Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is all your slurry out?

• 09-10-2017 7:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,205 ✭✭✭✭

About 5loads left here to put out. How are ye fixed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Parlour tanks to empty, other than that fine about the only advantage to my late silage. Have bit of dung to get out alright, time is tight testing this week and must check the maize as well as finish getting sheds ready

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

10 loads x 1800G.

Took tanker out this evening. Dipped tractor and vaccum pump on tank and with that the rain started

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

All gone long go. But if the weather doesn't behave they'll be full by Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,544 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

What slurry?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Reggie. wrote: »
    What slurry?
    Is there a match on??

Did you get a bang in the head?:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭emaherx

All slurry out last week.
    Good bit of FYM to go out yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,488 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Down to parlour washings and a big heap of dung

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭Sillycave

Parlour washings left, fym spread last weekend and slurry the weekend before, hope to get some lime out now before ground gets to soft

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭visatorro

Lots of stuff to go out, hopefully Thursday. Now I don't know where it's going to go but there's a good days work in it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

All out. Counting my lucky stars that the biggest worry I had was finding enough grazed ground to spread it on.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,357 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

More or less sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭tanko

Anyone know how many gallons of slurry is in a 4 bay shed with 12 foot six inch slats and 8 foot deep when it's full?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

tanko wrote: »
    Anyone know how many gallons of slurry is in a 4 bay shed with 12 foot six inch slats and 8 foot deep when it's full?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

tanko wrote: »

36,102 gals. But if there is agitation points each end, it will be more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭tanko

Standard bays, one agitation point inside last bay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,456 ✭✭✭✭Base price

I got 37,373 gallons assuming the bays are 15'.
    Darragh why would agitation points at both ends make a difference to the overall volume?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Base price wrote: »
    I got 37,373 gallons assuming the bays are 15'.
    Darragh why would agitation points at both ends make a difference to the overall volume?

Tank would be longer than the 4 bays, Usually 4 feet extra. I took a bay as 15 foot 9 inches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,456 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Tank would be longer than the 4 bays, Usually 4 feet extra. I took a bay as 15 foot 9 inches.
    Ah that makes sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭RedPeppers

About 25k gallons to go out here plus all fym will get it done on Friday local contractor just after getting trailing shoe so will be first time to use it here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Approx 40000 gallons out in less than an hour that umbilical system is some animal of a yoke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Was stuck behind a fella gunning from the road for 5 minutes earlier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭tractorporn

I said wrote:
    Approx 40000 gallons out in less than an hour that umbilical system is some animal of a yoke.

Put out 15 bays of mostly dirty water off the yard and effluent from the pit with the umbilical on Monday. Theybarribed at 8 and were out the gap after having the dinner at two. Lad had flotation tyres so did no damage.

Mixed the tank last night.

Mowed silage today. Bale 5 acres on Saturday or and slurry out straight away.

Will bale other 10A Sunday when pressure is off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Who2

Mixed the tank last night.

Mowed silage today. Bale 5 acres on Saturday or and slurry out straight away.

Will bale other 10A Sunday when pressure is off

i'l take it this is surplus, it would be interested to see how that silage tests out. ive heard of a lad still to cut first cut, i cant see it being much use.

Who2 wrote: »
    i'l take it this is surplus, it would be interested to see how that silage tests out. ive heard of a lad still to cut first cut, i cant see it being much use.

Surplus And be for sale the way things are going.

Be fine for dry cows or suckers . Stop them roaring for someone

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

It might be worth more as bedding. I've 5 or 6 loads to go out still, weather permitting. I hear one of the nearby piggeries was giving it away free earlier this week. I suppose wet weather since early august put them under pressure.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

blue5000 wrote: »
    It might be worth more as bedding. I've 5 or 6 loads to go out still, weather permitting. I hear one of the nearby piggeries was giving it away free earlier this week. I suppose wet weather since early august put them under pressure.

It's always free around here

Some charge to draw it. Others don't.

Yeah if delivered it's €50 I think

Normally free here if you draw it yourself too, but they were delivering it free this week.

