Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

People who don't dim their lights

• 28-10-2017 9:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭

Anyone ever met one of these people or driven in a car with them? Is it some kind of mental disorder?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,550 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

They probably dont realise their full beams are on or else they dont care.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Anyone ever met one of these people or driven in a car with them? Is it some kind of mental disorder?

Who hasn't, more like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 429 ✭✭JimmyMcGill

How else is the camera gonna get the money shot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

My sister thought it was fine as she could see....

But then got tired of beeping and flashing so switched lights to 5 watt side lights and drove like that for a year till I seen her one night and pulled her up on it.

It took me 30 minutes showing how to work them.. This car didn't have DRLs like a lot I see where they think these are their lights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭DubInTheWest

W@ankers is what they are! I have it on a nightly basis and not just one or two of them but 99% of them, I just can't understand it. It's dark out, I can see their lights from around a corner on a crappy small road, I knock off my full beams and they leave theirs on til I am in view and even a few seconds afterwards. I even have time to put my beams back on to flash them.
    Around my area they must have all learned from the same person how to drive and use their lights lol or yeah some type of mental disorder :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

A lot of Irish drivers have peculiar habits when it come to lights. Saw some clown this evening at 7pm with day light running lights on - so no lights on the back.

Full beams on a motorway are pretty common place. I’ve driven all over Europe and this clownish carry on is virtually non existent.

And the fog lights. There’s a competition to put on as many lights as possible, including the fogs. Then when it’s foggy, make sure you turn them lights off and drive around like a muppet, completely invisible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Fighting Tao

Anyone ever met one of these people or driven in a car with them?

No, nobody ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭phonypony

Very annoying and very dangerous. If, when you flash your lights at them they don't dip them, put yours on full. Better they are dazzled and go into a ditch than you, it being their fault and all...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Someone drivig behind with full lights on too is as bad.

Last time it happened I had enough so moved my mirror so they could see their own lights and they dimmed them when they were getting blinded by them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

It's only acceptable on a quiet Motorway when your doing high speeds. Like why would anyone even flash at someone on the opposite side of the motorway who is using full beams to keep an eye out for the railway sleeper that fell of the lorry in front!?... And I literally do totally ignore any driver who decides to flash at me in those circumstances,..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭phonypony

RobertKK wrote: »
    Someone drivig behind with full lights on too is as bad.

Last time it happened I had enough so moved my mirror so they could see their own lights and they dimmed them when they were getting blinded by them.

Yeah, I don't get this either, a$$holes who have em on full right up your ar$e and not overtaking. I never feel the need to use full beams if I can see tail lights in front of me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,383 ✭✭✭✭gammygils

Yeah. This sort of shlte is getting very bad. I drive a lot at night and​ this ignorance just prevails. WTAF? And another thing I get most nights is some cünt driving behind me with full lights on!
    Just Fück off! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,230 ✭✭✭jaxxx

I'm a completely cynical person, but honestly I think people forgetting to dim their fulls is just accidental 99% of the time. Lack of concentration, happens to us all.

Except me... obviously...

[COUGH]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

I also hate when only 1 main light is working so you think a motorcycle is coming till you realise no wait it's an idiot in a micra.
    Then the ones who only use drls no matter how dark it is
    Then the idiots who use for lights when there is no fog...
    Twats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭northknife

Worse are the cùnts that put them back on just before passing.
    I swear one of these feckin nights....

Almost as annoying as pedestrians and cyclists wearing dark clothing rather than hi viz. Still, it takes all kinds...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Either they don't care, or they're learner drivers, novices, or dim-wits, who don't know what the blue light on the dash board signifies!

Blue light? What's that then?

Am I low on petrol?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,230 ✭✭✭jaxxx

Almost as annoying as pedestrians and cyclists wearing dark clothing rather than hi viz. Still, it takes all kinds...

+ cyclists who insist on keeping as far right as possible.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭RustyNut

And I literally do totally ignore any driver who decides to flash at me in those circumstances,..

Even the truck drivers that are being blinded by your lights due to the higher position? Ignorance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,597 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

I think we have al forgot to dim . unfortunately is easy enough . especially if the road is empty and your not diming regularly

now saying that I hate it when people don't dim.
    the amount of times I have to flash them to get them to dim is crazy at least 2-3 times a night . several times they have 'refused' and I had to flash them again or just leave them on.

what really annoys me is when you are driving along with dims on and they come with their full lights on .they dim and then flash you thinking your full lights are on, you flash and they don't dim and put on their full lights. bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,671 ✭✭✭ForestFire

Pinch Flat wrote: »
    A lot of Irish drivers have peculiar habits when it come to lights. Saw some clown this evening at 7pm with day light running lights on - so no lights on the back.

While no rear lights with DLR lights is true for 99% of cases, I really don't think people understand that their rears aren't on. Also it makes much more sense to have them on also, but I guess it's due to halogen lights used on rear?

