Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork Jazz Festival 2017

• 26-10-2017 6:20pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 17

It's my first year going to Jazz weekend! Has anyone any tips for the best pubs to go during it?
    Also I'm under 23, ive heard places are strict on age. Is this true??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,093 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Beret and fake goatee - be grand.

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Biggest lickspittle on boardz

Esel wrote: »
    Beret and fake goatee - be grand.

No, it's more like:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

The Jazz Festival is brilliant. I don't think you'll have any problems getting into anywhere at 23. You'll have no problem getting stuck into a bit of tail either if you feel amorous

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

I prefer the jizz festival

No, it's more like:

Niice!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Biggest lickspittle on boardz

I prefer the jizz festival

That's Ballymaloe, not Cork City.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,222 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

At 23 you shouldn't have any issue really. Just be careful not to be to out of it when trying to enter a certain establishment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,544 ✭✭✭EndaHonesty

Do you drink Heineken? Or Coors? Or Murphy's? Or Beamish? Or Foster's?

If so you won't be able to get those drinks in a city centre pub.

Guinness have the big pubs sewn up, so Guinness products only...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

That's Ballymaloe, not Cork City.

Wankymaloe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,093 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Wankymaloe

Say it with relish.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

There's checkpoints at all entry point into Cork, no culchies, dubs, hippies hipsters or knackers are admitted, if you brush up on a few local phrases you might just about con your way in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

if you want to hear the best music, go to the Metropole Hotel on McCurtain Street.

Other places worth a look are Morrison's Island Hotel on the South Mall, and the Half Moon Club. Im sure there are plenty other good venues since I was there last.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 mellowbeard

I'm actually under 23! I've heard it can be hard to get in to places if you're not 23.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

I'm actually under 23! I've heard it can be hard to get in to places if you're not 23.

I had no problem over the years, but it might have changed lately. Many of the gigs are afternoon sessions so you will have no problem getting into those. Don't go overboard on the pints during the day and there should be no problem getting into places in the evening.

You can buy a evening pass for the Metropole. Buy one ahead of time to see if there is an age restriction, I wouldn't imagine there is as some of the performers are quite young themselves.

Esel wrote: »
    Say it with relish.

Gentleman's relish?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

I caught the end of a set in Chambers (of all places) on Friday but got my wallet lifted on the way back to the "hotel".

So careful of pick pockets.

Bump for 2018

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

You'll have no problem getting your hole. Some of the auld dolls do be in their 60s, and gagging after a few dry sherries and a chap in spats blowing on a saxophone.

They'll do things XXX hamster content curators would blush at.