Be careful not to give anyone notions about themselves by telling them that they’re doing a good job.
    Or is it just the Gardai?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,684 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

I don't get this logic.

do you clap bus drivers? train drivers? taxi drivers?

most planes land themselves these days anyway

I'd clap a pilot if he landed a plane in a storm for sure but that's about it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 93 ✭✭Ballstein

Easy Rambo, I know the printer jammed on you earlier and you had to refill the stapler, but not everyone has a dangerous job like yourself. These dossers just have to confront coked up scrotes armed with automatic weapons. They'll never know what it's like on the front line like you do..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

splinter65 wrote: »
    Be careful not to give anyone notions about themselves by telling them that they’re doing a good job.
    Or is it just the Gardai?

Just be mindful their great achievments are self reported.
    They are either releasing directly or leaking that people who havent been charged with anything much less seen the inside of a court room were going to do this and going to do that. Theyve gotten good at solving murders that havent happened yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭me_irl

lawred2 wrote: »
    do you clap bus drivers? train drivers? taxi drivers?

most planes land themselves these days anyway

I'd clap a pilot if he landed a plane in a storm for sure but that's about it.

Didn't mention anything about clapping (I also hate this behaviour), but I do thank the driver when I get off the bus (or a taxi, can't really head up to thank the train driver... not without looking suspicious anyway).

All professions that public safety is a priority.

Why isn't it the same when the Gardaí do well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,349 ✭✭✭Odhinn

waraf wrote: »
    Are you Paul Williams in disguise? :D

He's not supine enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Nettle Soup

I actually don't believe anything senior Gardai say anymore. I just view it as a rotten entity unable to change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,349 ✭✭✭Odhinn

I actually don't believe anything senior Gardai say anymore. I just view it as a rotten entity unable to change.

Given what happens to a garda who opens his gob about wrongdoing, its hard to see how it could change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

If you can swing a bag of door knobs I think i have a suggestion you will be happy with.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,101 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

I can’t stand when people clap when the plane lands. A lots of landings are ILS anyway.

I always cringe when that happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,564 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

Let's just hope our judges pull their heads out or their arses long enough to lock these scumbags up for years and years.
    Can't see it happening though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,950 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

I always cringe when that happens.

I haven't heard a pilot getting the clap for a while now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,372 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

why did crime journalists turn up at the Regency but no Gardai, surely we should know if wew are to trust that Gardai are doing thier job well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,320 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Fair play to them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭Oasis1974

No there not most pilots land visually unless conditions call for it stop dumbing down there profession unlike the Gardai who are dumb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

What dangerous do you do? How do you risk your life each day to keep dangerous criminals off the streets? Please tell us as you are very obviously a very modest individual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Didn't mention anything about clapping (I also hate this behaviour), but I do thank the driver when I get off the bus (or a taxi, can't really head up to thank the train driver... not without looking suspicious anyway).

All professions that public safety is a priority.

Why isn't it the same when the Gardaí do well?

I wouldn't be a big fan of the police, but I'm in the city centre most days and they do deserve some credit where it's due. It is a bit strange how they more or less named the four blokes they nicked. That might bite them in the arse if or when it goes in front of a judge and jury. Then again, with the amount of intelligence that they seem to have built up it might go the special criminal court. They seem to be on the ball.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭keith_sixteen

Oasis1974 wrote: »
    No there not most pilots land visually unless conditions call for it stop dumbing down there profession unlike the Gardai who are dumb.

Says the guy who can barely string a sentence together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

For doing it very well. People thank the bus driver and waitress for doing their jobs, I don't see why not thank a Garda who does it well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

Oasis1974 wrote: »

You'd think if you are calling someone dumb you'd take the time to spell correctly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,320 ✭✭✭✭branie2

I thanked a guard who let me cross the road

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Just watching the RTE puff piece on prime time now

Won't wash away the corruption lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,830 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

What do you reckon the intellectual capacity is of the people that do clap?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

What do you reckon the intellectual capacity is of the people that do clap?

17 intellectuals.

Was the rhetorical?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,061 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Should’ve arrested them afterwards.