Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Guard trying to sieze lowered car

• 28-10-2017 9:42am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭

The other day on my way home from work the guards pulled me in, he said my car was too low he reckons it's rubbing the wheel but it's not -he was trying to sieze it but had no lad to look at it so he let me off but he said next time he's siezing it . The car passed the nct lowered the height it is , do ye know the legal height ? What would ye do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Conorh123 wrote: »
    The other day on my way home from work the guards pulled me in, he said my car was too low he reckons it's rubbing the wheel but it's not -he was trying to sieze it but had no lad to look at it so he let me off but he said next time he's siezing it . The car passed the nct lowered the height it is , do ye know the legal height ? What would ye do

Is it on coil overs or lowering springs? If the car is ridiculously low then it possibly does look like it’s coukd be rubbing.

I’d say it was a case of seizing it to have it inspected by the PSV inspector to determine the suspension is fouling anywhere (which they are perfectly entitled to do)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Green Peter

He can seize it if he believes it to be a dangerously defective vehicle. He could get it examined by the Garda PSV inspector or I think the NCT centre. If the vehicle has been altered he could notify your insurance company and your insurance would be invalid!

If the vehicle has been altered he could notify your insurance company and your insurance would be invalid!

This is the main one to worry about. If you haven’t declared it (and I’m guessing you probably haven’t) then the consequences of this are far more serious than him seizing it to have it examined.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭Conorh123

I'll boy coilovers for it n raise it a bit cause he is sure to see me again as I drive past his area twice a day

Conorh123 wrote: »
    I'll boy coilovers for it n raise it a bit cause he is sure to see me again as I drive past his area twice a day

So what kind of springs are on it that have it so low that he thought it would be fouling underneath somewhere???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭Conorh123

So what kind of springs are on it that have it so low that he thought it would be fouling underneath somewhere???

Not 100% wat they are but I've 18" wheels and it's not far off the alloy but not rubbing