Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Machinery diagrams / self builds

• 10-10-2017 6:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭

Asked the lad who does a bit of welding for me to build me a few bits over the winter. But the usual sketchs don't be the best. Same when a machine breaks down. I hate having to call main dealer for the exploded diagrams

So any course online for diagrams such as machines

For instance I have asked my lad to build me a 8x4ft or 10ftx4ft safety cage and also a 10ft lifting jib/extension for the loader. (May downgrade to 8ft) A few building jobs here with sheds over the winter and also ongoing maintenance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Afaik most machinery websites have a good parts diagrams on them

Likes of new holland etc used to anyways

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭seaniefr

Asked the lad who does a bit of welding for me to build me a few bits over the winter. But the usual sketchs don't be the best. Same when a machine breaks down. I hate having to call main dealer for the exploded diagrams

So any course online for diagrams such as machines

For instance I have asked my lad to build me a 8x4ft or 10ftx4ft safety cage and also a 10ft lifting jib/extension for the loader. (May downgrade to 8ft) A few building jobs here with sheds over the winter and also ongoing maintenance.
    Am pretty sure that those cages attached to teleporter have been outlawed by the HSA, that is if you are using them to lift persons.

http://www.hsa.ie/eng/Publications_and_Forms/Publications/General_Application_Regulations/Work%20Equipment%20updated%20version.pdf
    look at section 48 'non-integrated cages'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

seaniefr wrote: »
    Am pretty sure that those cages attached to teleporter have been outlawed by the HSA, that is if you are using them to lift persons.

http://www.hsa.ie/eng/Publications_and_Forms/Publications/General_Application_Regulations/Work%20Equipment%20updated%20version.pdf
    look at section 48 'non-integrated cages'

Says a cage is secured to the lifting equipment ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,125 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Are you looking for a 3D computer package to design things?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Maybe google auto cad? Some of them have a free 30 day trial.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

No. More diagrams already designed.

Not looking to take copyrighted stuff or do companies out of their hard work or intellectual property. But must be some available

Says a cage is secured to the lifting equipment ?
    They mean cages that are fitted to teleporters/farm handlers/loaders that have not been approved by the manufacturer.
    Does that not clear it up for you?
    I'm sure they will put you right if you were to send in a query to them:)
    Why don't you ask your insurer what their take is on them. I have personally seen guys prevented accessing sites with 'home-made' jobs and a person putting up sheds falls under the definition of a building site

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

They mean cages that are fitted to teleporters/farm handlers/loaders that have not been approved by the manufacturer.
    Why don't you ask your insurer what their take is on them. I have personally seen guys prevented accessing sites with 'home-made' jobs and a person putting up sheds falls under the definition of a building site

Is it not manualy locked to the loader, load plated on the cage and fall arresting equipment.

Safety cage well designed is better than a ladder. Scaffold is grand also but to slow to move around.

You can't take a piss now in this country without HSA input. I wonder if they are after making it worse now that it was. Deaths aren't down, accidents aren't down.

I'll be getting one made. I fully trust this lads ability. I have seen him design and fabricate some amazing things that lads on here wount believe possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Floki

I think my safety cage is 10 x 4?

I made it myself and won't be selling it so have no one else to blame.
    I made mine solid all around with no door as I thought it would be safer and stronger. I brought up the flooring a little on the sides then to stop any tools being knocked off the floor and falling on someone beneath.
    It's also has the loader attachment welded on as I didn't like or trust the pallet fork ones. It's a gift with the self levelling on the loader.

But generally I just draw any plans out on paper but then I do know what I want myself. It's different when you have to draw it out for someone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

http://www.liftingsafety.co.uk/images/product/2710/dimensional-drawing.jpg

google image search diagram lifting cage gave me the above

Floki wrote: »
    I think my safety cage is 10 x 4?

I made it myself and won't be selling it so have no one else to blame.
    I made mine solid all around with no door as I thought it would be safer and stronger. I brought up the flooring a little on the sides then to stop any tools being knocked off the floor and falling on someone beneath.
    It's also has the loader attachment welded on as I didn't like or trust the pallet fork ones. It's a gift with the self levelling on the loader.