No probs getting 5000gls loads here this week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

I said wrote: »
    No probs getting 5000gls loads here this week

Is that into your tank? Does pig slurry need to be stirred to spread it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Last of it out today,had to export some to neighbours dry field 2 miles away so got contractor as well, 2 loads per 50mins/hr spent 5 hrs the 2 of us, I had 2k he had 2500 tank so shifted a nice bit, sick of it now ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Who2

Muckit wrote: »

no, its like water. whatever is in it, it also helps to break down the crust of cattle slurry.
    on a side note i walked cattle across ground that i spread straight yard run off and effluent onto. i only spread half the field and while the grass was no longer the half that got the effluent was far thicker and greener, so much so it was blatantly obvious.

Muckit wrote: »

Yeah straight into tank also had the probiotic into the tank this year only 10 minutes to agitate.
    And stir it.

I said wrote: »
    Yeah straight into tank also had the probiotic into the tank this year only 10 minutes to agitate.
    And stir it.

How did you find th probiotic ?

Lad in clonmellon co Westmeath pushing it

How did you find th probiotic ?

Lad in clonmellon co Westmeath pushing it

Grand but pricey it makes all the difference for umbilical spreading though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,717 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Whole thing is a cod.

I see slurry being lashed out on saturated ground round here and there’s no way in hell it will be absorbed down. But lads are feeling backed into a corner with the deadline looming.

_Brian wrote: »
    Whole thing is a cod.

I see slurry being lashed out on saturated ground round here and there’s no way in hell it will be absorbed down. But lads are feeling backed into a corner with the deadline looming.

Be better off pulling up at the local river and tipping it straight in.

Save ploughing the land.

Be better off pulling up at the local river and tipping it straight in.

Save ploughing the land.

Yeah calender farming.....its fantastic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

You'd think that it would be possible to change the fixed date in the future for a "window" with some regard to soil moisture deficit.

If the closed season was to begin as soon after 1st October as possible, provided a period of seven days have elapsed with soil moisture below a specified level, and perhaps with a drop dead date of 15th November or something - then there would be a better chance not to get in a corner and less chance of damage to ground and watercourses with spreading in unsuitable conditions.

Right now the legislation is actually causing the very thing it is there to prevent.

Serious question

What's the fines involved if spread after deadline.

For people with and without farm payments

kowtow wrote: »
    You'd think that it would be possible to change the fixed date in the future for a "window" with some regard to soil moisture deficit.

If the closed season was to begin as soon after 1st October as possible, provided a period of seven days have elapsed with soil moisture below a specified level, and perhaps with a drop dead date of 15th November or something - then there would be a better chance not to get in a corner and less chance of damage to ground and watercourses with spreading in unsuitable conditions.

Right now the legislation is actually causing the very thing it is there to prevent.

That's too hard to police, simple cut off date much easier to control.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,205 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Serious question

What's the fines involved if spread after deadline.

For people with and without farm payments
    Has anyone ever been fined ?

It wount be hard for the department to cancel spreading in areas and then reopen them all year around is they wanted.

Everything is online now adays. Simple text or email to everyone.

whelan2 wrote: »
    Has anyone ever been fined ?

I don't know to be honest.

Sure it's only dairy washings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

blue5000 wrote:

Not really. They've had a big public will they won't they special conditions debate every year I can remember.

Easy to publish notices in the press and online, or ask met eirann to do it since they provide farming forecasts and soil moisture anyway.

Besides, it doesn't matter if it's difficult, it matters that it works right, and this doesn't.

If we are serious about farming and water quality we have to figure out better ways to do these things and no point waiting for non farmers to come up solutions then cursing the outcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭RedPeppers

Slurry just done here had more than I thought 35k gallons spread no real damage done except at gaps glad to see the back of it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭boggerman1

All done now for the yr.just dairy washing left for rest of time milking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭mengele

all finished here aswell. sucked up a load of water finally and spread that and then powerwashed outside of tank.

Do many wash out their tankers after use?