I was planning an obd2 mod on my car to force them on with the DLR, but was pleasantly surprised that they activate already on my car.

I'm part on the 1%, I believe due to having rear led lights as well as front led DLR lights.

By they way my lights are also set to auto so will activate dips when needed over DLR lights. Just because my rears are on 100% of the time doesn't mean I'd delay switching on dip's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭lmimmfn

I sometimes forget as my own car has auto dimming but sometimes I forget when driving the Mrs car, after someone flashes me though I'm back in dimming mode.

For me its worse if someone behind you has full headlights on, its really distracting over a long period.

Ignoring idiots who comment "far right" because they don't even know what it means

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

It's a real pain, as newer cars with LED' s are so much brighter than older bulb type lights. And people seem to think they can leave their headlights on till they can see the whites of your eyes.
    I don't think a night passes while I'm driving that I don't get to shout "Dip, ya bastard" at least once or twice.
    Was considering keeping a few golf balls in the door pocket especially for the type of fùcker who sees you dip 150 meters away and doesn't bother his ar5e dipping himself.
    Could the Gardai lift fingerprints off a golf ball, do you think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

RustyNut wrote: »
    Even the truck drivers that are being blinded by your lights due to the higher position? Ignorance.

Wow wow wow nothing to see here, I should have stated apart from the odd truck driver, I'm totally aware of my headlight positioning, height and contact time with oncoming trucks... I do most definitely dim for such instances.. Truck drivers rock and for the size and weight of their motors they have the best road etiquette on the road, I've stated that before in a previous post. As for cars sweeping round long motorway bends and as soon as they get a glimpse of full beams they flash!? lmao,, contact on oncoming car is less than the time that it takes for them to flash, Dear God...
    Ohhhh and if you quote my post, please quote all off that particular post and highlight your issue then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Happens nightly on my mostly motorway spin - assholes who REFUSE to dip their lights... even after being flashed to wake them up. :mad:

If you can see lights on the other side of the road, they can see yours so dip the f&cking things!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,313 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Reckless idiots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭jimmynokia

Patww79 wrote: »

Yip do the same myself.. Another problem is some of these new lights on cars is like two fcking lighthouses coming from behind or on opposite side of the rd leaving the rear fogs on and full front beams is becoming normal,these new lights are like waay to bright even in the daytime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,597 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

I was driving last night at around 12 and some scumbag wouldn't dim and I was blinded. I could have easily crashed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,406 ✭✭✭sjb25

Really annoying but also the cnunts with the rear fogs on when it's not foggy and you are behind them for any period of time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

sjb25 wrote: »
    Really annoying but also the cnunts with the rear fogs on when it's not foggy and you are behind them for any period of time

Lots do this as they think I'll put these in as the front ones also.

Its quite regularly women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,411 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

I always find it hilarious when the car behind me has their front fogs and I turn on my rear fogs to let them know. Oh, the flashing of lights and anger. So funny, them freaking out that I have my fog lamps on when they have theirs on. Usually ends up with them angrily overtaking me only to get my full beams in their mirrors as they have done to me.

Why do people think it's OK to have your front fogs on all the time but it's a crime against humanity to have your rear fogs on??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

phonypony wrote: »
    If, when you flash your lights at them they don't dip them, put yours on full. Better they are dazzled and go into a ditch than you, it being their fault and all...

Clever move, that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

Yes, very annoying. Almost as annoying as driving in front of someone with their full beams on. Also those new LED lights do my head in, even when "dipped" they are too bright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

High beam, miss- maligned lights etc yes are a pain, but they still are a long way from the idiot drivers driving along on side lights or worse, one side light or just no lights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

Speeding gets the blame for all deaths on our roads, I would like to see some sort of campaign or education on the dangers of other causes of accidents such as driving with high beams on, driving too slowly, stopping randomly in the middle of a main road because you decide to let somebody out of a side street, lanes, yes people, we have these things called lanes and you should be in one or the other, never both - and also when turning off a road and there is a bus lane available then use the bus lane rather than stopping in the middle lane then turning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,383 ✭✭✭✭gammygils

And another thing that's gotten very bad is cuntz driving through a town or a street lit area with full lights on at night :mad: I walk the mutt most evenings around the town & the amount of ignoramuses I meet with full beams on is unbelievable!
    Seriously! Just because there's no traffic it's OK to dazzle pedestrians! And it's not like they can't see me in my Hi-viz. FS!
    It's gone to the stage I wear a baseball cap to protect my eyes! Assh@les :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,454 ✭✭✭bogwalrus

My car has quite a high angled parabolic mirror setting when you set it to Max. I need to keep it below halfway or I'll get some flashes. I personally have issues with SUV's especially Audi and BMW. Because they are higher vehicles even the dipped lights are blinding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

We need to design humans out of the whole car driving thing as much as we can as soon as possible.

We're like monkeys with shotguns when it comes to driving.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

people who don't dim are quite simply........
    dim