But generally I just draw any plans out on paper but then I do know what I want myself. It's different when you have to draw it out for someone else.

I like the idea of the "kick board" all the way around.

No gates on my plan. I'm thinking of a sliding up and down bar on both ends.

I'm going pallet fork way only because I might buy buy a forklift again.

Is it not manualy locked to the loader, load plated on the cage and fall arresting equipment.
    If the manufacturer approves and gives that to you in writing and is willing to certify it then its up to a good barrister if it were to end up on court. Getting a cage load tested and 'certified' by an independent when there is clear guidance from the HSA as to not to do that.................I personally would'nt fancy my chances. That sort of thing might have been fine 30+ years ago but machines these days are not getting heavier and are not made over spec they are made to barely achieve the spec and are lighter if anything. A good guide is what a manufacturer will allow and i will bet my bottom dollar that all nowadays do not allow for any deviations from their certificate/design standard. Basically put, if you add a piece of kit that they did'nt approve then they will not stand over it.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

If the manufacturer approves and gives that to you in writing and is willing to certify it then its up to a good barrister if it were to end up on court. Getting a cage load tested and 'certified' by an independent when there is clear guidance from the HSA as to not to do that.................I personally would'nt fancy my chances. That sort of thing might have been fine 30+ years ago but machines these days are not getting heavier and are not made over spec they are made to barely achieve the spec and are lighter if anything. A good guide is what a manufacturer will allow and i will bet my bottom dollar that all nowadays do not allow for any deviations from their certificate/design standard. Basically put, if you add a piece of kit that they did'nt approve then they will not stand over it.....
    Bit different to here then, need to pass a loler test every six months for insurance purposes anyway, so we're a bit different

• Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Floki

I like the idea of the "kick board" all the way around.

Leave it up a few mm's off the floor to let any rainwater flow off.

There was one featured on the fj a while ago and they were making a foot bath out of it for sheep as well.
    Now that's going too far imo. You want to keep the floor as dry as possible and not give any chance for rainwater to collect on a steel floor especially one where you're going to be 14ft above the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭feartuath

Am I correct in saying that these types of cages, man baskets are not allowed in construction sites for quite awhile now.
    They were replaced with MEWP,s and all other elevated work platforms because the operator has no control over the machine.
    Having worked in all the Intel,s Pfizers, and other major sites i have not seen one of these in years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭dzer2

feartuath wrote: »
    Am I correct in saying that these types of cages, man baskets are not allowed in construction sites for quite awhile now.
    They were replaced with MEWP,s and all other elevated work platforms because the operator has no control over the machine.
    Having worked in all the Intel,s Pfizers, and other major sites i have not seen one of these in years.

Worked on a site where a man killed himself while driving a mewp wouldnt have happened if he was in a cage on a teleporter

dzer2 wrote: »
    Worked on a site where a man killed himself while driving a mewp wouldnt have happened if he was in a cage on a teleporter

To have a cage on a teleporter there has to be controls in the cage.

Few years back when we bought here I hired a teleporter for a weekend. Spend a day painting hayshed roof. Got to 530 on the sat evening and herself was piloting the jcb. I
    Asked her if she would tip into the hardware and get another drum of paint. It was going to be tight if I had enough. She just left. I was 20ft above ground on full jib extension. Must have been there an hour. To say she got only half an earful would be tellin a lie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Few years back when we bought here I hired a teleporter for a weekend. Spend a day painting hayshed roof. Got to 530 on the sat evening and herself was piloting the jcb. I
    Asked her if she would tip into the hardware and get another drum of paint. It was going to be tight if I had enough. She just left. I was 20ft above ground on full jib extension. Must have been there an hour. To say she got only half an earful would be tellin a lie

What a legend :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Who was wrong there?

Sure if she let you down couldn't you have gone in yourself you lazy ba**a*d!??! :D

Muckit wrote: »
    Who was wrong there?

Sure if she let you down couldn't you have gone in yourself you lazy ba**a*d!??! :D

I'm always wrong Sure. Haha