Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farm accountant

• 09-10-2017 6:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭

Any one know a decent farm accountant in the north cork area? I changed from ifac 2 years ago, my new accountant is a total disaster. Talk about going from the frying pan and into the fire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Any one know a decent farm accountant in the north cork area? I changed from ifac 2 years ago, my new accountant is a total disaster. Talk about going from the frying pan and into the fire.

I'd be interested to hear some recommendations too.

The ones I come across seem to be frightened of thinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭duffysfarm

Just be careful any Tom sick or Harry can call themselves an accountant and not be qualified. That will be particularly relevant to some of the replies you will get on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

duffysfarm wrote: »
    Just be careful any Tom sick or Harry can call themselves an accountant and not be qualified. That will be particularly relevant to some of the replies you will get on here.

The man I have now is around with years and came highly recommended by a neighbour, looks like he don't look after his new customers as good. I gave him the accounts two years ago and he didn't submit them yet in spite of his secretary assuring me they were submitted last January after I got a stiff letter from the revenue :mad: Not great to be on the revenues radar because of a lazy accountant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,624 ✭✭✭amber2

Any FDC accountants office local to you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,978 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

I am with FDC no issue with accounts. There is a lad on here that is an accountant some few here are using him I think he calls himself hilllak or something like that

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭Bellview

I am with FDC no issue with accounts. There is a lad on here that is an accountant some few here are using him I think he calls himself hilllak or something like that

Larkhill

amber2 wrote: »
    Any FDC accountants office local to you?

There's one in Mallow, are they any good?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,624 ✭✭✭amber2

Try to get Director Manager based in Bandon but works outa other branches, check out Mallow as Im not too sure bout Mallow branch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,558 ✭✭✭50HX

pm sent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

There's one in Mallow, are they any good?

Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,583 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Ye lads should drop lakill a pm

He annoys the **** outta me but he does the job :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Cavanjack

What are ye paying to get accounts done? Paying €1200here. Books would be straight forward. Stock bought stock sold and costs all filled out for them.
    Think it's too dear, old man's and brothers accountant for years. Can there be that much work involved? Will prob change after this year if I can get it done cheaper.

Cavanjack wrote: »
    What are ye paying to get accounts done? Paying €1200here. Books would be straight forward. Stock bought stock sold and costs all filled out for them.
    Think it's too dear, old man's and brothers accountant for years. Can there be that much work involved? Will prob change after this year if I can get it done cheaper.

€700ish

That's personnal account
    Business and vat account
    And farm account

Cavanjack wrote: »
    I was paying IFAC 1300 when I had very little stock and only selling silage and hay. My new accountant charges 500 the first year and the more profit I make after that the more he'll charge, I suppose if I'll make no profit or a loss he'll do them for free :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭jfh

I use another accountant that hangs out here too & I find excellent, let me know if interested & I'll pm you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭duffysfarm

duffysfarm wrote: »

some posters must not agree me with as they seem to not care if the person calling themself an accountant actually is registered as one!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,046 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Thanks duffysfarm, I think your point is made.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭MIKEKC

I was paying IFAC 1300 when I had very little stock and only selling silage and hay. My new accountant charges 500 the first year and the more profit I make after that the more he'll charge, I suppose if I'll make no profit or a loss he'll do them for free :rolleyes:
    Why should he charge more if you make more profit? He has the same amount of work to do

MIKEKC wrote: »
    Why should he charge more if you make more profit? He has the same amount of work to do

That's what he said when I changed over to him, I thought it was unusual to say the least but I needed the accounts done so I didn't question him. 2 years on and the 2015 accounts still not submitted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

FDC cork here, find them good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭yewtree

Use ifac here find them very good. Always at the end of phone with an answer.
    Also found they are a big help getting loans over the line with banks.
    i wouldnt be changing accountant over a few hundred euro, especially if you are losing someone who understands your buisness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,978 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

That's what he said when I changed over to him, I thought it was unusual to say the least but I needed the accounts done so I didn't question him. 2 years on and the 2015 accounts still not submitted.

I be moving accountants.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭Stationmaster

Full time accountant and part time farmer here. I find that unusual to be honest. Any work I do (25% farmers and rest other trades/companies etc) is charged for time spent on the job.

I check posts here a good bit but wouldn't post and I'd be the first to say Lakill Farm knows his stuff.

Very hard to estimate fees because the work involved in most jobs is different but the majority of accounts I'd do for part-time farmers would have a fee of between €500 to €850. The full time farmers would nearly always have more work involved so could be anything up to €1,500 depending on the state of the paperwork supplied.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 St.Senan

Has anyone used http://www.myfarmtax.ie/?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

Full time accountant and part time farmer here. I find that unusual to be honest. Any work I do (25% farmers and rest other trades/companies etc) is charged for time spent on the job.

I check posts here a good bit but wouldn't post and I'd be the first to say Lakill Farm knows his stuff.

Very hard to estimate fees because the work involved in most jobs is different but the majority of accounts I'd do for part-time farmers would have a fee of between €500 to €850. The full time farmers would nearly always have more work involved so could be anything up to €1,500 depending on the state of the paperwork supplied.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭trg

St.Senan wrote: »
    Has anyone used http://www.myfarmtax.ie/?
    I'd never heard of this site but tbh I'd be steering clear. You get nothing for your money. The site is littered with spelling mistakes FFS! There is also at least one inaccuracy...they say the payment date is 15th November. My accountant reddened me on the phone saying its the 14th and there is penalties if a day late. So that crowds clients are going to get penalised.

In all walks of life I think if you pay peanuts you get monkeys.

I get that IFAC/FDC appear in general to be more expensive but I guess their business model with all the branches and that means they've more overheads than others but there specialist farm tax accountants. We all know that farm tax has rules of its own and that the rules change all the time & I want to trust that my accountants is up to speed on them.

All the above said I'm with neither but I'm satisfied where I am. If I was to change I would prefer to look at those than that website anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,601 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

yewtree wrote: »
    Use ifac here find them very good. Always at the end of phone with an answer.
    Also found they are a big help getting loans over the line with banks.
    i wouldnt be changing accountant over a few hundred euro, especially if you are losing someone who understands your buisness

+1 for Ifac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

I wouldn't choose an accountant on their fees.

As farmers, small businesses with large asset values the business one does with an accountant has to be about much more than filing tax returns.

No matter if your a sole trader, partnership or incorporated your structure should be as much about succession planning as tax planning. Focussing on this years tax bill may be a little short sighted.

We use our accountant to help us plan everything from division of assets, tax planning, borrowing strategy, education to tax structure. It's really hard to put a figure on it rather a feeling of value for money.

In my view a good accountancy firm is the most essential partner to ones business. We use a mid sized company that would have all the expertise we require in house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,242 ✭✭✭cute geoge

Is oct 31st closing date for submitting last year a/c all done by accountant ros online .Just getting uneasy as having heard nothing back from accountant .I forwarded documents to him last week ,but he was absent and the month before that unforeseen events delayed me forwarding the documents!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭grange mac

cute geoge wrote: »
    Is oct 31st closing date for submitting last year a/c all done by accountant ros online .Just getting uneasy as having heard nothing back from accountant .I forwarded documents to him last week ,but he was absent and the month before that unforeseen events delayed me forwarding the documents!!

14 Nov if via ROS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,601 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

With Ifac here ,do lads leave it this late to finalise last years accounts and tax position ,mine done and revenue refund sorted since February and this years premilnary tax set to go for November .no shock tax bill and even if there was lots of time to organize .i always aim to have all end of year statements etc with Ifac before cows start calving in late jan

mahoney_j wrote: »
    With Ifac here ,do lads leave it this late to finalise last years accounts and tax position ,mine done and revenue refund sorted since February and this years premilnary tax set to go for November .no shock tax bill and even if there was lots of time to organize .i always aim to have all end of year statements etc with Ifac before cows start calving in late jan
    Same as

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,367 ✭✭✭tanko

IFAC are great if you want to pay 30-40% more for getting accounts done than you need to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭stretch film

tanko wrote: »
    IFAC are great if you want to pay 30-40% more for getting accounts done than you need to.

Was the service not worth the premium.
    First negative comment I've seen.

With a firm in wd city .
    They have farmer clients but by no means regarded as a farmers accountancy firm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,367 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

mahoney_j wrote: »

Same as here. Got everything sent in the minute the Christmas holidays were over and had it all back before Feb.
    You're more likely to remember why you spent money on things when ye get quizzed too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭Iloverain

Anyone here with ifac or fdc in Tralee ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Iloverain wrote: »
    Anyone here with ifac or fdc in Tralee ?
    FDC in Tralee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭Iloverain

FDC in Tralee.

How do you find them for service and price? The fella I have is a disaster to get in contact with. He must still the 2016 year. So thinking of changing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Iloverain wrote: »
    How do you find them for service and price? The fella I have is a disaster to get in contact with. He must still the 2016 year. So thinking of changing.
    I find them good, tbh. They're not cheap but there are a lot of things included in that as well. Your best bet would be to talk to James there and ask to meet him. He's farming himself so he is very familiar with what you would need to be aiming at in terms of development.

I use their comparison figures here rather than the Profit Monitor one to compare different years and farms as they make more sense to me than the PM ones, tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Mr Jay

Does anyone know if Lakill has retired/surrendered or whatever.

Not answering the phone lately.

Mr Jay wrote: »

He's still alive anyways

Mr Jay wrote: »

His phone is giving him bother atm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Mrs cockett

I need a new accountant. Anyone here use IFAC Cavan or any recommendations for south Leitrim, Longford, Cavan would be appreciated